Calgary Laboratory Services Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Calgary Laboratory Services Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
67%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Calgary Laboratory Services Interim Board Chair Mauro Chies (no image)
Mauro Chies
5 Ratings
  1. "Lab Information Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Information Clerk in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Calgary Laboratory Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Benefits - Flexible Spending Plan - Employer pays all premiums, pension Great hours - 3 days off a week

    Cons

    Could get tedious saying the same script over and over to patients calling in to book appointments at labs. Average phone call was to be 2 mins 30 seconds which I found hard to maintain without being cold towards patients

    Advice to Management

    None really, only left the company as I moved to Ontario. Was the best job I've ever had

    Calgary Laboratory Services2017-07-26
  2. "Poor morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Calgary Laboratory Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Caring lab staff, patient centred

    Cons

    Poor engagement and ineffective executive. It used to be so much more efficient until AHS took over.

    Calgary Laboratory Services2019-10-07
  3. "Practicum Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Calgary Laboratory Services

    Pros

    Great staff. Friendly and supportive. Worked at the DSC in Brentwood. This is an amazing location with a nice view and closer to C-Train station.

    Cons

    Can be quiet sometimes and boring but also good for focus the other times.

    Calgary Laboratory Services2018-10-11
  4. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Calgary Laboratory Services full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good front line staff, unionized environment

    Cons

    Most of the managers are grade 12th only, its more like old women's club. Lack of leadership, fear and retaliation often tools as used.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers with minimum bachelor's degree, its not industry standard to pay $90 to grade 12th education. Listen to front line staff and same benefits should be offered to management and front line staff.

    Calgary Laboratory Services2018-08-09
  5. "Medical Lab Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lab Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Calgary Laboratory Services for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work at Great teamwork

    Cons

    Just a little far from my home.. Parking is expensive

    Calgary Laboratory Services2017-11-01
  6. "Summer Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Calgary Laboratory Services

    Pros

    -Excellent staff to work with -Fast paced learning

    Cons

    Little work available for interns

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Calgary Laboratory Services2017-03-08
  7. "Lab assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Calgary Laboratory Services part-time

    Pros

    Fast paced See different people all the time Sometimes you work as a team Lots of room for advancement

    Cons

    Hospital- you get sick too much Some patients are crazy Hard to read doctors writing Lots of walking and standing

    Advice to Management

    Train your employees more thoroughly for the computer systems.

    Calgary Laboratory Services2017-03-17
  8. "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Calgary Laboratory Services

    Pros

    Good benefits,opportunity for overtime

    Cons

    Alberta health services has no interest in the front line workers. Over worked and underpaid.

    Calgary Laboratory Services2017-01-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Hospital Laboratory Assistant position review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Calgary Laboratory Services part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional experiences and learning of the hospital environment. Get to meet wonderful people and make a definite positive change in the health of many individuals.

    Cons

    Company is, like much of the health service, over-managed and the hospital is an extremely stressful, plolitical and often socially toxic environment to work in.

    Advice to Management

    Need to listen to the lower-level employees that are doing the work more than letting those that have no familiarity what-so-ever with the day-to-day work make major decisions.

    Calgary Laboratory Services2016-11-28
  10. "Calgary Lab Service Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calgary Laboratory Services

    Pros

    Great People Large but still feels small and personal, Easy to talk with People at all levels and Great Relationships

    Cons

    Salaries do not reflect value and contriubutuoin to the organization. Salaries based on Govt inabilities

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people

    Calgary Laboratory Services2016-07-23
Found 15 reviews