CJ Affiliate "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

CJ Affiliate Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Apr 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
CJ Affiliate President Mayuresh Kshetramade
Mayuresh Kshetramade
0 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "CJ tends to do this thing where we push and sell a certain "hot topic" but literally have zero means from a product level to support it(in 14 reviews)

  • "Please beware of this company because it's not worth the stress and the required time spent working on holidays for niche affiliate marketing(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, experience depends on your portfolio and office turnover rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Depending on your portfolio, you can get exposure to a variety of big-name clients and learn how their affiliate program + overall companies run -The people you work with are friendly and helpful -Fun company outings -Flexible time off -Can usually work normal 9-5 hours

    Cons

    -My office has had a problem with attrition lately which means everyone has had more on their plate than they should. However, if you work efficiently and prioritize you can still get out of the office by 5-5:30 on most days -As with any advertising/marketing agency, busy season is during the holidays, which isn't great for time off and work/life balance -Working remotely is allowed but not encouraged. You need to provide some sort of excuse to stay home for the day. I would prefer if we could all work from home one day a week

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees and make sure they are not overworked. A good way to combat this would be allowing us to work from home more regularly

    CJ Affiliate2019-04-06
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture and strong values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great work/life balance - fun office culture with company happy hours and outings - good onboarding process and ongoing training - co-workers are super friendly, collaborative and helpful - good on-paper benefits (401k, unlimited PTO, health, dental & vision, commuter benefits, etc.) - higher-up management/directors are very open and transparent about what's going on in the company - definitely feel like my opinion matters even though I'm in an entry-level position

    Show More

    Cons

    - Nothing significant so far - At first I was a little hesitant/stressed because of an isolated bad transition, but now I definitely can see how much the company is invested in training employees and creating upward mobility/growth opportunities for employees within the company

    CJ Affiliate2019-01-30
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Good company, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate full-time

    Pros

    High caliber clients and variety allow one to learn alot about the affiliate industry -Colleagues -Our office let you bring your dog, some do not

    Cons

    -Account Directors - very poor leadership; they offer no assistance and are unprofessional and arrogant -Toxic environment - high-stress, lack of trustworthiness, lack of respect towards employees -Sweatshop - Directors do not care about any work-life balance; be prepared to work all hours of the day and weekends -Low Pay and no bonus or signing plan for some positions

    Advice to Management

    Be a professional company where you have Directors that set an example for those working for the company. Leave your egos at the door for a more positive environment. Value good work and good people. The turnover rate is off the chart and everyone pretends it's fine and does nothing. Talk to your employees about their days, their challenges. The business will always be there - it's time to start taking a look at your employees.

    Show More
    CJ Affiliate2019-02-06
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Truly Fulfilling Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I started at CJ, I came from 9 years at a previous company and was nervous about making the jump. After 3 years with CJ, I can honestly say that it was the best decision I could have made. I've had ample opportunities to grow and exercise my expertise with a variety of people in the company. My managers have been wonderful about giving me a chance to push my boundaries and stretch the scope of my work. I work with some of the smartest folks in the industry and feel like people at every level (entry to senior exec) are given an opportunity to shine. I also feel like while the work is both exciting and challenging, I am granted optimal work/life balance. I love the flex vacation time benefit and as long as I am keeping up with my work, my managers have always been flexible and trusting of the time I need off.

    Show More

    Cons

    In reading some of these reviews it seems like some other departments may have some resource issues that is causing burnout. However, there has been a lot of efforts made lately to adding headcount to solve for those concerns.

    CJ Affiliate2018-10-17
  5. Helpful (11)

    "A downward slope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, Free food, Fun perks, Decent benefits, Company makes an effort to keep employees happy, Friendly environment.

    Cons

    This company is quickly losing all of its experienced employees for better places and cannot replace/train fast enough. Very low salary for this industry and the women are getting paid less. Very little work/life balance, you're just asked to keep working at all times at all hours and they don't offer any overtime pay. Can be extremely high-stress. Extreme life quality differences depending on what clients you get assigned. If people quit you may get all of their workload. Worried the company will lose all experienced management and collapse.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You can't simply tell people they have to keep working past 5pm when the work from clients could be endless. You also can't endlessly keep pushing work onto all your employees with no incentives. It's 2018 and people are going to talk about their salaries, don't be surprised when your employees are upset with pay discrimination.

