Cargill Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cargill Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Cargill CEO David W. MacLennan
David W. MacLennan
650 Ratings
  1. "Dairy Nutrition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cargill full-time

    Pros

    Great company, people, and support.

    Cons

    Slow to enact change, limited transparency.

    Cargill2018-12-28
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Saskatoon, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cargill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good earning potential for highly ambitious people. Good benefits. Great training.

    Cons

    Cargill is a revolving door. You will be constantly faced with customers upset about the last guy or girl. Cargill doesn't care about it's employees, your managers might though. Low work-life balance.

    Cargill2018-11-22
  3. "Recruiting future leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great development opportunities for young employees and recent graduates.

    Cons

    Opaque bonus pool for middle managers

    Cargill2018-10-07
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Production Supervisor in North Battleford, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cargill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very understanding, approachable and open business. Competitive wages, bonuses and overtime. Work life balance is on mind of all employees and recommended by managers to follow it. Great company to learn from and they are willing to put in the investment if the employer is willing to put in the time. Endless possibilities of careers within the company.

    Cons

    Peak season hours can be long but that is expected in the industry. Sales and operations should work as a single identity and have the same benefits and privileges, ie: bonus structure

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing, it was a great work experience for myself.

    Cargill2018-09-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Grain Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cargill full-time

    Pros

    Huge company, impressive extent of benefits, great place to start your career and then move elsewhere

    Cons

    Grinds the customers for every penny. Grinds the elevator locations, sending profits from there to central business units like their crush plants or port. Grinds the staff to push sketchy contracts on customers, even when these contracts may not be the best choice for those customers. Extreme employee turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people industry wages, stop grinding the customers, pretty much remove the whole management team including yourself because everyone in management seems to be a company yes man and that makes for a terrible place to work.

    Cargill2018-09-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Staff treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cargill part-time

    Pros

    Welfare of staff is highly prioritized within the organization.

    Cons

    I couldn’t have any in my time there

    Cargill2018-09-01
  7. "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cargill full-time

    Pros

    The pay and benefits were great once you earned them.

    Cons

    Where do I begin... - Management doesn't care about their employees well being, they are only concerned about how much product is going out each day -Its like being in high school again, but worse... So many rumours and immaturity. -Rude and/or inappropriate lead hands/supervisors -You are told to report your injuries right away, but when you do they are hesitant to report it because it will look bad on them.... .. that's just a few of them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start actually caring about your employees

    Cargill2018-09-14
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Cargill

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and fast paced

    Cons

    I have no bad things to say

    Cargill2018-08-23
  9. "Great, IF you are in the right division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cargill full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are good, vacation is competitive.

    Cons

    Crop Inputs not a priority to the company. Therefore no investments in facilities or support. Band-Aid solutions everywhere. Staff not replaced when they leave; work is just spread out across fewer and fewer staff.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in facilities and assets.

    Cargill2018-09-04
  10. "Strong values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cargill full-time

    Pros

    Great leaders and a place to develop and grow your career. True to their values and live what it means to conduct business with integrity.

    Cons

    Large organization that can do better job building brand outside of people who know the company.

    Cargill2018-08-11
Found 2775 reviews