CWS Apartment Homes Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 178 reviews

3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
CWS Apartment Homes President Gary Carmell
Gary Carmell
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent core values, support system and structure(in 11 reviews)

  • "They have a paid training program which is great for those new to the industry(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can be very very slow leasing depending on the property you work at(in 12 reviews)

  • "Could use more clear direction from upper management(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good, Safe place to work

      Jan 13, 2021 - Leasing Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good safety during covid. Staggered schedules and no change in pay. Provides training for each role. $1000 referral program. Healthcare plan costs have NOT gone up which is amazing! I like their Bridge program which allows employees to donate their time and receive monies to give back to charities of their choice. They also give $100 fitness bucks each year, a cell phone stipend during covid, and have an internal YouEarned It program to recognize team members.

      Cons

      CWS has a dress code that requires us to pay a portion each month. I have sooo much money stored up and the clothes are not that great. Even once you accumulate enough clothing to wear in the office, you still have to keep contributing. We feel this is a big waste of money. Rewards for contests are improving. Instead of swag bags with typical company prizes like tshirts and notebooks, we have the chance to win cool tech prizes or paid days off. Some people or offices seem to receive raises and other people only get 40 cents after two years. Working with difficult residents is challenging and I have seen numerous times when my CD makes sounds decisions regarding those difficult residents, but upper management or Risk will override the decision and let the offender get what they want. I know it’s because of not wanting a bad review or causing a scene, but it is difficult to see people get away with so much and not have the upper management’s support. They are not in the trenches like the office team.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      CWS Apartment Homes Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for sharing this review and providing our company with feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoy being a member of our team and like many of our employee benefits! We try our best to offer competitive pay and incentives to our employees and our leadership team evaluates them regularly. We appreciate all the advice you provided, and we will share your feedback with leadership. Please know that we value honest feedback as it helps us understand what we’re doing well as a company and were we can improve. Thank you!

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company!

      Nov 12, 2020 - Community Director in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Community Director relationships Great salary and benefits Great employee relationships

      Cons

      Could use more clear direction from upper management LOTS of reports all the time Could use better support from marketing team for sure

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CWS Apartment Homes Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of our company! We are happy to hear that there was so much you liked while working with us! We appreciate your advice regarding marketing, the number of reports required and direction from management, and we will certainly pass this along to leadership for areas of improvement.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Assistant Community Director

      Jul 24, 2019 - Assistant Community Director in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of training and support from colleagues and upper management. This company values work life balance. Everyone is always on the same page and know the same information. You can rely on anyone for help possibly due to all the training provided. Best management company I’ve ever worked for!

      Cons

      Increase lease incentives Reduce sales meetings from monthly to quarterly

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CWS Apartment Homes Response

      People Services

      Thank you for such a great review of CWS! We are happy to see our training program is valuable to you, and that you experience a healthy work life balance. The way you describe your experience working with us makes us so proud to be a part of your life/work family! We are always striving to be better as a company and will share your input with leadership. We look forward to your continued success with us!

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      10 Years & Counting!

      May 1, 2019 - Community Director in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      **Great benefits and pay! Sure, you can find places that pay a little more if you really want to, but CWS has competitive pay and are always comparing to other companies to make sure they are providing the best pay possible for all positions. **LOTS of training! The training and education at CWS is ongoing and actually worth it! CWS does not weigh you down with cookie cutter classes from a 3rd party source. They have an education department that rolls out new policies when needed and do a great job of making sure each team member is on board! Not too many surprises, which is nice. **CWS has a high focus on culture! We have monthly sales meetings with Marketing where we get together as an entire region. This includes Leasing, Asst. Managers, and Managers. We are able to get to know each other and depend on each other as resources and mentors within our own company! **High Level of Appreciation & Recognition! I am constantly praised and told how I am improving my community and CWS as a company. Even when there are areas that require more focus or something didn't work out as planned, CWS views these situations as learning opportunities not as disciplinary moments. **Lots of growth! I started out in the industry with CWS 10 years ago and have grown within this company. Others have left and, more times than not, come back! Or try to at least. The company, it's self, is growing as well!

      Cons

      Just like with any company, there are times where I wish the reins were a little looser. However, I do understand that consistency within the company is important for it's success. You do have to get approval from a Regional or higher up for any sort of rent edit, even if it is due to a technical error. They also have semi-annual audits that happen remotely, without notice. Of course, this helps everyone be consistent at all times since you never know when it's going to happen, but it can be frustrating if you had a crazy or unique day. Sometimes resident issues or other items become more important than completing a renewal packet in OneSite and if it happens to be that one day you're being audited, well you're out of luck! If we got a 24 hour notice, at least we could have a short period of time to make sure those small items were addressed. 99% of upper management is great! But there are a few people who are very "reactionary." If an owner or partner has a question, it seems that instead of providing them with a simple answer we go out of our way to provide them with a solution they didn't ask for or a spreadsheet that provides them with extensive/additional information that wasn't asked for. Trust me, I get it! Owners & partners are special and to be respected on a whole different level, but if they ask us to jump, let's ask "how high?" and not create a spreadsheet to show how high, far, and long each person jumped. Our time is valuable!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      CWS Apartment Homes Response

      People Services

      We need to thank you twice! First, for more than 10 years of service, and then for such an awesome review. We love that you have so many great things to say about CWS Apartment Homes and that you feel our culture in your everyday interactions. We are always looking for ways to improve overall, and also in specific areas. We thank you for your honest feedback about ways that we can improve and we will be sharing your insight with the appropriate people. We appreciate you going out of your way to provide us with detailed information about your experience and also suggestions for improvement. You appear to be a solutions-oriented person. Thank You for all that you’re doing with CWS! We are proud to have you on our team and we look forward to your continued success with us!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Phenomenal experience so far

      Sep 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive upper management. Great pay and insurance.

