Canadian Cancer Society Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Canadian Cancer Society Reviews

Updated Mar 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Canadian Cancer Society CEO Andrea Seale (no image)
Andrea Seale
1 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior Management had little respect for ground level workforce(in 10 reviews)

  • "Due to being a non-profit, salary increases were limited(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Cancer Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are passionate about the work. Great mission and leadership

    Cons

    Working life balance in some roles

    Canadian Cancer Society2019-10-27
  2. "A waste of my time and more importantly donors money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Cancer Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and Christmas shutdown days

    Cons

    Old school management, not a clear mission, not being transparent with employees, big employee turnover, phishing talent from their long term working agencies who have a contract with

    Continue reading
    Canadian Cancer Society2020-03-03
  3. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Canadian Cancer Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Took away life time benefits

    Canadian Cancer Society2020-01-12
  4. "Feels good to work for an organization making a difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Cancer Society full-time

    Pros

    Good wage and benefits. Flexibility for work-life balance. Management trusts employees and their judgement for the most part. It's nice to have a job where you can help people.

    Cons

    Limited resources and constant need for funding means all employees take on more responsibility and a larger workload than manageable longterm.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Cancer Society2020-01-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Cancer Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compelling purpose and front line staff are truly committed to making a positive difference to those afflicted by cancer and their families.

    Cons

    Upper management and some corporate staff have an entitlement mentality. Human Resources don't walk the talk, are disrespectful, and hardly ever seen. Sad to have to say this but I would avoid this organization.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Cancer Society2019-11-21
  6. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer Coordinator in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Cancer Society part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice friendly very professional and cooperative staff

    Cons

    Nothing I can remember no

    Continue reading
    Canadian Cancer Society2019-10-11
  7. "Room for improvement..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Cancer Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work contributes to a great cause

    Cons

    Constant change, low salary, lack of communication, lack of collaboration

    Canadian Cancer Society2019-09-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Was disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Canadian Cancer Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good mandate, learned a lot about cancer research.

    Cons

    People were catty and rude.

    Canadian Cancer Society2019-08-22
  9. "Magnanimous Multicultural Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Data Processor 

    I worked at Canadian Cancer Society part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the people are really wonderful

    Cons

    non, I have no complaints

    Continue reading
    Canadian Cancer Society2019-06-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "NATIONAL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Cancer Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, and not for ;)

    Cons

    Once Canadian Cancer became "National" by being associated with Breast Cancer sometime in 2018, the culture has not been the same....too much cooler talk.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Cancer Society2019-06-25
Found 111 reviews