Canada Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Canada Life Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Canada Life President and COO Jeff Macoun
Jeff Macoun
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, low pay, lots of overtime(in 9 reviews)

  • "Locking in periods for career growth(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment and benefits

    Cons

    A lot of turnover in the department

    Canada Life2020-02-17
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits were amazing. People were great!

    Cons

    Changes that was happening within the company was stressful.

    Canada Life2020-02-23
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Great team. Excellent managers (very helpful)

    Cons

    None I can think of tbh

    Canada Life2020-02-19
  4. "Fast Paced changing Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server Support in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -decent pay -competitive vacation entitlement -budgets for new tech to try -budgets for training that may or may not pan out -loads of overtime, if you like that sort of thing

    Cons

    - job security is not what it used to be for this Manitoba giant - financial company at the whim of tight market evaluations - large IT department that does not communicate well between teams

    Canada Life2020-02-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Used to a be a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canada Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    For the most part, you work with good people who want to do their best. Decent location Gym onsite, new cafeteria Work is for the most part interesting

    Cons

    It used to be a really good company. Management is over their head. Most promotions based on how long you've been there (and who's butt your kissing), not how qualified you are. New managers (i.e. all the wizards they brought in after the brutal 2017 re-org) still don't get it - and the knowledge base continues to shrink as more people realize they're better off elsewhere. Or just get frustrated with the discrimination, agism and sexism. Company still hasn't figured out their "transformation" - one of the worst processes ever undertaken. For the people who survived the cuts, it damaged trust and enthusiasm - something the company thinks will recover with pizza parties and corporate goodies. Promotions are wildly discriminatory - they've got completely overboard with trying to achieve "gender equality", often at the expense of real talent. Same with hiring, the company is currently addicted to the belief that you need to be a millennial to bring any value to the job. (just look at the photos on social media - other than Jeff Macoun and the advisors)

    Continue reading
    Canada Life2020-02-14
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company is changing and adapting to the needs of its customers and employees.

    Cons

    "Old-school" mentality continues to exist among some managers with 25+ years

    Canada Life2020-01-09
  7. "Canada Life Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Vacation time is good. Able to participate in SOP, pension and other Group investments.

    Cons

    Call center is frequently under staffed and can be extremely hectic and draining. Training is very long.

    Continue reading
    Canada Life2020-01-22

    Canada Life Response

    February 5, 2020Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for your feedback! In 2019, we made a huge investment in our technology – enabling us to provide better customer service while also helping to increase our employees’ job satisfaction. As we improve our technology and resources across Canada Life, we’re focused on building the productivity of customer service representative as they adjust to these new tools. To support our customer service representatives with this transition, we’ve added temporary staff to help manage the workload. We are continuously looking to improve and appreciate the feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. "Old school management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intake Team Leader in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits (group insurance, share plan, retirement plan), great company with great values.

    Cons

    Intake manager micro management and department not aligned with corporate view of work life balance, minimal opportunities for growth in Montreal.

    Continue reading
    Canada Life2020-01-07
  9. "Great company good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gym on-site, health and dental plans, RRSP, work environment

    Cons

    Salary and opportunities to grow

    Canada Life2020-01-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Siloed departments with old school management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People are great. There are positive changes being made but it will take a while to make a larger cultural shift away from traditional management styles.

    Cons

    Senior management is stuck in the past and not able to keep pace with fast changing customer and employee needs. Not enough communication and collaboration between departments and lack of an innovation mindset.

    Continue reading
    Canada Life2020-01-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 270 reviews