Cengage Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Cengage CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
790 Ratings
  1. "'Great team to be a part of'"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Spartanburg, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Been with Cengage for 7 years, 25 years in the industry. I can honestly say the Culture, the influence of a solid Work/Life balance, and the direction of the organization are far superior than any other companies I have worked for.

    Cons

    What cons? There are none.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2020-03-06
  2. "Great People, Lots of Changes"

    3.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Farmington Hills, MI
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Great people who work hard and uphold the Cengage values. Benefits and time off were also good.

    Cons

    Lost of changes and downsizing resulting in layoffs. Merger is pending.

    Cengage2020-03-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, End User Computing Solutions in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance and flexibility is key. The environment in the office is fun and exciting. Our environment is like a start up environment. Office has kitchens with free coffee, tea, fruit, snacks, espresso machines and much more. The collaboration has been amazing which is always a concern for a new employee. The support and knowledge sharing from other employees has been invaluable.

    Cons

    The commute to/from Boston can be difficult - however, Cengage also helps with parking and commuter costs

    Continue reading
    Cengage2020-02-28

    Cengage Response

    March 11, 2020CEO

    Thank you for sharing your experience with Cengage. I’m pleased to hear your first year is going well! I appreciate all of the positive comments in your review, and perhaps most importantly, that you have found our communications with employees to be transparent – this is a key tenet of our Ethos and of my approach to leadership. I truly believe that with transparency, we build trust, and with trust, we can perform at our best. Our HR onboarding team works hard to make sure new hires have all the support they need to succeed --- great to hear this is translating well. Keep up the great work!

  4. "Great people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the best people I've ever worked with

    Cons

    unstable industry right at this time

    Cengage2020-03-02
  5. "Dynamic, meaningful company in a rapidly changing industry."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The world of print textbooks is rapidly moving to digital. Lots of opportunity for engineering with the core strategic platforms.

    Cons

    Things are moving so fast, that there can be a disconnect between executives and everyone else. The emerging opportunities are difficult to articulate and that can translate, for some, that there aren't opportunities. But there are and will be.

    Cengage2020-02-27

    Cengage Response

    March 11, 2020CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a thoughtful review (and for 10+ years of service!). I agree, the industry is rapidly changing and presenting new opportunities for us to use our strong assets to help millions of learners, globally. With this growth mindset, we will support more learners, and simultaneously, create more opportunities for employees to build and expand transferrable skills and capabilities. Thanks for the feedback – feel free to connect with me to discuss this feedback or anything else on your mind.

  6. "A Good Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid-back and low stress work environment Opportunities to work on modern technology stacks Growing investments in tech areas

    Cons

    Uncertainty about the upcoming merger

    Cengage2020-02-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Sinking Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people. Good culture. Beer.

    Cons

    Company is struggling. Layoffs coming for sure. No raises or bonuses.

    Cengage2020-03-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I Love My Job!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent territory with great benefits. When you have the support of a Regional Manager it makes your job more enjoyable.

    Cons

    At this time, I have not had any negative experiences.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2020-02-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work and grow!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cengage has provided many opportunities to learn as both an employee and personally. I believe Cengage gives people opportunities if they are clear they want them both through demonstration of behavior and attitude as well as strong work ethic. I believe Cengage does a job of recognizing the work that people put forth. The challenging part is often goals may not align. For instance you want an opportunity in 3-6 months to advance but that opportunity may not be available until 9-12. Cengage is a company that values your personal life as well. For my direct manager experience they have always cared that you had balance. At times there is more balance than others but that will be true with any Company. The people I work with are great. And that is across departments and locations.

    Cons

    The company is working hard on transparency with their employees and I feel it has improved. I still think there is a bit more to go there.

    Cengage2020-02-10

    Cengage Response

    February 19, 2020CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is refreshing to read your comments as you mention learning, personal drive, recognition and advancement --- all are top of mind for me and the leadership team as we look for ways to deepen the learning we offer through our development programs, as well as taking the time to recognize excellent work. I understand that timing of advancement opportunities may not always align, and believe that the best way to go about advancing is to continue to look for opportunities to grow, including laterally, and by exploring new skills to broaden your capabilities. Your investment in your own development will always be well worth your time and effort. Thanks again for sharing your feedback and please feel free to connect with me directly at any time to share more about your experience at Cengage.

  10. "Some nice perks but office is a bit spread out and quiet"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Andover, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free physio, early finish on Friday, casual office, on site canteen, free yoga.

    Cons

    Office is over three floor and relatively spread out, can bit a little quiet at times.

    Cengage2020-02-25

    Cengage Response

    March 11, 2020CEO

    Thank you for your feedback! It’s great to hear you’re taking advantage of the programs in our Andover office. We are always on the lookout for ways to further improve our workspace – don’t hesitate to share any suggestions with your manager or HR Business Partner. Or, feel free to reach out to me directly to discuss your ideas to make our workspaces even more collaborative and communicative, or anything else on your mind.

Found 1335 reviews