Canadian Blood Services Employee Reviews about "donors"

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
41%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Canadian Blood Services CEO Graham D. Sher
Graham D. Sher
85 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Every problem is front end staffs fault even though we have no control over number of donors(in 11 reviews)

  • "Don't seem to listen to front line staff(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "donors"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Volunteering since May 2014"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist in Edmonton, AB
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have medical lab tech and phlebotomist skill and experience. I like to help people. Canadian Blood Services is a non profit organization for help of people who are needy and sick.

    Cons

    Different type of donors. Carefully handle the blood bags and identification of every donor is the huge challenge. Don't make a mistake in identification and error on the blood bag or on sample can lead to the death of a patient.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2014-10-28
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Donor Care Associate in Saskatoon, SK

    I have been working at Canadian Blood Services part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wages are ok. Benefits are good

    Cons

    Management doesnt listen to employees. Employees are treated differently depending on which supervisor they have. More and more duties assigned but no increase in pay. Split shifts, evenings and out of town clinics. You are expected to go on out of town clinics even when travel is not recommended. Bus is not made for hiway travel and is cold and bumpy. Management has no empathy for family issues. Every problem is front end staffs fault even though we have no control over number of donors. I could go on and on. It is a very toxic workplace and morale is low

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2019-11-18
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Territory Manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Regina, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Even though the pay was far less than my typical earnings, I took the job because of the community focus, importance of blood donation to help save lives, working with local business leaders to advance the cause. Those elements made the work personally rewarding.

    Cons

    A stressful and overworked environment in the position I was in (Donor Relations), Generally speaking it was a cult of personality across the board. Much ado about employee engagement amounted to lip service only. Management was extremely poor and consistently played favorites, leading to good people leaving or getting their positions "eliminated." I came from professional sales and marketing and I was truly surprised from the beginning just how little objective decision making and good business practices were evident. I spoke up, I was honest and direct. That eventually led to someone who was far junior to me "winning" a competition for a position when a contraction of positions took place. It was a complete farce. I was out of favor. It may sound like sour grapes, but that is exactly what happened. But as it happens, that ended up being a stroke of luck for me for many reasons, least of all that I literally earn double what I was paid at CBS.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2019-01-17
  4. "Clinic Volunteer and Community Recruiter"

    4.0
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services

    Pros

    Friendly volunteers, staff, and donors. Everyone is working together to support a good cause. It's nice to see donors return and give up an hour of their time to help fellow Canadians in need.

    Cons

    Challenge to recruit new donors, or maintain previous donors to keep up with the quota.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2017-06-09
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Best Job A Phlebotomist Can Have"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomist in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Blood Services part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Best coworkers you will ever have. Capable, reliable, team players with outstanding personalities and dedication to the cause. -Fun work environment. "Clean" straight forward job. "Easy" job, although fast paced. Donors are healthy, and wanting to have their blood drawn, unique to this work environment. -No pressure environment, show up, go home, you never take the job with you after you clock out. -Great team, phlebotomists, RNs, donor services all work together to execute each clinic on target. -Decent wages, good benefits. -Training overall very comprehensive initially, although admittedly not always uniform. -Depending on your background, some opportunity to move up or into a completely different role. -Lots of very bright people within and access to transfusion/transplant research/data as well as training and educational resources.

    Cons

    -Shift work, which is normal in healthcare. The hours can be great (perfect) for a student or PT worker if you want just a few half shifts a week. However if you are trying to support a family and pay for daycare, aiming for FT hours will require working difficult shifts like 12 hr+ mobile clinics and split shifts or 6 days in a row etc. -Some job security but will never be a M-F guaranteed FT job. This is a problem. I do think hours could be more standardized similar to what the for profit plasma clinics have done, while still meeting targets, appealing to donors, and staying fiscally responsible. Many donors get paid time off to donate during the day (from our corporate PFL partners) so making clinic hours from 10am-6pm instead of split shifts running into the evening for example might be feasible. -Clinic Managers have replaced Charge Nurses in the clinic. As they are out of scope, they cannot help with needles, faints, or even give bandaids. Or give advice on any other problem in the clinic such as pack allocation and reconciliation discrepancies. -Staff are often last to know any changes. I usually check the CBC app before I come to work. All relevant info is usually released by media relations to the public before us. -This is a great job if you use it to your advantage. They will use you so make it work in your favour. Learn lots, enjoy the experience. -If you're clinic staff you may or may not be respected. Depends on the day/budget/targets/factor X etc. -Dealing with people all day, can be tiring if you're friendly but not a "people person" by nature. -Thinking outside the box may or may not be welcomed. Good advice may not be accepted advice.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2016-08-05
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Phlebotomist"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, if you can get enough hours to keep them, competitative salary, lovely donors.

    Cons

    Refuse to give long time staff decent working hours. Expect you to be on call every day., but won't commit to regular hours of employment. You are pushed constantly to perform more and more tasks, with less time to complete them, making it unsafe for the donors.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2016-03-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Registered nurse"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at Canadian Blood Services full-time

    Pros

    Awesome dedicated Donors, great co-workers, have schedule 1 month in advance therefore able to schedule your days or evenings when not working, team work, fast pace most of time

    Cons

    Lots of evening clinics, schedule as far as Friday nights, Saturday's and out of town clinics are not evenly distributed among staff, rarely recognized by management of hard work, front line staff often not informed of coming changes first as we hear it by Donors or media then by management

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2016-02-06
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Could be amazing, but management doesn"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services

    Pros

    - wonderful working with the donors - great front-line staff to work with, made some great friends - get to help people do a good thing - decent wage

    Cons

    - horrible schedules, impossible to have a life outside of work much less get another job, trying to book time off or switch schedules a nightmare - donors treated by upper CBS management as cattle, no more than a "meat sack" to get free blood product from, just a #number to them - front line staff takes all of the crap and none of the recognition for a job well done, and are treated as if they are disposable - terrible moral and high turnover - managers only show up on high profile events to "take credit" for their *cough* hard work

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2015-06-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be a great place to work....."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unionized in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Blood Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people that care about what they do.

    Cons

    Schedules are in constant flux for front line staff as business needs change yearly. Management needs to value donors and staff. Management has been there for a long time and the message is stale. Same regurgitated ideas.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2015-02-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Could be so much better"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics 

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits package, including a pension plan.

    Cons

    Constantly changing shifts makes it difficult on family, particularly planning events, birthday parties, etc. The low wages and shift premium in no way compensate for missing out on family time. Everything is geared toward the donor, ignoring the dedicated staff that have to attend to and work at mobile clinics.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2018-01-17
Found 11 reviews