Canada Life Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Canada Life President and COO Jeff Macoun
Jeff Macoun
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, low pay, lots of overtime(in 10 reviews)

  • "Locking in periods for career growth(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fund Accountant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment and benefits

    Cons

    A lot of turnover in the department

  2. "Very Happy"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disability Case Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, open to hear your needs, opportunities to improve yourself

    Cons

    High case loads, but this you have to learn to self manage and seek help if needed.

    Canada Life Response

    July 6, 2020Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate you highlighting your positive experience at work!

  3. "Management is lacking taking an interest in their staff"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Securities Administrator in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canada Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big brand name on your resume

    Cons

    No work life balance, no support from management

    Canada Life Response

    July 6, 2020Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Work-life balance throughout the organization is important to us. A strong culture that’s employee-focused is our priority. We are committed to creating a workplace environment that’s collaborative, engaging and fun for all. We encourage all employees to speak directly with their leaders on working together to ensure the job demands and expectations are realistic and manageable.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "It was okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payment Specialist in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Bonus is good. Not all companies offer bonuses. Wellness account is good. Team building activities are budgeted by the company. Canada Life is helpful and charitable to those in need.

    Cons

    Too much workload, lack of measure in distributing work load to employees. Some work hard, some don’t. And you are also being asked to do tasks that is not part of your job jeopardizing the quality of your true job.

    Canada Life Response

    May 26, 2020Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Work-life balance throughout the organization is important to us. A strong culture that’s employee-focused is our priority. We are committed to creating a workplace environment that’s collaborative, engaging and fun for all. We encourage you to speak directly with your leaders on working together to ensure the job demands and expectations are realistic and manageable and allow for greater interaction and better relationships with stakeholders.

  5. "Would recommend"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Processor in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full benefits starting from your first day of training, flexible hours, excellent work-life balance, great team members, positive environment, tons of opportunity for advancement, lots of company spirit, fun events for employees, great team mentality.

    Cons

    Very (!) high standards for quality and productivity, vacation time is given by seniority so forget getting time off for the holidays.

    Canada Life Response

    May 11, 2020Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate you highlighting your positive experience at work. Work-life balance throughout the organization is important to us. A strong culture that’s employee-focused is our priority. We are committed to creating a workplace environment that’s collaborative, engaging and fun for all. We encourage you to speak directly with your leaders on working together to ensure the job demands and expectations are realistic and manageable and allow for greater interaction and better relationships with stakeholders.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "no room for growth"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Coordinator in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canada Life full-time

    Pros

    nice people, good insurance coverage

    Cons

    work overload, unnecessary meetings, low pay

    Canada Life Response

    May 11, 2020Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our total value package for employees includes a range of options that help enhance our employees physical, mental and financial well-being including health and dental coverage, fitness centres, wellness allowances and more. We rolled out an updated compensation structure and introduced a new annual bonus program to be able to provide market competitive compensation. Employees now have a clear link between business and individual goals, and annual bonuses.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation is good but could be better

    Cons

    Slow career growth for junior employees

    Continue reading

    Canada Life Response

    March 9, 2020Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for your comments. Our total value package for employees includes a range of options that help enhance our employees physical, mental and financial well-being including health and dental coverage, fitness centres, wellness allowances and more. We rolled out an updated compensation structure and introduced a new annual bonus program to be able to provide market competitive compensation. Employees now have a clear link between business and individual goals, and annual bonuses.

  8. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits were amazing. People were great!

    Cons

    Changes that was happening within the company was stressful.

  9. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Great team. Excellent managers (very helpful)

    Cons

    None I can think of tbh

  10. "Work in Canada Life"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Specialist in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big and stable company

    Cons

    No compensate employees enough fro their work

    Continue reading

    Canada Life Response

    March 6, 2020Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for your feedback. We rolled out an updated compensation structure and introduced a new annual bonus program to be able to provide market competitive compensation. Employees now have a clear link between business and individual goals, and annual bonuses.

Found 299 reviews