Cayuga Centers Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cayuga Centers Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
64%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Cayuga Centers President and Chief Executive Officer Edward Myers Hayes
Edward Myers Hayes
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is truly a wonderful experience and working with the population is very rewarding(in 5 reviews)

  • "Team work, supervisors prepare you and train you well for the job, clinical hours, and room for growth(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "A very hectic and hostel enviornment with little to no support from peers and or supervisors(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "There is a lot of heart."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UC Clinician 

    I worked at Cayuga Centers full-time

    Pros

    Working with the migrant children is immensely rewarding. I will forever be grateful for the opportunity to have been a part of supporting them. The other clinicians were compassionate advocates. Everyone at Cayuga does really care about the kids.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations for documentation. We are required to document the documents, that we documented. Meanwhile, the actual work that matters, helping the kids, was not prioritized.

    Advice to Management

    E N O U G H with the redundant documentation- Let clinicians do what they are trained to do. The kids will not be better off because a mundane incident was documented in triplicate...

    Cayuga Centers2020-01-16
  2. "Stressful and very questionable practices."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapeutic Family Fostercare in Auburn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cayuga Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having the opportunity to make a difference or positive impression with the youth would be the only positive experience that I was able to take away from my experience as a Therapeutic Family Foster Parent. The staff at Cayuga Centers were very dishonest and selfish.

    Cons

    Shady business practices although it is a non-profit. Job titles constantly changing for some reason that never seemed necessary. As many reviews either state or imply, the administrators are absolutely concerned about themselves before foster parents or the youth. As a former foster child of 8 years and a foster parent myself, I was regularly appalled by the carelessness of the administration at Cayuga Centers in Auburn. Cayuga Centers is certainly a non-profit but everyone, including most foster parents are in it for the money more-so than actually using the funds for the youths sole benefit. There have been foster parents that make $5,000-$10,000+ fostering multiple children (siblings usually). The company is dire need of investigation, reform or perhaps closure. If you are considering becoming a foster parent, I strongly advise you to avoid this agency specifically. There are other agencies and there is also county-level care. You'll be glad you took my advice.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seriously consider taking the feedback from your foster parents seriously and make an honest attempt at doing better. Make each day more about the youth and less about yourselves. Stipend checks are not "paychecks" to foster parents and should never ever be referred to as such. Take extra care of your foster parents and provide better support because ever since your residential center has been closed, your foster parents are what keep your agency, at least in Auburn, thriving.

    Show More
    Cayuga Centers2020-01-24
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cayuga Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to help immigrant children.

    Cons

    Not as much government support as one would like to see.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Cayuga Centers2019-12-06
  4. "Not for working families"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Case Planner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cayuga Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay The experience working with youths, families, learning about child protective services in NYC

    Cons

    The hours No support from supervisors

    Cayuga Centers2019-10-25
  5. "Fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Case Manager in New York, NY
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cayuga Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co workers become family Co workers will assist in any way Able to get over time. Not an excessive amount of home visits. Depending on your supervisor, you will be guided and helped throughout process. Working with the kids

    Cons

    Management often times doesn’t keep it professional in terms of how they speak to employees. Policy change very frequent. Being on-call for a whole week means you need to be by your phone in case of an emergency at anytime. Don’t really learn much besides filing paperwork Have to store documents on computer as well as physical hard file which can be a pain

    Advice to Management

    More STRUCTURE More assistance Advocate for employees Consistency

    Cayuga Centers2019-09-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "LOVE THIS PLACE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Clinician in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cayuga Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quality of the work, support for staff, kids are amazing, great pay and benefits

    Cons

    High level of stress, a lot of work, too much paperwork

    Advice to Management

    More training for staff and a more on the same page leadership. Sometimes we receive different directives from different sources and it gets confusing

    Cayuga Centers2019-08-27
  7. "Amazing atmosphere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cayuga Centers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with the children and work environment.

    Cons

    Parking is horrible and the subway is so/so safe.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Cayuga Centers2019-08-29
  8. "Awesome work place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Homefinder in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cayuga Centers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of resources and diverese team.

    Cons

    Not enough employee lounges for staff.

    Advice to Management

    Please plan social activities where staff can socialize more.

    Cayuga Centers2019-08-29
  9. "Welcoming Workplace with Opportunities for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cayuga Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities for advancing. Welcoming workplace.

    Cons

    Limited flexibility in scheduling so it's important to know your availability.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to work on inclusive activities for staff appreciation, this is very much needed.

    Cayuga Centers2019-08-29
  10. "A Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Planner in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cayuga Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management team is good. The hours are usually 9 -5 with occasional overtime. Supervisors provide good support.

    Cons

    Nothing really, everything is pretty good.

    Cayuga Centers2019-08-29
Found 80 reviews