Cengage Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cengage Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1263 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Cengage CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
721 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with great employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Assistant in Mason, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun and friendly environment

    Cons

    Compensation could be improved and clarity could be added for certain systems and role responsibilities

    Cengage2019-07-18
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Great Employees, Clueless Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The employees in the trenches, the ones doing the actual work, are fabulous. The flexibility (being able to work from home one day a week, etc.) is also fabulous. I even enjoy the actual work.

    Cons

    The payscale has absolutely *no* transparency (even my supervisor doesn’t know what the pay range of my position is, let alone me), and raises, which have been capped at 1% a year for at least the last five years, were cut to 0.5% this year. (2019) No bonuses at all for employees not in management or sales.

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees a real raise! After this last pay “raise” of 0.5% (yes, we talk about it on our teams, no one on mine got more than 0.5%), morale is the lowest I’ve seen in my 20+ years with this company. People I know who are very productive employees are starting to look for jobs elsewhere now that the job market is opening up.

    Cengage2019-07-17

    Cengage Response

    July 26, 2019CPO

    Feedback is key to our efforts to continually improve, so thanks for your post. If you’d like to reach out to me directly, I’m eager to learn more about your experience. And I’d be happy to provide context regarding our approach to compensation and improvements already being made ...

    Show More
  3. "Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support, people, and mission make this a great place to be.

    Cons

    None at this time.

    Cengage2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of good work being done, good people, but SO MUCH CHANGE and instability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Autonomy and ownership over the vision/strategy/roadmap for your product area -Great coworkers who are passionate about education (for the most part)

    Cons

    -Frequent changes in company strategy that negatively affect employees, teams, and work (re-orgs, layoffs, sudden change in strategic direction, etc..)

    Cengage2019-07-26
  5. "Amazing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Technical Support in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unbelievable company that really cares about their employees.

    Cons

    There aren’t any cons I know to add.

    Cengage2019-07-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing Company Driving Positive Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - The culture is positive, motivating and very collaborative - Work brings great opportunities for professional development - The CEO and Executive Team are top leaders with great vision and corporate strategy - benefits are good - Everyone is so nice, it's very unusual to have such a large group of genuine, hard working individuals

    Cons

    The company is a leader in driving change in education, which is amazing and exciting to be a part of, but things move fast, so having an adaptable work style would be beneficial to employees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing job! I am super excited to be part of your team and under your direction. You've always made the right decisions and implemented strong strategies for business success. Lead and I will follow.

    Cengage2019-06-21
  7. "Good Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Mason, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cengage always treated me fairly. No complaints.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Never stop being courageous and fearless. Always encourage innovation.

    Cengage2019-06-25
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Decent place to work, but constant fear of being randomly laid off."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - relaxed culture - lots of small perks such as volunteer days, happy hours, flex time

    Cons

    - stagnant wages. annual raises don't keep up with inflation. - no job security at all. seems like every day, jobs are outsourced to overseas vendors or replaced with visa workers. - promotion opportunities are rare

    Advice to Management

    Cut once, and cut deep. Constant layoffs and outsourcing drive top talent to spend a lot of their time looking for opportunities elsewhere. Reward loyalty rather than driving away long term employees.

    Cengage2019-06-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    •culture •leadership teams •opportunities for growth •inclusion • vast learning options

    Cons

    •limited flex time in current role •high cost for benefits

    Advice to Management

    A great sales leader doesn't necessarily make a good manager.

    Cengage2019-06-20
  10. Helpful (21)

    "Get ready to sit on video calls all day... even though you just commutes all the way in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontend Developer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits and people are not bad. Pay is on the low side.

    Cons

    - So much change (every week) that what you may enjoy or like about the company and culture one day, changes the next - Lots of cooperate bull crap thrown around by the c-level leadership. They say they are transparent but yet the rational behind decisions fails to make any sense. What are the real reasons? - CTO compared Cengage to Amazon. Got news for you bro, Cengage is definitely not on the same level as Amazon nor...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Let people work remote if they want to. You’re a remote company (Whether you want to deny it or not) with a team spread across the nation. Do yourself a favor and play on the strength of being a remote company to gain and KEEP actual talent to build your platforms. - Stop settling for stacking up tech debt. Give your teams time to do things and do things right. As well as time to improve past coding crap.

    Cengage2019-06-08

    Cengage Response

    June 17, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback on your experience with Cengage. I’m sorry to hear that our leadership and environment did not meet your expectations of a world class organization. I’d like to share my perspective on a few of your comments. Change is a constant ...

    Show More
Found 1263 reviews