Canada Drives Employee Reviews about "loans"

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Canada Drives Founder and Co-CEO Cody Green
Cody Green
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Canada Drives is always encouraging its employees to succeed in their area of expertise(in 53 reviews)

  • "The company also provides many benefits such as free food and subsidies for transit(in 51 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours -performance based so if you dont do well youre gone - can be stressful -expect you to be there or you lose out on bonuses(in 36 reviews)

  • "You’re selling 46% interest loans(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "loans"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      not recommend

      Sep 4, 2019 - Loan Specialist in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free food which worth $5-10 perday

      Cons

      this company is feed by the blood of greedy stupid people,crazy high interest Loan, man , that’s such a good business if I have no heart

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Before applying, please read this, for your own sake.

      Dec 3, 2019 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coffee is free and constantly made

      Cons

      (All of this is from my own subjective experience, everything stated here has been personally experienced, so the rumor mill will be omitted.) I began work with this company in January, starting out as a CSR, initially I believed it to be a great opportunity as a starting sales rep. I was half right. The trouble began when I moved to their automotive division, I was a personal loans CSR before. I was intrigued by the promise of better pay (that promise was met for the record, the pay was marginally better) so I signed up. The office change was the first issue, it was further away from me and the hours were later, I knew this going in so I wont fault them. The pressure put on the personnel there was INSANE, there would be 2 DAILY meetings about nothing in particular and then we would hear grief about how we weren't meeting call count (despite them urging us to make long term customer-representative relationships) so staying late was likely. On top of that when I became very VERY sick and called in I found a storm of messages from my team lead, blaming me for "losing motivation" and that they would "see me soon" I confirmed with his manager and they backed them up. I didn't want to find myself unemployed so i took a cab (too woozy to walk to the bus stop in that state) to the office and sat there for 2 or so hours, almost fainting until I was reluctantly sent home after my at the time team lead blamed me for being sick and "not taking care of myself". Frankly I was stunned. Immediately I requested a transfer back to my initial department. HR shuffled their feet significantly and did nothing to pursue the issues I raised, and upon my return I was sternly warned not to distribute negative information about the automotive department, effectively silencing me. Rendering me incapable of warning my colleagues about the undisclosed pressures and practices they would face if they transferred. After a few more months of constant pressure, unrealistic expectations and extreme micromanaging I quit. I sincerely hope you take this into consideration before applying.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A place that only rewards those that work hard put time in. Personal Loans department.

      Feb 7, 2019 - Sales Representative Personal Loans in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Breakfast is varied alot and free lunch as well. - An environment that will accept you as you are and help you only if you show that you want make money. -They don't sweat the little stuff that doesn't affect your work. If you can sit down and put in time the rewards are easy to see. - The management will always give in as much effort to help you as you put in. They trust you and will go to the bat for you. -The money is ridiculously easy to get and the benefits are instant even before you first 3 months. -The first month or 2 is harder to get in to the flow especially if you don't come in with extra time -If you come in early or on a Saturday once in a while you will get the better leads and you will get help you just need to ask for it.If you don't ask or show you have interest you will get nothing. - Its not a struneus job you sit in a seat and talk to people that's it. -The health benefits are insanely good - You get to choose when you want to eat. As long as you hit call time you can take your time if you want but most people will choose to make money because as long as you stay on the dialer you will help out people and you will be able to make good money. -You get to help people get loans to better their lives because most of the customers are people that need a loan and no one will trust them enough to give a loan. We help out people that need loans and help out those that don't even understand how badly they need the loan to help their credit. -We help those have only been relying on the Money mart loans that have 600% interest and are stuck in a cycle of debt. The loans we give them are a way to get out of that cycle and have much better interest rates. - Extremely fast growth and the opportunity to move up is everywhere and can easily be attained even within the first 3 months. - You will not get fired unless you stop caring and you start being rude. If people like you and you produce results or even if you show that you have any effort being put in they will not let you go and the management will be there for you so you can learn. -Free monthly buss passes and Free monthly team bonding where its at times normal to eat more at places that you would never normally eat at expensive places.

      Cons

      - Long hours but that's apart of the job. They tell you in the interview this ain't a job you get into if you want to have all the time in the world. - Sometimes you will be extremely busy to the point you might miss lunch but that is your choice, no one will force you that will be something you choose without realizing it because you want to make good money. - Most people understand that when you come in you choose which department you want to go to in Canada Drives, The personal loans department where you will not have any real work life/ balance but make a lot of money or the other loan department that you have a Work /life balance and the money is not as much. - You will develop this urge where you feel like if you are not in the office than someone else is going to steal your file or that you could be doing something more productive by being in the office on the dialer. It will consume you at times if you don't learn to separate that urge and fear

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      terrible

      Oct 18, 2019 - Sales in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free food (same stuff all the time)

      Cons

      music is loud feels like your in a club not a workplace very cliquey super unprofessional feels like a scam if you can't get them a loan you send to another department which gives a credit building loan which means they have to pay Canada drives and then they get the money. management sucks turn over rate is insane

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people... terrible product

      Aug 19, 2019 - Sales in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Managers care about your success. Large volume of leads.

