Cengage Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cengage Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1339 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Cengage CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
752 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing Company Driving Positive Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - The culture is positive, motivating and very collaborative - Work brings great opportunities for professional development - The CEO and Executive Team are top leaders with great vision and corporate strategy - benefits are good - Everyone is so nice, it's very unusual to have such a large group of genuine, hard working individuals

    Cons

    The company is a leader in driving change in education, which is amazing and exciting to be a part of, but things move fast, so having an adaptable work style would be beneficial to employees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing job! I am super excited to be part of your team and under your direction. You've always made the right decisions and implemented strong strategies for business success. Lead and I will follow.

    Cengage2019-06-21
  2. Helpful (17)

    "Decent place to work, but constant fear of being randomly laid off."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - relaxed culture - lots of small perks such as volunteer days, happy hours, flex time

    Cons

    - stagnant wages. annual raises don't keep up with inflation. - no job security at all. seems like every day, jobs are outsourced to overseas vendors or replaced with visa workers. - promotion opportunities are rare

    Advice to Management

    Cut once, and cut deep. Constant layoffs and outsourcing drive top talent to spend a lot of their time looking for opportunities elsewhere. Reward loyalty rather than driving away long term employees.

    Cengage2019-06-06
  3. "Good Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Mason, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cengage always treated me fairly. No complaints.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Never stop being courageous and fearless. Always encourage innovation.

    Cengage2019-06-25
  4. Helpful (22)

    "Get ready to sit on video calls all day... even though you just commutes all the way in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontend Developer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits and people are not bad. Pay is on the low side.

    Cons

    - So much change (every week) that what you may enjoy or like about the company and culture one day, changes the next - Lots of cooperate bull crap thrown around by the c-level leadership. They say they are transparent but yet the rational behind decisions fails to make any sense. What are the real reasons? - CTO compared Cengage to Amazon. Got news for you bro, Cengage is definitely not on the same level as Amazon nor...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Let people work remote if they want to. You’re a remote company (Whether you want to deny it or not) with a team spread across the nation. Do yourself a favor and play on the strength of being a remote company to gain and KEEP actual talent to build your platforms. - Stop settling for stacking up tech debt. Give your teams time to do things and do things right. As well as time to improve past coding crap.

    Cengage2019-06-08

    Cengage Response

    June 17, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback on your experience with Cengage. I’m sorry to hear that our leadership and environment did not meet your expectations of a world class organization. I’d like to share my perspective on a few of your comments. Change is a constant ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    •culture •leadership teams •opportunities for growth •inclusion • vast learning options

    Cons

    •limited flex time in current role •high cost for benefits

    Advice to Management

    A great sales leader doesn't necessarily make a good manager.

    Cengage2019-06-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture - great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people - hands down the best part of my job. I also love knowing that what we do makes a difference in the lives of students.

    Cons

    The industry has been facing some tough times, but we're breaking out of the old ways and that is turning this con into a positive.

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to the culture.

    Cengage2019-06-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dedicated to Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    -Good why -Great culture -Highly intelligent staff

    Cons

    A lot of moving parts

    Cengage2019-06-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "TO GOOD TO BE TRUE!!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workforce Account Manager in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EVERYTHING! I love everything about this career opportunity. I prayed for a position like this and God answered my Prayers!!! On top of being in a career that I truly LOVE I get to work with some fantastic people that treat me with RESPECT and values my opinion. I could not ask for anything else. I am looking forward to growing with the company.

    Cons

    Nothing at the moment! Everything is Great!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. This organization is my second family.

    Cengage2019-06-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Delivery Lead in Farmington Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, encourages individuality, celebrates diversity in the company, fantastic leadership

    Cons

    Because of the nature of the business and the company's drive to "disrupt" the norm in the textbook publishing field, the company is continuously changing which can be a struggle if you don't adapt to change well.

    Cengage2019-06-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly company w/ a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Strategy Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - People are extremely friendly / the company has a great culture. - Being in the edtech space, one can feel genuinely GOOD about the product the company creates - Company is moving forward and adapting FAST. This is important given the environment of the edtech space, specifically publishers

    Cons

    - Not quite a pure edtech company yet from a product standpoint but getting there.

    Advice to Management

    - Management is doing a good job. Keep adapting to market forces. And keep communicating downwards on the company's priorities and vision (as you have been doing). Michael and the rest of the exec team are great.

    Cengage2019-06-10
Found 1339 reviews