Cargill Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cargill Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2631 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Cargill CEO David W. MacLennan
David W. MacLennan
602 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance and free food(in 125 reviews)

  • "Competitive pay, good benefits, always opportunity for growth within the company(in 114 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance and no overtime for salaried employees who work through the weekend(in 89 reviews)

  • "Falta de desenvolvimento de gestores e plano de carreira para todos(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Cargill full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good company for work

      Cons

      Good policies and atmosphere

      Cargill2019-03-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good and Bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Recruiting Coordinator 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cargill full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      For those who are looking for promotions and good wages/benefits, there will be opportunities

      Cons

      Those who need warm relationships with co-workers/managers will have a hard time feeling the connections and might even experience bullied/harassed. It's rather a cold feeling working environment there.

      Cargill2019-07-10
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Administrator I in Winnipeg, MB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Lots of great people and development opportunities. - Relaxed workplace culture - Interesting Industry

      Cons

      - The company feels too big to its detriment - Not a lot of room for unauthorized changes, as everything passes through corporate channels

      Advice to Management

      Focus more time on the employees wants as well as their needs. Happy employees work harder, and stick around longer, and it may not be that expensive to do.

      Cargill2019-05-19
    • "HR advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Montreal, QC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cargill full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits, Good full cafétéria, High standard of quality, Process respect it’s very important, internal promotion, Good culture values. Overall it’s good employer.

      Cons

      Business model create none teem work, more create competition betwin employees. The communication langage betwin employees and manager + the teem work should to be improve to obtain engagment... The engagment survey is to general.

      Advice to Management

      The manager should to hiring outside employees with better skills management. The talent recruting (service center) have to use skills management test to complete the hiring process for management position. The communication and teem work should to be improve to obtain engagment... To muth decision it’s take by the corpo and it’s not muth applicable in the facilities.

      Cargill2019-03-24
    • "Descent compensation and benefits."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Crop Input Representative 

      I worked at Cargill full-time

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits. Enjoyed co-workers. Good work life balance.

      Cons

      Typical large corporation cons. Poor training, too many levels management, job duties are lost in office bureaucracy.

      Cargill2019-03-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "general labor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Guelph, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good pay and execellent benefit.

      Cons

      too cold, environment is awful.

      Cargill2019-02-21
    • "A good place to work at"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Montreal, QC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Cargill for less than a year

      Pros

      good working environment; a place to learn import/export

      Cons

      little flexibility; long commute time

      Cargill2019-01-29
    • "Operations Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Cargill full-time

        Pros

        Capital readily available for deployment and continuous improvement a focus; pay and benefits are very competitive.

        Cons

        Long hours, positive feedback hard to come by.

        Advice to Management

        Put people first

        Cargill2019-01-24
      • Helpful (1)

        "Horrible place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Guelph, ON
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Cargill full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        None none none none none

        Cons

        They hire you as a "flex" worker to start...which is a fancy way of saying temp. 3 years later and I still hadn't been hired on permanently. Management is on a big power trip and extremely disrespectful. I was basically told I wasn't allowed to enjoy my day...we are here to work, not to have fun. Gave me benefits and then a year and a half later took them away with no notice. Worst morale and atmosphere to work in. DON'T...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Listen and acknowledge what employees are telling you. Try to work as a team and build up youŕ staff instead of tearing them down everyday.

        Cargill2019-02-16
      • "Good but limited growth"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Cargill full-time

        Pros

        good to jumpstart your career

        Cons

        once all skills exhausted, limited room to grow.

        Cargill2019-01-25
      Found 2631 reviews