      Cons

      You’re selling 46% interest loans.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Honestly a scam that preys on the financially unstable.

      May 30, 2017 - Sales - Personal Loans in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food, 50% of transit costs, buzzing sales floor,

      Cons

      The product they sell is a scam. I left when i couldn't deal with what i was doing morally, you ruin peoples lives here. This is how it works. The loan has an interest rate of 46.96%. They specifically target people with poor credit because they're more likely to need cash. Kind of like how PayDay Loans work. They "report" to the credit bureau, so people can see that they've been making or missing payments on their credit report, but it does absolutely nothing for their actual credit rating. These are people with poor credit. They have enough problems as it is. They prey on their need for money and use hard-closing sales tactics to convince them to take the loan. The interest rate is 46.96%, you think someone with horrible credit can pay that loan off? Hell no. But it's not about peoples lives here, it's about taking their money. They jam a cult-like rabid obsession over money into their trainee's, so that once they hit the sales floor they won't mind working 10-12 hour days. They use the "carrot on a stick" method constantly, bringing up people who have cleared 10-12k a month as a real life example to make it seem like if you put in the time, you'll get there one day too. You won't. If you want to get better at sales, work here. They teach you to sell through trial by fire and it's honestly an effective way to learn. If you don't, you'll just get fired anyway.

      Continue reading
      114 people found this review helpful

      Canada Drives Response

      Founder & Co-CEO

      I appreciate the time you took to leave a review. I’d value the opportunity to discuss your experience working at Canada Drives if you’d be willing. Feel free to email me at cody@canadadrives.ca and we can discuss via phone or email if you prefer. I’m happy to compensate you for your time. Thanks, Cody

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      CSR

      Nov 5, 2018 - Customer Service Representative in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Foods free they pay transit bus fare

      Cons

      Its all a massive scam to ruin peoples lives they try evey angle to get you to buy a car at high interest if that does not work then they shove master cards and then refresh financial a pree paid loan lol at 46 percent.

      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Selling misery, CEO (mike galpin) needs to stop overcompensating

      Sep 22, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good money if you can stand the abuse. Lower management is pretty good but don't invest time in anyone they don't see as worth it (until you start doing well)

      Cons

      CEO is unstable to say the least. He's gone off his rails and is firing people for the most trivial things. Even put out a list of fireable offences including "urinating in a stall while standing" and "recycling improperly". He's a kid (I think he's 30) so I guess he's learning as he goes. Treating ppl poorly or with disrespect is very openly excepted. Most of the job involves setting ppl up with predatory loans. These loans are designed for you to fail. People lose their houses and their families. They sell people hope (paint the dream) on an positive outcome that is never going to happen. Also, majority of these positive reviews are written by HR and they ask staff and management to post

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Stay away! Waste of time, effort and life!

      Feb 2, 2017 - Personal Loans/Credit Loans in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent lower management. Fully stocked fridge. Subsidized transit, if you transit. Friendly coworkers. If you're lucky, you might get MSP.

      Cons

      INTERVIEW: They immediately require two pieces of identification. Upon arrival they demand for you to take a photo of both your identifications, front and back. Along with a "selfie". Found this process intrusive to say the least. Especially since you haven't even been hired. TRAINING: A week long of hell. They expect you to arrive 30 minutes early before shift. Then stay an extra hour or so to try and hit your targets. A lot of the guys in management are perverts who thinks it's appropriate to hit on me any chance they had. WORK: Awful. Product is not what they described in training. Biggest scam! 45% interest on loans. Way to take advantage of those in need! These people are parasites! I don't know how they sleep at night taking advantage on those who need real help. One of the managers told me "these people [prospect clients] are the stupidest people on earth! Let them know that!" Umh, what?? Found a job, leaving this scam of a company in a week to start my new job at an honest company.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible company that preys on Canadians that are in need of Cash

      Sep 14, 2017 - Personal Loans 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food and Transit. Downtown location is close to the skytrain station. But that's just about it.

      Cons

      The company is a scam, calling Canadians who are already in debt and selling them loans at a ridiculous rate of 46.96%. what happens to the people who take these loans and then cannot pay it back? This company does not help Canadians. They only think about themselves and their pockets. Managers during training only talk about how much money you can make, but in reality, it's harder to reach. You're not even allowed to eat outside the office. They also force you to work overtime without pay. And if you don't, they don't favour you at all. The CEO is also a snob and talks about his million dollar condo downtown. He does not care about his employees.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Canada Drives Job Seekers

    Vehicle Delivery Driver
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Logistics and Supply Chain Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Intermediate Graphic Designer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Canada Drives? Share Your Experiences

    Canada Drives logo
    or