Cargill Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cargill Reviews

Updated Jan 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Cargill President & CEO David W. MacLennan
David W. MacLennan
677 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance has improved a lot over the last 10 years(in 140 reviews)

  • "Competitive pay, good benefits, always opportunity for growth within the company(in 123 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (21)

    "Great company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Offers plenty of opportunities to pursue lateral movement across other departments and industries Great benefits Pay seems reasonable Culture and values set in writing are ones I strive to meet everyday in my personal life Job security seems very high Great work/life balance Plenty of vacation days Great opportunities to advance yourself with certifications and classes paid for by Cargill

    Cons

    Certain offices can get fairly political and hierarchical There can be a disconnect with the vision and goals set by each office/department/boss (lack of purpose and goals tend to lead to underachievement and disengagement)

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend focusing more on setting your vision and goals and being more deliberate with stating them to your teams. Employees become less engaged when they don't have a vision to help pursue as a team and especially become disengaged when they don't have a leader they are willing to do it with as well. I would put my attention not on underachieving teams, but the managers of the underachieving teams.

    Cargill2019-02-11
  2. "Cut and remove meat from bones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Butcher in High River, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cargill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits snd good salary

    Cons

    Its so far away from my house

    Advice to Management

    Continue helping peoples specially Filipinos

    Cargill2020-01-18
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - FSQR Technician 

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are easy to get along

    Cons

    Fast paced environment, takes time to adjust

    Cargill2020-01-19
  4. "Good pay, bad morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 

    I have been working at Cargill full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Work life balance when possible

    Cons

    Bad atmosphere and pushed very hard

    Cargill2020-01-07
  5. "Don't apply!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Factory Worker in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cargill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Maybe can say the pay no bad. But..

    Cons

    Have a union and company allows bullying throughout the company... Very bad place to work ...worked over 10 years there..left and never been so happy...

    Advice to Management

    Clean factory up.....

    Cargill2020-01-23
  6. "Cargill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hedge Fund Accountant in Winnipeg, MB

    I worked at Cargill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid well, bonus gifts from partnership companies

    Cons

    Weak management, not willing to upgrade systems procedures to current standards

    Cargill2019-12-19
  7. "Horrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cargill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Other than some great co-workers there are no pros to working for this business. Any reference to the “Cargill Family” is all talk and no reality.

    Cons

    Poor pay, doing the work of 2-3 people, treated like you are an untrustworthy criminal that has to be watched all the time and no recognition of how hard you work or all you put into the job. Management is also incredibly poor at communication and leaves major announcements to the press for the majority of employees to learn.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to treat your employees with respect and stop putting cheap overseas labor ahead of quality personnel performing the job well. Dirt cheap and sub-quality work will never be as valuable as employees who not only know how to do the job well but care about doing the job the best it can be done.

    Cargill2019-12-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Meh. Go somewhere you will be appreciated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Position in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Okay base salary and benefits package.

    Cons

    London location: Does not promote from within. Does not nourish career development. Does not credit/recognize work accomplished or overtime put in. Does not value employees. Does not foster trusting relationships between management and subordinates. Overtime gets paid out several pay periods after submitted. Does not foster creativity and growth. Management has no problem lying to get what they want from workers. Fake it til you make it is management's style. Insist they believe in career development and job shadowing, however it's never the right time so not now. Employee thoughts and insight are never taken into consideration and going above and beyond gets you no where.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Foster growth and reward initiative. So much talent leaves or is planning to leave because of management being short sighted.

    Cargill2019-11-06
  9. "Current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and bonuses with salaries

    Cons

    Improve on trainings and developments

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good job on with more bonuses

    Cargill2019-10-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, development is encouraged

    Cons

    Management team is very “exclusive” and keeps employees on the outside and are not very motivational leaders.

    Advice to Management

    Be better at being open minded and accepting of employees from different career backgrounds. Not everyone has had the same path as you, and shouldn’t feel penalized for that.

    Cargill2019-10-24
Found 2887 reviews