Cengage Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cengage Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1265 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Cengage CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
729 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Success Specialist in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cengage treats employees wonderfully and ensures that you feel supported and respected at all times. Great benefits, lots of time off, and paid holidays. There is a great camaraderie among staff and everyone is always willing to help.

    Cons

    Busy seasons can be extremely stressful, some departments have high turn over due to volume during Fall and Winter course starts.

    Cengage2019-06-06
  2. "Really empower their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Director in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cengage is a fantastic company. They care about their people and are truly committed to transparency, honesty and growing together as one team. A few of the things I most value: 1) Michael Hansen is the most inspiring CEO I've ever worked for. He continues to amaze me. 2) The executive team is truly transparent. They always try to make the best choice, even when it's the hard choice and they bring us along with them in...

    Show More

    Cons

    Constant change. Though this is probably just a reality of the world we live in today and I suspect that most, if not all, businesses are in a constant state of change.

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the path you've charted.

    Cengage2019-06-06
  3. "Great Place to work, with lots of opportunity to learn new things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Mason, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities for advancement if you are engaged and seek to learn new things. Company is continuously changing and reinventing itself to stay relevant in the industry. Emphasis on culture and ethos makes Cengage a rewarding and exciting place to work.

    Cons

    Frequent reorganizations due to changing business model. Organization runs lean, which adds to workload and stress at certain times. Rapid pace of change requires an open mindset and ability to pivot from task to task.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in employees. Be as transparent as possible when changes are happening.

    Cengage2019-06-06
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great leadership and vision.

    Cons

    Need more sales support for field sales.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the right people are on the bus.

    Cengage2019-06-06
  5. "Love this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Making a difference. Work/life balance. Mission.

    Cons

    Sometimes we try to boil the ocean.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, and continue to work on mission alignment.

    Cengage2019-06-06
  6. "Outstanding Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy, good product/content, emerging, good reputation, good revenue earning potential.

    Cons

    Too many unrealistic/non-serious initiatives. They keep incompetent people too long. Many processes don't work. Need to keep getting more content (incomplete bookbag).

    Cengage2019-06-06
  7. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They work around your student schedule and you can work as much as you want to.

    Cons

    All communication is virtual and time zones get confused sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work it really helps students to know that you care abut their education.

    Cengage2019-06-01
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Everyone is friendly. Great culture.

    Cons

    Might lose my job due to merger in 2020

    Cengage2019-05-03
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Good work with many challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Editor in Farmington Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging, innovative work; great products Great staff in the trenches

    Cons

    Quality of work is lost due to demanding deadlines and lack of resources Long-time staff constantly wondering if today is the day of the next layoff

    Advice to Management

    Promote all products and areas of the company

    Cengage2019-05-12
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Do not work in the call center!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Independence, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As long as you’re not working in the call center it’s a great company.

    Cons

    Working in the call center

    Advice to Management

    Quit treating us like we’re factory workers.

    Cengage2019-06-01
Found 1265 reviews