Cover image for Carefor Health & Community Services
Logo

Carefor Health & Community Services

Engaged Employer

Carefor Health & Community Services

Add a Review

Carefor Health & Community Services Reviews

Updated Dec. 1, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 47 of over 52 reviews
3.3
69% Recommend to a Friend
Carefor Health & Community Services CEO Steve Perry
60% Approve of CEO

Found 46 of over 52 reviews

3.3
69%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Carefor Health & Community Services CEO Steve Perry
Steve Perry
10 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

13h

a 

HIM

I'm a RN by title but left the profession to pursue other things. I'm currently in HIM dept at our local hospital, I'm tossing around becoming a coder. Has anyone on here ever switch gears and branched of their nursing education and go to coding or something in healthcare? Please share your experiences or suggestions.

39

24 Comments

Healthcare

125.6K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Carefor Health & Community Services~479066
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Carefor Health & Community Services? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Carefor Health & Community Services employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Love it!

    Sep. 15, 2022 - CCW 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible schedule multiple locations so you dont get bored

    Cons

    short on staff, so lots of OT

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    OK

    Dec. 1, 2022 - Business Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, Good benefits in general

    Cons

    low salary as it is a non for profit

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Carefor Health & Community Services team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great experience

    Sep. 14, 2022 - Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Home Care 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonomous work. Steady pace not too busy

    Cons

    No cons I enjoyed my time there

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Psw

    Sep. 10, 2022 - Psw Personal Support Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company. I really enjoyed working here.

    Cons

    More full time positions needed

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    So happy to be making a difference in the Ottawa region

    Aug. 29, 2022 - Administrative Staff in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working in a future focused environment Working in support of some of the most vulnerable people in the community Hybrid work environment

    Cons

    Current staffing shortages in some areas means occassional stress

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Aug. 29, 2022 - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Its a good organization with great team for early careers

    Cons

    Too Manual work sometimes Slow Growth

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Work you like a slave. Avoid

    Aug. 19, 2022 - Personal Support Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No body gives a thing about you Provides you with smartphone to track you

    Cons

    Horrible experience with this company - Don't let the high pay fools you. They will work you like a slave - Management has no communication with each others. - Management don't give a thing about you. They posted your schedule, you accepted. Then they went on changing it which conflicted with some of your personal stuff. Then they got mad because you can't work on that time and complained that you wanted off that day. - No paid time while waiting for clients. Have 2-3 clients a day (in my lucky day). And spent almost 8h outside because of wait time and travel. Then got paid for almost nothing. So why should I work at this job and waste my whole day for low pay? - No coordination with clients. Scheduler gives schedule, sometimes too early. Then when confirming with clients, they don't want that time. They want later... So basically, I have to push everything in my day just to satisfy the client. Seriously??? Now I understand why the higher pay than other care facilities. They will work you like a slave

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Carefor Health & Community Services Response

    Manager, Talent Management and HR Advisory

    We are sorry to hear about your negative experience at Carefor, and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your review with us. Although this feedback is not typical for us as we strive to provide a supportive and flexible work environment, all feedback is very important to us and helps us continue to improve our employee experience. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you to learn more about your experience and encourage you to contact us at hr@carefor.ca.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent coworkers

    Jul. 5, 2022 - Registered Practical Nurse/Personal Support Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers are like family and work together as a team

    Cons

    Pay is very low compared to other facilities and workload

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Carefor Health & Community Services Response

    Manager, Talent Management and HR Advisory

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Carefor. We are proud of the caring and collaborative teams we work with at Carefor. We are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience and would welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding your experience. We encourage you to contact us at hr@carefor.ca.

  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    It’s ok

    Jul. 10, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, autonomy and independence

    Cons

    Poor support, no one cares about you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Carefor Health & Community Services Response

    Manager, Talent Management and HR Advisory

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Carefor. We strive to provide a flexible and supportive employee experience, and are always working to find ways to improve. We would welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding your experience and encourage you to contact us at hr@carefor.ca.

  11. 1.0
    Former Employee

    ….

    Jun. 19, 2022 - Care Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team environment, developed strong skills

    Cons

    Understaffed and undersupported, lots of lack of communication throughout and misdirected expectations.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Carefor Health & Community Services Response

    Manager, Talent Management and HR Advisory

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Carefor. We are very proud of our teams and the strong skills that they develop at Carefor. All feedback is important to us and will help us continue to improve our employee experience. We welcome a chance to learn from you directly and invite you to contact our Human Resources team at hr@carefor.ca.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews
</>Embed

Carefor Health & Community Services Reviews FAQs

Carefor Health & Community Services has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 52 reviews left anonymously by employees. 69% of employees would recommend working at Carefor Health & Community Services to a friend and 48% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 10% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Carefor Health & Community Services employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Carefor Health & Community Services. This rating has improved by 18% over the last 12 months.

69% of Carefor Health & Community Services employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Carefor Health & Community Services 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

Popular Careers with Carefor Health & Community Services Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Carefor Health & Community Services? Share Your Experiences

Carefor Health & Community Services logo

Carefor Health & Community Services

or

Reviews by Job Title

Carefor Health & Community Services Photos

+ Add Photo
Carefor Health & Community Services photo of: Community Support Services
Carefor Health & Community Services photo of: Personal Support Worker
Carefor Health & Community Services photo of: In home nursing

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Carefor Health & Community Services Job Seekers Also Viewed

Queensway Carleton Hospital Logo
Queensway Carleton Hospital

3.8

62 reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 52 Carefor Health & Community Services reviews submitted anonymously by Carefor Health & Community Services employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Carefor Health & Community Services is right for you.