Canadian Tire "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Canadian Tire Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated 24 de Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Canadian Tire CEO Stephen Wetmore (no image)
Stephen Wetmore
332 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Like any retail job it is minimum wage(in 47 reviews)

  • "The full-time salaries are a joke(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Busineess Analyst in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire for less than a year

    Pros

    good work culture and lots of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    discrimination against non full time employee

    Canadian Tire2018-11-30
  2. "UX Designer - Contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - User Experience Designer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the pros are that you can leave at 5 and the work load is more than manageable

    Cons

    As an independent contractor, you're not allowed to work from home, they are extremely late on paying invoices, and there is little to now hope of making a full time position.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your independent contractors as contractors, not employees.

    Canadian Tire2019-06-24
  3. "Creative Freedom Stifled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Designer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire for more than a year

    Pros

    • A good amount of friendly people • Good learning experience, especially if you're on the UX team • Good place to work if you prefer monotony or a set routine • Creative ideas are taken seriously and implemented once in a while, depending on who you take them to

    Cons

    • No credit or acknowledgement given to designers for the specific work they did – creative manager takes all the credit • Designers and other employees treated as commodities • Few designers were suddenly asked to publish pages full-time when some page-publishers quit, with no promise of a return to design duties

    Canadian Tire2019-05-06
  4. "One of Canada's Best Employers. If You Work on Contract!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Administrative Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire for more than a year

    Pros

    OK! So here's the dish. Canadian Tire Corp. is a great company to work for IF (notice the if) you work on contract. I worked for contract for them for almost two years and I had a great time. I was well paid. I created my own opportunities. I took on extra work when I didn't have to and used the my experience to grow, learn and educate myself as a contractor. The high-paid contract I landed at CTC was a pure... blessing and I had great AVPs, and wonderful team members to work with. I have never felt so encouraged in any part of my career.

    Show More

    Cons

    Now here's the reason why I didn't go full time: 1) The full-time salaries are a joke. A pay grade on their chart was $26,500. Seriously! 2) They acquired Helly Hanson and paid WAAAAAAAAAAAAAY too much for it. CTC is a huge financial bind right now and they (when I wrote this) were cutting staff left and right. I was contract and they were kind enough to let me stay while they cut full-time staff which had... been there 20 years or more. 3) A lot of the full-time staff are lazy and entitled. I've worked in the provincial government before starting at CTC. Man! I thought I saw some prima donna attitudes in the government! You've never seen anything like it at CTC. 4) Morale is really low and staff are grumbling about all the layoffs and the changes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You paid WAAAAAAAY too much for Helly Hanson and now you are making VPs and AVPs, who are amazing people pay for your mistake. Staff morale is at all time low and you a losing great people to your competition. Oh and pay people more than $60,000 a year for 16 years of service. Oh and your HR department needs a wrecking ball through it. Every one of them are bloody useless.

    Canadian Tire2019-04-26
  5. "working at CT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As long as you stay away from gossiping and you mind your own business it is a good place to work.You will literally do nothing if you want too

    Cons

    Very poor management. Managers don't even act like the leaders.No self respect.No good vibe at all. No growth opportunity in the company. They might notice that you work hard,compliments and whateves but won't reward you. They will just ignore you. I was full time but sometimes they made me wonder if it just a scheme. They will say that there are no more hours but they will hire more people in the same department....No regular evaluation which is important for the growth of a company. Tons of training they will make you take online but none practical, they will change your department without a warning and when they won't do it if you actually ask for it. if you don't take care of your self you will get anxiety

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be consciencious of you role a managers.Because your employees look up to you. You are supposed to know more than your employees. Evaluate your employees on a regular basis tell them what to do to grow in your company. It is easier for the employees to know what their employer expects from them.REward hard workers as a way to motivate.Before hiring more ask among your employees if some of them would like to transfer... departments. Keep your promises. Believe me, happy employees is a happy company. Let's be honest you're nothing without your employees. Who struggles when they quit?

    Show More
    Canadian Tire2019-04-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At my location ( The Eaton Centre) the department managers and other sales associates were all wonderful and caring. For a retail job, it's a great environment.

