Canada Drives "sales floor" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Canada Drives Employee Reviews about "sales floor"

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Canada Drives CEO Cody Green
Cody Green
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have worked at Canada Drives for over two years(in 47 reviews)

  • "Free food, and transit is covered(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, Fair amount of pressure, Parking is very expensive in the building(in 26 reviews)

  • "I have no negative feedback about my life at Canada Drives(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "sales floor"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Shortsighted Outlook, Questionable Practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Drives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 100% travel compensation - Assortment of food selection in the kitchen + Awesome lunch room staff who are willing to try out different menus, soups, and salads - Ability to move up within the company and try out different positions - Young and energetic atmosphere; Very lively

    Cons

    - Ability to move up within the company: Heavy focus on 'Go-getters' and less on qualifications; No strictly regulated yearly performance reviews/Compensation (For non-Sales staff, from my experience) - A quick tour of the sales floor and you'll hear 'interesting' conversations between staff members and clients involving arguments and sometimes swearing; While I can't say with certainty that the arguments are... warranted, swearing across the floor is very prevalent; I have had clients complain of hearing this type of language on the phone (on more than one occasion). - Toxic culture: Training staff and management convincing 'fresh meat' that higher education is unnecessary, and selling them on the idea of making big bucks and less focus of how our products benefit the clients.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you have to constantly remind your staff to follow protocol, to clean up their work area so it doesn't look like a dump, and to threaten to fire all staff that smoke on the property because building management has filed multiple complaints, it may be important to investigate the a) the people you hire b) upper management that set up these rules & protocols. While over time I have witnessed an increase in... preventative measures and training courses, most of the rules are treated as guidelines. People who have been let go for misconduct get hired back, people who break rules get 'spoken to' with no further repercussions. The company needs to take a more preventative approach, instead of a reactive approach. The issues listed above are a few of the instances of long-existing problems that are just recently addressed in an almost decade-old company. I'm not sure how big Canada Drives really is as a financial institution in Canada, but I cannot see how the company can elevate itself (image wise) with the path it's currently taking. How do you expect clients to take the word of an Agent who tries to convince them that we are a legitimate service dealing with their credit, when it sounds like a club in the background, with uncensored music going full blast 24/7, and swearing from staff members (including managers)? This review is so long because I sincerely had a fruitful experience at my time here; It's just sad to see the people who actually put their head down and do the hard work get little recognition for it; Upper management should also understand that there are staff members who really are just good at what they do, and to compensate them for the length of time at the company (again, this is for non-sales staff members, from my experience). I'm sure most if not all staff members at the company are generally quite friendly and approachable, but it's the constant enabling of this behaviour that causes this rot to grow and grow. While I was given a great opportunity to work here and learned a great deal about credit services and sales products, I can't quite say I'm proud to be a member of Canada Drives.

    Show More
    Canada Drives2019-03-03
  2. Helpful (43)

    ""Helping hundreds of Canadians a day with their financial future""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Drives full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is the most lively and welcoming place to work. As soon as you walk in you are greeted with smiles by everyone in the office. The music is always bumping and everyone is always griding. If you are looking for a group of younger individuals who are all looking to work hard and become successful this is the place to work. Starting only about 10 years ago, there is so much room to grow in this company and... looking at the people who have been here long term everyone is so satisfied with the constant movement in the company. It is fast paced, and there is so much money to be made if you put in the time and effort and are eager to learn. Management is so eager to see everyone succeed and hold training almost daily to ensure we can find any shortcomings we may have. Located in the heart of coal harbor, there are so many places to go and eat if the sandwich and salad bar are not grabbing your eye at the office. The teams we work on all go out together and grab food and drinks. The money here is good, but we all stay for the company culture. The work we do here is also so fulfilling. Every day we are helping customers learn more about what has happened with their credit, how to avoid hurting their credit and help them improve it! We help Canadians all over the country with financing that they would otherwise be unable to acquire and at a reasonable interest rate. All of our loans are also set up to report to the Canadian credit bureaus so that our customers can build their credit up to the point where they can walk into a bank and qualify for prime loans at prime rates.

    Show More

    Cons

    The long hours can take a toll but the management here works so hard to take care of us and ensure we have what we need to succeed (they hand out energy drinks if the sales floor isn't as pumped as normal). The kitchen could have more options but it's nice having the opportunity to eat for free every day!

    Advice to Management

    You guys all work so hard to ensure we succeed, and you all have our backs. Keep crushing it every day!

    Canada Drives2018-03-24

    Canada Drives Response

    June 11, 2018HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we’re glad to hear your experience at Canada Drives has been a positive one. The CEO’s Michael Galpin and Cody Green have taken a lot of pride in the making this an inclusive work environment where everyone can reach their full potential. As a fast growing company we know we’re not perfect, but we really look to be better each day and are excited about the opportunities that are created for all of our employees as we build a world class company together.

