Cambian Group "cambian" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cambian Group Employee Reviews about "cambian"

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
37%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Cambian Group CEO  Saleem Asaria
Saleem Asaria
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Watching young people grow in self confidence and gain new lifeskills(in 13 reviews)

  • "Feel part of a family working at Cambian(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wouldn’t hesitate for others looking for this type of role to join Cambian(in 15 reviews)

  • "No progression also long hours, college changed direction(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cambian"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fantastic manager and colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Wisbech, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been with the company 12 months and I’m thoroughly enjoying it. The team are fantastic and really supportive. The job is tough at time’s and the kids can be challenging but it’s so rewarding too. I feel humbled and inspired to look after others and be a part of their journey. The pay is actually really competitive despite other people’s views. I think you have to remember that the industry is low paid. The induction was amazing and I really felt prepared when I started the job. I’ve also had good training throughout the year too.

    Cons

    The perks could be better but generally it’s good. I wouldn’t hesitate for others looking for this type of role to join Cambian. It’s tough and very challenging but with fantastic teams and people around you it’s worth it.

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2019-11-08

    Cambian Group Response

    November 11, 2019Deputy Director of People

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Sounds like you%E2%80%99ve had a really positive experience with us. We%E2%80%99re currently reviewing our induction to see how we can make it even better, if you want to be part of this review please get in touch at Michael.Fletcher@cambiangroup.com

    Continue reading
  2. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Child Care Worker in Blackpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambian Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extensive training programme that leaves you with all the knowledge you need, supportive management who you can talk to about anything, paperwork is easy to complete and everything is easy to understand, shift patterns can be discussed and you are able to seek support through Cambian if necessary.

    Cons

    Long shifts but you know that from the advert so should be prepared, sometimes due to teams rotating, some small details can be lost in communication but in general there's no big downside.

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2019-09-14

    Cambian Group Response

    October 8, 2019Deputy Director of People

    Thanks for the fantastic feedback. Please do pass this on to your manager if you haven't already - I'm sure it would be great to hear! Michael

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Depressing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rcw in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - I literally can't think of any pros other than getting paid at the end of the month

    Cons

    - Offered no real support that felt consistent; team leaders all had their own way of working, so if you inexperienced, expect to be undermined and scrutinised because while doing something one way would be acceptable to one team leader, it won't be to another. - Office politics make a hard job that should be focused on providing the children with adequate care unbearable. Backbitting, lies, pettiness and things being blown out of proportion and going much further than it needs to be is the norm. Extremely toxic work culture. Was directly told by a Senior that in this job you need to 'look out for yourself' and try make others look bad to get ahead. You'd think this is Wallstreet, not somewhere that you're supposed to provide children with a positive environment to live in. You best be part of the 'clique' or you're absolute toast. - Extremely low staff morale. I have been to several different homes in the region, and all staff seem to hate their jobs, with the same toxic atmosphere lingering in the workplace. Violent assaults are common and downplayed the majority of the time. If you like sleep, don't take this job. I've done several 24+ shifts with no sleep, then gone home exhausted, essentially wasting your day off. Not good if you have kids of your own. - No concern for safeguarding. Being left alone with children known for violence and situations that leave you wide open to allegations. The police were regulars to the home I worked at, and were appalled at how vulnerable staff were and that the company's practices were very questionable. - Bad pay. For the amount of responsibility you hold and vulnerability you'll experience, you might as well flip burgers for the same wage, care free. Want to have some career progression at Cambian? Don't work hard, just be friends out of work with the manager and you'll be climbing the ladder in no time.

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2019-06-14

    Cambian Group Response

    August 19, 2019Deputy Director of People

    Thanks for taking the time to share views of your experience with us. Although difficult to read, it's important that we understand where we need to focus our energy to improve things for our staff and young people. Perhaps you could drop me a note at Michael.Fletcher@cambiangroup.com so that I can better understanding the detail of your comments? Kind regards, Michael

    Continue reading
  4. "supportive, fun, challenging and a worthwhile job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Great Dunmow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work with a great team in a big region for Cambian, we work together and support each other, through thick and thin. We are a big family and would never be unsupportive or accept anything but the best for each other and those we care for.

    Cons

    Yes the hours can be long, yes sometimes it’s really challenging, yes money could always be better.....but the pros always outweigh the cons.

