Capital One Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Capital One Reviews

Updated 7 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Capital One CEO Richard D. Fairbank
Richard D. Fairbank
4,007 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing work environment as well as benefits. Capital One encourages their employees to inspire and provides them with the tools and resources to do so.

    Cons

    I really have nothing negative to say about the company.

    Capital One2019-08-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Capital One, A Dynamic Atmosphere for the Young"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scheduling Coordinator in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Felixble management, great team and location and advancement possibilities from the get-go

    Cons

    Same as most phone young phone centres

    Capital One2019-08-12
  3. "CAP ONE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time there because the people made it great.

    Cons

    I was unhappy that I had to move departments.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Capital One2019-12-06
  4. "Loved the tech direction at c1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Data Scientist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cloud forward company, with lots of freedom for data scientists

    Cons

    Was in Canada, always second fiddle to US.

    Capital One2019-11-29
  5. "Best job I worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Capital One full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment, people, lunches,great pay, room for growth

    Cons

    Favoritism by managers. Other than that , not much to say about the job

    Capital One2019-11-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start your career, workload can get tough though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Wonderful teammates, easy place to make friends in a new city - Emphasis on data-driven decision-making, great place to pickup technical and analytical skills in a world that increasingly values these things - Tech stack is getting better, unlocking opportunities for more product-like work - Lots of smart and motivated people to work with, I've rarely/never felt like I had to carry the team. I always felt... supported by hard workers

    Show More

    Cons

    - Workload can be very high during deadlines due to: tech migration, regulations, contract renewals/negotiations, internal mandates - Workload varies heavily by team - Different leaders have very different styles, and different teams have different pressures - with some you'll learn great technical expertise but feel stressed most of the time, with others you'll learn great leadership skills but less opportunity... to develop on technical skills - There is sometimes bureaucracy - your project may not fit your development goals, or a big project may get stalled for a variety of reasons - There can be a general sense of under-staffing, or commitment on projects, leading to high workload and stress

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Empower associates to push back and advocate for their work-life balance - Put more emphasis on surveying morale and mental health. Don't just pressure leaders for results. If you only measure results, then other things will suffer.

    Capital One2019-10-16
  7. "Amazing workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, accepting of ideas, amazing technologies and problems to solve

    Cons

    You want to work so much you take a hit on work/life balance

    Capital One2019-10-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Toronto office engineer life is miserable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work on latest tech stack, full on aws cloud, good office location

    Cons

    For tech, this is a model of onshore work for us office. Engineering managers are not competent. US owns all the work, you get a tiny pie if you are lucky. You beg them to accept you PR. Good chance that you may end up just doing support work.

    Capital One2019-10-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away from CapitalOne Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Master Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing is good here at CapitalOne Canada

    Cons

    Incompetent Managers Toxic work culture All the best work happens in USA. Folks in Canada only tweak it. Worst employer in Canada - relies on USA rating to lure talent but cannot retain them They give you a hefty sign on bonus that you have to return if you leave. Most folks use up the bonus before they realize the hell hole they have gotten themselves into. Attrition is through the roof. HR and leadership... don’t care

    Show More
    Capital One2019-11-15
  10. "Nice place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice environment, good pay, great benefits.

    Cons

    tools could be better, management can be better needs better incentives

    Capital One2019-10-24
Found 7016 reviews