Cenovus Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
44%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Cenovus President and Chief Executive Officer Alex Pourbaix
Alex Pourbaix
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance for employees varies(in 35 reviews)

  • "great people on site, good team atmosphere(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper Management, old boys club(in 28 reviews)

  • "camp stay in field was variable from site to site,(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Sep 29, 2020 - Summer Student in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, Vacation Time, Culture, Learning opportunities

      Cons

      I loved working here, I didn't see any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Can’t complain about a job, but get out if you can

      Apr 30, 2021 - Operator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good crew bonds Pay is good Future outlook is hopefully better

      Cons

      -Foster doesn’t allow overtime, would rather run unsafely short -Saving pennies over a dollar mentality, management is completely stuck on this -Camp at foster is outdated, minimal amenities, small rooms, bad unhealthy food -Constant layoffs, upper management holds it over your head -Added 20/20 incentive because people were sick of this place and leaving, they just took it away citing unlikely for us to hit our target by 2023 or 24( I forget) even though our outlook is the best it’s been in years. But added a new incentive with a fraction of the bonus -Yearly bonus goes down every year, but management puts immense stress on you for your PA’s -Calgary doesn’t seem to understand that we live here, and need to invest in us living here, foster creek is no place to want to live with what’s here

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      It’s painful

      Apr 21, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and vacation are good and you’re going to need them.

      Cons

      Non stop layoffs is the big one, about 10 rounds in as many years. Things go bad the management pulls the one trigger they know how to use. Layoffs. Upper management enriches themselves with $30M in retention bonuses while laying thousands off this year alone. With Husky merger company has taken extreme turn to top down management. We used to at least be asked for our input and feedback now they don’t even pretend to care. You are told what is happening and if you don’t like it out you go. Most people I know are waiting for the job market to turn around and if it does they will walk. Myself included. I had high hopes with our new CEO but he’s no different than the last guy.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Your just a number

      May 5, 2021 - Field Operations in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The money is the only reason to be there

      Cons

      Everything else besides money. When safety matters most, thats when it gets thrown out the window. Severe wear on pipes from wash out, short staffing with more expected. On track for a major disaster or death. Field management are an example why foster creek is going in the dumps . Cost me the job when "covid cuts" came around with zero incidents and a trusted senior operator. No chance of defence on your part calgary sees a number thats it. When i got the call i was more relived then disappointed. Besides the dip in money leaving was the best thing to happen. Maybe calgary will read this and do something besides the CEO giving himself a raise while laying of career employees for no reason

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Lay Off was the Best Option

      Apr 26, 2021 - Senior Coordinator in Cold Lake, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay was good until the Husky merger, very good people from peer level down. Nothing else good that I ever saw in there.

      Cons

      Where to start, bad management from the field manager level on up, benefits that get reduced every time something can be cut, Executives that reward themselves hugely, but not the actual workers, camp that continues to get worse in accommodations and food. You have to make your own bed, take the garbage out, so why not just be at home? And no one at the field manager level on up can be trusted, NO ONE! This is the worst run oil company that you will ever come across.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      It is a Job

      May 10, 2021 - Specialist in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation and Benefits, Some Compressed Work ability

      Cons

      Very political, friends get promotions/jobs while exiting those with stronger skills/abilities, extensive micromanagement, focus on quality work eroded since merger. Bullying frequent.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work, excellent compensation

      Apr 23, 2021 - Accountant in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great compensation and benefits, staff are generally friendly and easy to deal with, company encourages self development and promotes cross training.

      Cons

      Shared workspace environment (cubicles for the most part incase you prefer your own office), significant reduction in spending on company sponsored events due to downturn in economy

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      How many layers of management do we need?

      Apr 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not many pros post merger, Was a better place to work before.

      Cons

      Cenovus did a good job of removing layers, pushing decision making down and flattening the organization. Then the Husky purchase happened. Top heavy, way too many layers, turf wars between Husky and cve employees, depending on which company the leader came from. No room left to grow with so many layers. Where is the diversity in leadership? Lots of white men, few women or POC

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Sure learned how to play Poker !

      Apr 25, 2021 - Process Operator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work. Always lots of gambling going in camp or the Operations centre. U tube was a great time passer. Management was easy to manipulate, they just cared about them selves and there own gambling circle. All managers smoke which is pretty cool for an oil company. Always easy to have a puff with the people that sign your bonus. We used to love playing floor hockey in the big white heated tents. Pretty cool company to work for.

      Cons

      Make it easier to get more Booz and drugs in camp!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I had high hopes for this company

      Apr 13, 2021 - Advisor in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, benefits, awesome talented people.

      Cons

      I had high hopes for this company. It was the never ending layoffs that really affected everyone's mental health. I've never worked in a company that had 10 or more layoffs within the span of 7 years. Just downhill spiral since the day I started.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 433 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cenovus Job Seekers

    Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Health Safety Advisor
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Cenovus? Share Your Experiences

    Cenovus logo
    or