Canlan Ice Sports Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Canlan Ice Sports Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Canlan Ice Sports President and CEO Joey St. Aubin
Joey St. Aubin
13 Ratings
  1. "Very good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Canlan Ice Sports part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, very relaxed working enviroment

    Cons

    Nothing company is well run

    Canlan Ice Sports2019-09-09
  2. "Easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Iceman in North Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canlan Ice Sports full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay lots of breaks

    Cons

    Management doesn't seem to care much about quality of work done, rarely takes action on teams that break the rules

    Continue reading
    Canlan Ice Sports2019-10-20
  3. "A decent entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - League Coordinator 

    I have been working at Canlan Ice Sports full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A few awesome co-workers and some great customers

    Cons

    Lack of communication, too much corporate control, unionized facility - no recognition for years of service or work ethic (i.e someone who's been there for 5 years makes the same wage as a new hire).

    Canlan Ice Sports2019-10-08
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canlan Ice Sports full-time

    Pros

    Unreal place to work for

    Cons

    Slow people don't know what's good

    Continue reading
    Canlan Ice Sports2019-05-02
  5. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Canlan Ice Sports part-time

    Pros

    Pretty good group of co-workers

    Cons

    Not the best scheduling process

    Canlan Ice Sports2019-04-24
  6. "Mismanagement and No Trust"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Canlan Ice Sports full-time

    Pros

    My favourite part used to be my fellow co-workers but most have since quit (like myself) or been fired due to the new management team that was brought in.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth. Low pay and no formal structure for raises. Management takes gratuity from the hard working kitchen staff. Staff perks and incentives are next to none. Senior management makes questionable hiring decisions and do not promote within. A senior VP even won the grand prize at our latest Christmas party, what a joke.

    Continue reading
    Canlan Ice Sports2019-02-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Downward Spiral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Canlan Ice Sports full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun industry. Some of the people are genuinely nice and caring (not all). Access to sports. Decent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Dictatorship from the top - arrogant and condescending company leader who displays zero trust in his people. Closing and selling facilities are part of the outlook. Inexperienced people in senior management roles. Most good leaders that have done a lot for this company have left. Many still at the company are currently looking for jobs (including myself).

    Continue reading
    Canlan Ice Sports2019-03-06
  8. "A company & culture trending upwards - fast!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canlan Ice Sports full-time

    Pros

    1. Open-minded 2. Work hard, play hard mentality 3. Flexible working hours at head office level 4. Customer-first mentality 5. Progressive and inventive

    Cons

    1. Smaller staff require you to wear a lot of hats 2. Not in the city core

    Continue reading
    Canlan Ice Sports2019-01-22
  9. "Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canlan Ice Sports full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Worked with great people supporting each other to achieve a clear, common goal. - Great place to start your career and learn a lot about Sports/Recreation and Food/Beverage throughout the process. - Flexible and allows for on-the-job learning. - Lots of fun team events to improve relationships and morale.

    Cons

    - At the time, there was little room for advancement. - The compensation wasn't the greatest.

    Canlan Ice Sports2018-10-09
  10. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canlan Ice Sports full-time

    Pros

    Recreational environment is laid back, more casual, lots of relationship building and getting to know customers who become friends...get to see lots of hockey

    Cons

    Low pay, no commission, horrible working hours during tournament season, lots of evenings and weekends

    Canlan Ice Sports2018-03-26
Found 32 reviews