Canam Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Canam Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Canam President and Chief Executive Officer Marc Dutil
Marc Dutil
19 Ratings
  1. "owner operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at Canam full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    owning the company making your won schedule

    Cons

    no time off ,and weather dependant

    Canam2018-02-13
  2. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canam full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good, strong, Trying to move in the right direction

    Cons

    Not any I can think of.

    Canam2019-06-24
  3. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Canam full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and stability of work

    Cons

    Low rate salaries comparing with others

    Canam2018-01-28
  4. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canam full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great culture Entrepreneurial spirit Lean culture

    Cons

    New shareholders with short term strategy Lack of a real business focus Canam's "great" culture may go away with the new management

    Canam2018-01-22
  5. "CAnAm working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Advisor 

    I worked at Canam for less than a year

    Pros

    great team spirit and fun vibes

    Cons

    payment is awful compared to the hours you work

    Advice to Management

    be clear about the wage payment in the interview

    Canam2018-02-09
  6. "Calgary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canam for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have enjoyed working with most of my co-workers, the benefits are fairly good. and there is a relaxed office culture.

    Cons

    Pay is average. There is a big push to improve processes, it seems to ineffective and pretty wasteful.

    Advice to Management

    Clearly communicate what is expect when you are trying to change things.

    Canam2017-03-06
  7. "not a place to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canam

    Pros

    co worker have vast knowledge and more than willing to share their knowledge

    Cons

    upper management are too busy trying to establish health and safety culture, they do not focus on work culture health benefits are slim, many things are not covered under insurance annual pay review will never increase more than 4% (barely cover inflation)

    Canam2017-03-08
  8. "Junior Detailer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Detailer in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canam full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Experience for recent grad in manufacturing and civil engineering. Good experience to become accustomed to manufacturing and industrial environement

    Cons

    Unclear instructions/expectations as this is new work being done. This position should take into consideration the needs and schedule of production department and that of the maintenance department.

    Advice to Management

    Attempt to structure this role. The health and safety culture is very strong with upper management and in the maintenance department but less so with production.

    Canam2016-11-27
  9. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Canam

    Pros

    Work is work good benefits life work balance could have overtime

    Cons

    rushed, periodic machine problems, attitudes, unhealthy and crazy environment

    Canam2016-09-21
  10. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project and Shipping Coordinator in Moncton, NB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canam full-time

    Pros

    A fantastic company to work for. Great co-workers, great opportunities, great benefits, and lots of fun. Many social events, locally and sometimes at head office.

    Cons

    Only thing inconvenient is the eye benefits. They don't have the greatest when it comes to eye appointments or buying glasses.

    Canam2016-07-19
Found 39 reviews