Canam Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Canam Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Canam CEO Marc Dutil
Marc Dutil
19 Ratings
  1. "owner operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB

      I have been working at Canam full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      owning the company making your won schedule

      Cons

      no time off ,and weather dependant

      Canam2018-02-13
    • "good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Canam full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good, strong, Trying to move in the right direction

      Cons

      Not any I can think of.

      Canam2019-06-24
    • "Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Canam full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good benefits and stability of work

      Cons

      Low rate salaries comparing with others

      Canam2018-01-28
    • "Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Canam full-time

      Pros

      Great people, great culture Entrepreneurial spirit Lean culture

      Cons

      New shareholders with short term strategy Lack of a real business focus Canam's "great" culture may go away with the new management

      Canam2018-01-22
    • "CAnAm working conditions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

      I worked at Canam for less than a year

      Pros

      great team spirit and fun vibes

      Cons

      payment is awful compared to the hours you work

      Advice to Management

      be clear about the wage payment in the interview

      Canam2018-02-09
    • "Calgary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Canam for more than 8 years

      Pros

      I have enjoyed working with most of my co-workers, the benefits are fairly good. and there is a relaxed office culture.

      Cons

      Pay is average. There is a big push to improve processes, it seems to ineffective and pretty wasteful.

      Advice to Management

      Clearly communicate what is expect when you are trying to change things.

      Canam2017-03-06
    • "not a place to move up"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Canam

      Pros

      co worker have vast knowledge and more than willing to share their knowledge

      Cons

      upper management are too busy trying to establish health and safety culture, they do not focus on work culture health benefits are slim, many things are not covered under insurance annual pay review will never increase more than 4% (barely cover inflation)

      Canam2017-03-08
    • "Junior Detailer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Junior Detailer in Brampton, ON
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Canam full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good Experience for recent grad in manufacturing and civil engineering. Good experience to become accustomed to manufacturing and industrial environement

      Cons

      Unclear instructions/expectations as this is new work being done. This position should take into consideration the needs and schedule of production department and that of the maintenance department.

      Advice to Management

      Attempt to structure this role. The health and safety culture is very strong with upper management and in the maintenance department but less so with production.

      Canam2016-11-27
    • "Meh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Canam

      Pros

      Work is work good benefits life work balance could have overtime

      Cons

      rushed, periodic machine problems, attitudes, unhealthy and crazy environment

      Canam2016-09-21
    • "Fantastic Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Project and Shipping Coordinator in Moncton, NB
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Canam full-time

      Pros

      A fantastic company to work for. Great co-workers, great opportunities, great benefits, and lots of fun. Many social events, locally and sometimes at head office.

      Cons

      Only thing inconvenient is the eye benefits. They don't have the greatest when it comes to eye appointments or buying glasses.

      Canam2016-07-19
    Found 38 reviews