Cengage Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cengage Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Cengage CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
752 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "In some cases, they even created "new positions" for people who were personal friends with upper management(in 73 reviews)

  • "To many reorgs when company numbers aren't met(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Aggressively Transitioning Its Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cengage is committed to an aggressive transition away from traditional educational publishing to student-focused technology based learning provider. As a result, it is a receptive environment for young technology focused professionals. Anyone with experience in Learning Management Systems, Adaptive Learning, Educational App Development, Instructional Design etc... will be valued and have an opportunity to progress.... Cengage Learning was very good to me and I enjoyed my time there.

    Show More

    Cons

    The educational marketplace is in turmoil with textbook sales plummeting, Cengage Learning, along with its competitors, continues to undergo major cost reduction efforts as it manages its transition to a technology company. As a result, there are periodic cycles of significant layoffs as it reduces its focus on traditional publishing and it continues to outsourcing many functions.

    Cengage2017-01-12
  2. "Wonderful mission, struggling to be a software company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employees at Cengage (from the top down) truly care about the customer - students and teachers. The culture is one of transparency, honesty, and purpose. The purpose/mission being - lower the cost of education.

    Cons

    The mission of the company is admirable, but they are struggling in their transition from a publisher of content to a software company. Be careful getting caught in the ups/downs of this transition.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people market value. They believe in the mission. Don't take advantage of their kindness. As you transition to a software company, pick leaders who care about the employees, as much as the customer. Leaders focused on making a name for themselves will destroy the company from the inside out.

    Cengage2019-11-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. Kind people.

    Cons

    Slow to change, but improving.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the innovation

    Cengage2019-10-27
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Short-lived experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA

    I worked at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Beautiful office - Positive culture - Get to work with hardworking, driven individuals

    Cons

    - Reorgs/layoffs - Uncertainty of keeping your job - Uncertainty of how the merger will impact your job

    Advice to Management

    Continue staying transparent through this hard time at Cengage. If you know there might not be a need for a position, don't hire somebody to just then lay them off. Keep employees in the loop.

    Cengage2019-11-05
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Not a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are decent, many people are lovely

    Cons

    10 days of PTO, unbelievably inefficient and ineffective management

    Cengage2019-10-29
  6. "was a chios but I heard it's getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Architect in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice and smart coworkers.

    Cons

    management team didn't know which direction to go. Perhaps a new management team has been in the position now. hope it's better than before

    Cengage2019-11-06
  7. "Great people work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Director 

    I have been working at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work environment filled with great people.

    Cons

    Uncertain future as the company is going through a merger.

    Cengage2019-10-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great First 3 Months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are genuinely happy working for Cengage. I feel trusted as a professional.

    Cons

    Uncertainty of how the merger will affect my day to day work.

    Cengage2019-10-02
  9. "Changing industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Assistant in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cengage is working very hard to adapt to a changing industry.

    Cons

    Reorganized several times in the past few years. Employees asked to flex onto multiple teams, increasing their workload. Hard to advance from Product Assistant role.

    Cengage2019-10-24
  10. "Cengage is the Industry Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent balance between business life and personal life. Super-talented people. Industry leader in the transformation from textbooks to digital learning.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about Cengage.

    Advice to Management

    Continue building an inclusive, exciting culture and corporate ethos.

    Cengage2019-10-09
Found 1295 reviews