      Cons

      Not loving the Thursday time extension to 7 pm, but I see the value in it. Not every property is A+ class, but a diverse portfolio is ideal from an investment perspective.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      CWS Apartment Homes Response

      People Services

      Thank you for taking a moment to fill out a review of our company. We are happy to see that you enjoy our benefits and that you see evidence of our core values in action every day. CWS has grown quickly over the last few years and we are taking extra efforts to ensure that team members have the resources they need in order to advance within the company. We pride ourselves on the extensive training opportunities that are offered and plan to reintroduce career maps as a guide to the “what’s next” opportunities. Be sure to communicate with your manager how you’d like to grow your career with CWS. We appreciate your candid feedback and look forward to your continued growth within CWS!

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lacks Major Support For Atlanta Community Managers

      Feb 21, 2018 - Community Director in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Corporate Office in Austin, TX is very supportive. The company is huge in charities which is great. Great tech support, great training,

      Cons

      No diversity, major - major gossiping problem in this region and upper management (regional) is a huge part of that problem, great efforts and accomplishments aren't recognized, no life work balance, very poor communication and support for the Community Directors from their leader.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      CWS Apartment Homes Response

      People Services

      Thank you for filling out a review of CWS Apartment Homes. We are so happy that you enjoyed taking part in our B.R.I.D.G.E. program and found our corporate office very supportive. We are disappointed to see that your experience fell short of your expectations. A foundational component to our culture is a “Respect for People”. We are disheartened to hear you felt there was inconsistency in the treatment of associates. At CWS Apartment Homes, we operate our business with equal opportunity for everyone. When recruiting for positions, we strive to hire the most qualified candidate. We want to be a collaborative and supportive environment. We take each comment and review very seriously and appreciate your direct and candid feedback. We will share your concerns with leadership.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      ok

      Nov 28, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Core Values, co workers, properties, team work, discount

      Cons

      Compensation, benefits, upper management, growth, advancement

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CWS Apartment Homes Response

      Digital Marketing Director

      Thank you for taking time to fill out a review. We are glad to see our core values and team is listed under the pros, we couldn't agree with you more! We believe in partnering with our team members for career advancement. We offer career mapping as well as a robust training program. We encourage you to express your ambitions with your supervisor and write down these items in your annual performance discussion. We are confident through this open dialogue you will see the result you want. CWS Apartments

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don’t work here! Very disappointed

      Nov 8, 2017 - Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unfortunately after my experience the only pro that I have is that I made some good friends and loved my team. Other than that I have nothing

      Cons

      Short staffing, lack of support from upper management, no positive feedback ALWAYS negative, doesn’t listen to what you actually need to make things work.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      CWS Apartment Homes Response

      Digital Marketing Director

      We are disappointed to see your work experience with CWS was not positive. We believe CWS has the best people and we are happy to see that piece of our culture came through and you made some great friends. CWS is a collaborative organization with open communication across many departments we encourage two-way communication where each team member has a voice and is being heard. Please know we will share your feedback with leadership. Thank you, CWS Apartment Homes

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Leasing Consultant

      May 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for, lots of training and help from upper management

      Cons

      leasing consultants works a lot of weekends and sometimes managers wont help with holidays

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CWS Apartment Homes Response

      Digital Marketing Director

      We would like to thank you for your three years of service to our organization, as well as taking the time to fill out a review. We are pleased to see that the training and direction you received while a part of our organization was valuable to you. At CWS Apartment Homes we understand the need for work/life balance, and will take your feedback to our management teams stressing the importance of rotating holidays within the team when possible. We wish you a fulfilling career as you grow in your professional life. CWS Apartment Homes

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company.

      Mar 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture and values, supportive upper management, hardworking employees are valued and appreciated. Company outreach program is encouraged and allows employees to give back to local community.

      Cons

      I believe pay and medical benefits can be more competitive compared to other management companies in the area. Otherwise, great company to work for.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      CWS Apartment Homes Response

      Digital Marketing Director

      We are happy to see you believe we have a great company! We also appreciate your time investment in filling out a review of our organization. At CWS Apartment Homes we understand our associates work hard and we do our best to support our associates at every turn. We understand that being competitive in our industry is what will allow us to retain the amazing talent we have currently have within our company. With that said, we have been analyzing where we rank in the multifamily industry and as a result have made some adjustments that we are confident you will be pleased with as we move into 2017. Thank you, CWS Apartment Homes

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Work at CWS Apartment Homes? Share Your Experiences

    CWS Apartment Homes logo
    or