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2019-02-07

    Cambian Group Response

    May 10, 2019Deputy Director of People

    Thank you for taking the time to do a review. It's great to hear all the positive things you experience at work and the areas we need to focus on. Thanks also for the quote from Richard Branson; I used to work for Virgin for 12 years and this particular quote is one which sticks in my mind. There are lots of things that we're focusing on as a company to help improve the training package and help people feel valued at work. We've got lots to do but we're working on it! Thanks and best wishes, Michael

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Corrupt management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Rcw in Preston, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked for cambian for over two years before making the decision to leave i Had amazing relationships with the children and some staff I really loved my job it’s unfortunate I had to leave due to some of the things I was experiencing.

    Cons

    I made the decision to leave after home I worked at got worse short staffed management never helped out expected us to be superheroes and do everything they couldn’t be arsed to do children suffered because of this and incidents then became more likely to happen incidents got more severe management sat upstairs gossiping in the office and going out for lunches and Costa and moaning when things weren’t done instead of helping staff out I also raised concerns which were ignored time and time again which is why I left

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2019-01-28

    Cambian Group Response

    May 10, 2019Deputy Director of People

    I'm sorry to read of your experience with Cambian. I would be interested to learn some more of what went wrong for you and how we can put it right for others in the group and within your area. My email is Michael.Fletcher@cambiangroup.com Kind regards, Michael

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Worst company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rcw in Stansted, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Children are fantastic and some of the staff but not all

    Cons

    Bad rates of pay! Treated like dirt by home mangers if you don't lick there behind! Plus support is non existent. Made to feel horrible if you speak up about things you don't agree with. This is by far the worst company and I feel sorry for the kids that have to live in cambian houses. And not I would not like to ring to give you advice and how bad your company is as it should be shut down ASAP

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2019-01-15

    Cambian Group Response

    May 10, 2019Deputy Director of People

    Thanks for sharing your review. You've raised some concerning points about your time with us and I'd like to understand more about them. If possible, I would be grateful if you could contact meat Michael.Fletcher@cambiangroup.com and we can discuss confidentially the concerns that you have. Best. Michael

    Continue reading
  7. "Not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cambian Group

    Pros

    Many people coming in at entry level are doing their best for Cambian.

    Cons

    Lack of respect for staff by management, leading to high staff turnover. Being assaulted seen as a normal part of work, having to stay and finish paperwork and find lost items after long shifts, management reneging on word. (Keep your receipts until you've been paid for goods too!)

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2018-12-13
  8. Helpful (6)

    "The Rats are Leaving a Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Shrewsbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the schools are pretty good

    Cons

    Safeguarding frequently flaunted and then covered up. Occupancy trumps everything else, so filling beds is more important than anything else. The matching process is a farce. Home managers are often out of their depth as the Group cannot recruit anyone with experience as they have enough sense to avoid the company. The CEO is oblivious to what happens on the shop floor, yet prances around like he’s the be all and end all. Any company that changes hands and branding as often as Cambian has is worth avoiding.

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2018-09-14

    Cambian Group Response

    October 31, 2018Deputy Director of People

    I'm sorry to read of your negative experience of Cambian. While I don't agree that the company prioritise occupancy over children and staff I'd be keen to understand a bit more about why you have had sucha negative experience of Cambian. My email is michael.fletcher@cambiangroup.com Regards, Michael

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Rcw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rcw in Shrewsbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only reason I keep going is because I am passionate about my work .I am in somewhat hope that the wages will reflect our work and maybe cambian could keep there staff .

    Cons

    Being abused on a daily basis isn't much fun when you're trying to help young people. The hours that are expected of you when other staff ring in sick due to being tired or injured from previous shifts is not acceptable to no human .

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2018-08-12

    Cambian Group Response

    October 31, 2018Deputy Director of People

    Thanks for your review. I recognise that your role as an RCW can be very challenging at times and I'm pleased to read of your passion about the work you do. I'd be really interested in hearing more about how we can put things right and to understand specifically what concerns you. It's really important that we receive this feedback so that we can address them. If you would be willing to speak to me in confidence please contact me at michael.fletcher@cambiangroup.com Kind regards, Michael

    Continue reading
  10. "Support Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time

    Pros

    Great staff team Manager is very supportive Feel part of a family working at Cambian

    Cons

    Would love some more development.

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2018-05-21

    Cambian Group Response

    October 31, 2018Deputy Director of People

    Great to read of your positive experience, thank you for sharing. FYI we are looking at further investment in Learning and Developing so watch this space! Best, Michael

    Continue reading
Found 26 reviews