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (29)

    "One way ticket."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Drives full-time

    Pros

    - Learn valuable skills in giving money to people who have demonstrated consistent inability to repay it, at 47% APR. - Intellectually challenging, opportunity to explore important social questions such as what the difference between "legal" and "ethical". - First hand experience of management sleight-of-hand where they promote celebration of Anti-Bullying Day; simultaneously running the entire company on... pervasive and systematic bullying. - While away the day rolling your eyes at 23 year old kids high-fiving each other's "fire hustle" while making fat stacks. They are so skilled and clever to be able to convince unemployed people or people with gambling problems, an elderly divorcee, indigenous people, unskilled immigrants and refugees, or anyone else with a 400 credit score to take a pile of cash via direct credit, it's inspiring.

    Show More

    Cons

    - In any other start up of this size, salaries that are $17/day above the BC poverty line come with equity. - "young culture": an excuse for your manager to yell and swear at you both in an open office; or via the company-wide online workflow/comms tool. - Constant threats of termination for reasons of varying reasonability. People disappear overnight; only to be replaced with 15-20 new disposable staff every... two weeks. - You will rarely speak to another human being; all workflow managed online; loud music on sales floor, everyone wearing headphones all day. Problems that could be sorted out in a simple conversation become massive text dramas. Very difficult develop rapport with anyone you work with - it's tougher than you might think. - Roster for Monday comes out on Friday. You have no ability to plan your life more than three days into the future; and don't think just because you worked five days this week they won't put you on the 6th and 7th day to start the "next" week. - Nobody who actually works at this company understands finance, credit or risk: they don't need to; the loans are not on the balance sheet. - A red flag would be in orientation they make a point of highlighting the "you must not disparage Canada Drives" clause in your contract - there's a reason. - All in all, I'm ashamed to have ever been associated with this company. People who like this company don't know any better. Anyone who knows better, leaves quickly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - You can keep telling new recruits "there will always be disgruntled people leaving bad reviews". Truth is, I'm not really that disgruntled: Canada Drives really is an awful place to work. - If you are going to write Glassdoor reviews yourselves, at least change the order of the dot points so it's a bit more believable.

    Canada Drives2018-03-21
  4. Helpful (14)

    "One of the best companies I've worked for, Just not the most organised."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Drives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My experience is from one of the two floors, specifically I.T / Design floor. Other than routine checkups etc on the Sales floor I have little experience on their procedures and practices. Perhaps that's a con? ~ Growth ~ Awesome Team ~ Competent CEO, Respectful & strong leadership ~ Great benefits ~ Great location ~ Flexibility ~ Relaxed environment ~ Interoffice employee engagement is excellent ~ Fun... place to work with great managers ~ If you want it, go get it attitude will get you far

    Show More

    Cons

    As mentioned before, my experience is from one of the two floors, specifically I.T / Design floor. Other than routine checkups etc on the Sales floor I have little experience on their procedures and practices. Perhaps that's a con? ~ Newish company, not much structure in the form of procedures, Excessive growth has left big holes that need to be filled, often by people covering multiple roles. ~ Not very open to... procedural changes (Sales floor), ONLY sales driven at the cost of efficiency and often stress. If it makes money, then it stays. ~ Sales floor is like a zoo, Loud offensive rap or hip hop music playing and people yelling and screaming, best way to describe it is like Wolf of Wall Street. It's not necessarily a bad thing, just a specific thing that new staff should be aware of. ~ Transit is not 100% reimbursed... tax is charged on that reimbursement. It would have been nice if the company completed the tax obligations themselves instead of handing that off to their employees, Keep that in mind because you'll need to keep your receipts to claim at the end of the financial year. ~ I know this is probably not CanadaDrives fault however, Myself and others have had mega issues with MSP. It's been almost 9 months and I still don't have MSP or an update. ~ Lunch is provided, yes, however there is no alteration to the food each day and it quickly becomes the last thing you want to eat and you'll end up buying lunch anyway. ~ Toilets are quite disgusting. It appears a minority of the staff were not toilet trained.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, The floor 5 management is on point and is integral to the businesses success. Consider some changes in procedure, even if it upsets staff, it'll be best for the company in the long run.

    Canada Drives2017-07-26
  5. Helpful (98)

    "Honestly a scam that preys on the financially unstable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales - Personal Loans in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Drives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, 50% of transit costs, buzzing sales floor,

    Cons

    The product they sell is a scam. I left when i couldn't deal with what i was doing morally, you ruin peoples lives here. This is how it works. The loan has an interest rate of 46.96%. They specifically target people with poor credit because they're more likely to need cash. Kind of like how PayDay Loans work. They "report" to the credit bureau, so people can see that they've been making or missing payments on... their credit report, but it does absolutely nothing for their actual credit rating. These are people with poor credit. They have enough problems as it is. They prey on their need for money and use hard-closing sales tactics to convince them to take the loan. The interest rate is 46.96%, you think someone with horrible credit can pay that loan off? Hell no. But it's not about peoples lives here, it's about taking their money. They jam a cult-like rabid obsession over money into their trainee's, so that once they hit the sales floor they won't mind working 10-12 hour days. They use the "carrot on a stick" method constantly, bringing up people who have cleared 10-12k a month as a real life example to make it seem like if you put in the time, you'll get there one day too. You won't. If you want to get better at sales, work here. They teach you to sell through trial by fire and it's honestly an effective way to learn. If you don't, you'll just get fired anyway.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    How can you people sleep at night, preying on the financially unstable with a 46.96% loan and teaching money-hungry kids to do the same.