    Cons

    Like most retail, its minimum wage. It can be hard to get hours outside the holidays. You have to be there a loooong time to get full time and benefits. I can't speak for other locations, but you will see A LOT of rude customers, so you have to learn to not take it personally.

    Advice to Management

    I know you guys do the best you can with what you have. Cooperate and the dealers have your hands tide when it comes to wages and hours.

    Canadian Tire2019-01-21
  7. "Merchandising Co-op, had an amazing four months and was very engaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Merchandising Co-op (Aka Marketing Coordinator) in Midtown Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire for less than a year

    Pros

    - Employee engagement and culture is A+. They have a internal team called the Jumpstart Charity team and every single month they host some type of big event in the cafeteria. While I was there we had the Smoothie Competition and a Chili Cook-off. - They also have an annual ski trip (highly subsidized) and because CTC is a sponsor of the Canadian Olympics we had a provide lodge and got to meet an Olympic Gold... Medalist. - Quite a few young people, majority of Category Business Analysts are age 25-35 so people are often chatting - Pay was around $20-$22 which is excellent for an intern/co-op - You get an email from the President every month and it usually s - The CTC Cafeteria "Sandy's" is super high quality food and it's highly subsidized so its ecellent value!!! Roast beef steak for only $4. Breakfast too! Bacon, eggs, and potato for $4. I highly recommend the Merchandising Co-op roles in particular because: - You are core to the business so you actually learn how CTC makes money and have a look into the profit and loss statements every month. You work under a Buyer. - You have full time Merchandise Trainers, so you get 3 full days of all day training from an instructor on how to do your job, and you have dedicated support staff in case you get stuck but don't want to ask your manager - You can occasionally can get some free products because your Buyer will have extra free samples from vendors I am not sure about the other roles, but I don't think they get as many perks.

    Show More

    Cons

    - You are expected to be at your desk from 9am-5pm. You should not be late , and working from home is not really an option since its not a tech firm nor a client-facing organization. - If you are looking to translate your internship to a full-time job, CTC typically pays less than its competitors (e.g. Walmart), however they generally make up for it in terms of benefits and culture. The Emerging Marketers Program... or the other new grad rotational programs are highly coveted and beneficial if you want to consider full-time roles.

    Show More
    Canadian Tire2018-09-17
  8. "Yikes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunity to find full-time position, if you want the hours and care about the position you should be able to maintain them.

    Cons

    Poorly managed, management does not communicate effectively which causes many things to become misconstrued between managers and staff. Will put you in a new department with little warning and no fair explanation. Who receives recognition for a doing job well is based on favoritism. Management does not have concern for personal well-being.

    Canadian Tire2018-07-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Canadian Company to Learn and Grow With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - accessible home office location right on subway line - canadian owned and operated - great employee perks and events including annual holiday gift box - recognition of tenure with annual ‘pin party’ each five year anniversary - classroom training and full-time coaching team standard across merchandising divisions, always available to support you in learning new processes and answer any questions - strong... focus on hiring internally, even across departments and functional areas - grassroots women in leadership network hosts regular networking events, fireside chats and skill builder workshops - special projects and development opportunities made available to those that work hard and earn them

    Show More

    Cons

    - often work/life balance of individual contributors will suffer to meet unrealistic deadlines set by middle management with no overtime or time in lieu offered - decision making is often delayed due to the number of bureaucratic sign-offs required - managers do not receive adequate training in people management and leadership, large gaps between the quality of leaders, even in the same department - no exposure... to Human Resources or effort to address annual anonymous team opinion survey feedback; seen too many people let go unfairly or leave due to favouritism and politics

    Show More
    Canadian Tire2018-05-15
  10. "Head manager needs to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most co-workers are great! Customers are awesome!

    Cons

    Store manager has favorites that don't have to work as hard as everyone else, she degrades some of the weaker employees on the floor. She talks about the employees behind their backs making fun of them. I have been full time for over a year and no benefits, I also asked for less hours to have more of a life but was denied.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of your store manager, she is abusive and mean and brings the moral of the store down.

    Canadian Tire2018-03-25
Found 49 reviews