Cactus Club Cafe Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cactus Club Cafe Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Cactus Club Cafe President Richard Jaffray (no image)
Richard Jaffray
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "always busy, great people, room for growth(in 20 reviews)

  • "The people are incredibly fun and it’s a fast paced work environment(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "The long hours and management can sometimes by disorganized(in 27 reviews)

  • "Pay isn't great, and there are no benefits if you're not in management(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cactus Club Cafe part-time

    Pros

    Wonderful culture and good pay for a host

    Cons

    Late nights, competitive to move up

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-11-28
  2. "Very good atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 

    I worked at Cactus Club Cafe full-time

    Pros

    good atmosphere and good tip

    Cons

    long hours challenging job management not great

    Cactus Club Cafe2020-01-12
  3. "Great Work Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Richmond, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Club Cafe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great staff -Good Food -Awesome work enviroment

    Cons

    -None that I can think of.

    Cactus Club Cafe2020-01-07
  4. "Flexible Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in West Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cactus Club Cafe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hours are usually pretty flexible and management usually tries to help you get the time you request on/off. Plenty of upward movement into training or management positions

    Cons

    Low Wage and mandatory strict dress code

    Cactus Club Cafe2020-01-05
  5. "Best Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Club Cafe part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best job I had as a student! Flexible schedules, work is fun to go into, the employees just felt like one big family.

    Cons

    The guests can sometimes get out of control.

    Advice to Management

    Watch who you put into salary management.

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-12-22
  6. "Good money, not great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bartender in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cactus Club Cafe part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good locations, high quality food and drinks

    Cons

    Management is young and inexperienced, higher ups rarely care about making changes to support efficiency

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff and actually do something to help make life easier

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-12-31
  7. "Jr sous chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Sous Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Club Cafe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are outstanding at developing individuals to gain leadership skills and etc. Company is growing.

    Cons

    Pay is just average unless you go higher up in management level.

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-12-14
  8. "Best first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Club Cafe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and managers! And they really know how to make you feel at home.

    Cons

    They do not have too much consideration for your availability as well as barely giving breaks to eat and use the restroom

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-12-05
  9. "Avoid if you can, or work part-time when in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Club Cafe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you work with 50% off food on the day you work

    Cons

    Long hours Lack of communication Unprofessional work environment Favouritism

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the hard work, give feedback to employees, and most importantly don't have relationships with employees outside of work, be fair.

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-12-17
  10. "Great training and good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Cactus Club Cafe

    Pros

    Extensive training. They take themselves seriously And you are forced to do so as well. I worked at the coal Harbour location and, being the flag ship restaurant of their chain, the work was intense but rewarding.

    Cons

    On one or two occasions I had to deal with some rude chefs and managers. However, within the restaurant business I think that you’ll find this in most places.

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-11-28
Found 249 reviews