    Canada Drives2017-05-30

    Canada Drives Response

    September 13, 2018Founder & Co-CEO

    I appreciate the time you took to leave a review. I’d value the opportunity to discuss your experience working at Canada Drives if you’d be willing. Feel free to email me at cody@canadadrives.ca and we can discuss via phone or email if you prefer. I’m happy to compensate you for your time. Thanks, Cody

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (4)

    "An awesome place to work, but still room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Level IT Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Drives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What do I like about working at Canada Drives? First and foremost, I'd have to say the people that I directly work with in the development and IT space. The head of IT is extremely easy to talk to, and approachable, which to me, means that if/when any issues arise, it's easy to just go an have a casual chat with him about it without worrying about being shot down or anything like that. The actual team itself is..., for the most part, filled with extremely capable and talented people, who are also easy to chat with and easy to get along with. The work environment is quite casual--jeans and t-shirts are fine, which works out well for me. The work, at least in my space, is always in a state of flux, which means that I'm not getting bored. As the company grows (which it has by roughly 200 people since I've started), new challenges arise, and management is generally pretty good about giving me the freedom to tackle those challenges without too much interference. From an IT perspective, I think it's extremely important to highlight the office is split between two floors. Yes, there are 300+ people working here. No, there are not sales people on the phone all day in your ear if you're in IT or development. There was a transition period where that was the case, and my review would be singing a very different tune if that was still the case. The floor with the IT staff is much quieter, and a much more suitable environment for development.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working hours are long, and inflexible. You're expected (and required) to work from 8am - 5pm, which means that over the course of a year you're putting in roughly an extra month worth of work than you would working elsewhere, and being IT, this overtime is worked into your salary and not required to be calculated in addition to your salary. Management is quite strict about working in the office, so... telecommuting is a no-go zone, which is unfortunate considering that aside from meetings *all* of my work could be completed from anywhere. Desks are really small for what we do in IT. People have two monitors. People need to have room to be able to write notes, or to also have drawers to place personal items. A small 4 foot by 2 foot desk feels super claustrophobic when a foot is taken up by drawers, and there are two monitors on a desk. There are frequent shout-outs and congratulating for people being promoted upstairs in sales/CSR roles, but accomplishments of people inside of IT are swept under the rug and seldom acknowledged, let alone company-wide. I can't think of a single occurrence of anyone in IT being congratulated for being promoted, or completing an absolutely gargantuan task like completely redoing the entire company network without any downtime or loss of productivity on the sales floor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I love working here. I really do. If there were two things that would sway me to work for another company, it would be telecommuting, and flexible hours. If I'm feeling a bit under the weather, to me, given I can do all of my work from home, it would make sense to stay home and work from home rather than to come into the office and get other people sick. If I'm done my assigned tasks, I'm just sitting... at my desk. Yes, I can (and do) use this time to learn more about my field, but it would be infinitely more rewarding to be able to do this from the freedom of my own home, free of other distractions. If I'm burnt out, I'm just sitting at my desk. Yes, I'm still doing what's getting assigned to me, but I'm feeling worse and worse about it. Even something as simple as mixing it up and working from home a couple of days a week as a different environment could be enough to pull someone out from a slump. A happy worker is a productive worker. I understand there are risks associated with worrying whether people are actually working from home, but when all of our tasks are tracked inside of Jira, accountability is there, and it's pretty easy to see who's actually working and who's not.

    Show More
    Canada Drives2017-06-28
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing vibes!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative - Credit Solution 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Drives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are super friendly and always willing to help get you to where you want to be. As for management upper management is super supportive and catches flaws early to help you develop faster. Team leaders are day to day support with positive feed back and constructive criticism to help you move to where you want to be. Product interesting and something never taught in school. Amazing energy throughout sales... office. Anyone looking for a challenge and potential to make some serious money this job is ideal for you! Anyone with no self esteem and a bad attitude don't even bother a quiet 9-5 office job is prob better for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's a lot of whining going on in these reviews. It's a sales job and it is very challenging and if you're weak you shouldn't even bother applying cause they want strong confident individuals who know hard work and they WILL compensate you heavily for it. There was also whining about training? This training course is probably the most in depth training I've ever had. Come to class, pay attention, and you... will succeed it's designed to help you not to make you miserable which is most likely why those who DONT take training seriously fail on the sales floor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do!

    Canada Drives2017-02-08
Found 197 reviews