    CJ Affiliate2018-10-02
  6. Helpful (4)

    "10/10 Would Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous- Advertiser Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The career development and training you receive here is invaluable… it’s extremely motivating to work under brilliant people who are willing to teach and always encourage you to be the best and most critical thinking version of yourself. This is a place to develop your business skills from every angle... There is nothing cut and dry about this job. It is ever evolving and ever-challenging in a really exciting way. Managers are not only brilliant but also understanding and always advocating for their employees! Not to mention flexible time-off and work from home options worked into the system make this job extremely compatible with living your best life. Fun quarterly team adventures, great parties, and a great work/life balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not ideal for the tactical, check-list person-- this job requires serious self-motivation and drive to excel. C'mon-- seriously where are the snacks?! Or a latte cart once a month?

    Advice to Management

    If you want to hire the best of the best-- get competitive and get your name out there. Companies are getting more aggressive and we're losing ground by not retaining our talent. We are given lofty goals from our clients and we need well-rounded teams to accomplish them-- keep it up with the training and the perks. Don't let employees get lost in the big corporate game-- making people feel seen and valued goes a long way for business and I think you're generally doing a great job.

    Show More
    CJ Affiliate2018-05-30
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Amazing Career Development Opps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate

    Pros

    This industry is demanding, competitive and always changing. If you are a hard worker who is open minded, you will begin to use the adaptability and flexibility this job teaches you as a strength, rather than seeing it as weakness. The work, is no doubt, challenging. You need to be motivated, proactive and downright assertive at times. But learning to navigate the company and difficult clients has been one of the greatest skills CJ has given me in terms of professional development. Management has gone through a ton of changes recently - I personally don't think this is that abnormal, given past companies I've worked at. It's part of the gig working in digital. As such, most people don't like change nor do they like being pushed out of their comfort zones. Frankly, there has been a much needed change in accountability and pushing people to critically think instead of sticking to the status quo. There was a long period of complacency and nice managers who didn't push their teams. But CJ doesn't want people to work longer and harder, they want you to work smarter. Culture is great. Employees become best friends. This isn't a startup with the proclivity to cater lunch every day but they try to make up for it. You will be hard pressed to find a company this size with the WFH policy we have, the flexible vacation package, insurance (which BTW, our parent company decides, not the CJ President) , a full 401k match, stock options and plenty of early release days. Work/life balance is like any place. We have busy seasons, we lose team members. We have light seasons and less work. Neither lasts forever.

    Show More

    Cons

    While I agree with the messages new management is driving, often times they are delivered in a way that is not effective. Fear will never be a great motivator. Product development has been interesting. CJ tends to do this thing where we push and sell a certain "hot topic" but literally have zero means from a product level to support it. Or the tools we do have are totally outdated and upper management is clueless. This always comes back to the account teams who are left scrambling to fill in the blanks and pushed to sell the client on why we are the best (even if you know that's not true in this particular area).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen. Listen. Listen. Literally just stop talking so much. The best leaders listen and then take action. If you show people you are truly invested in their growth and professional development, rather than trying to stump them in a team meeting, people will respect you and the work they are doing so much more. Face the retention issue head-on. Little perks matter and keep people around. Can we get an ice cream truck again this summer?

    Show More
    CJ Affiliate2018-05-22
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Too little too late"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time

    Pros

    People. Most of the midlevel employees you come across and work with are genuinely talented and helpful. Exposure to work with top brands and influncers.

    Cons

    New hires beware, you will be lured in with a tour around the office and talk about a super fun enviornment but look at the faces of everyone around, its a soul sucking affiliate farm. No resources, both tech/product and teams are completely shorthanded but expected to do the job of 2-3 people. There is no compensation for added work and the new normal is to just work late and on weekends to meet the demands. All the good employees are leaving in large numbers (you should ask how long the person stayed in the position before you and whether they left or got promoted...) False sense of hope that things are improving, all you hear about is change coming but in the last year things have not improved and rapidly declined in the work life balance and quality of relationships between people across departments.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the people you already have working for you! Ask them if they are happy and if not, change what the issues are - the longer you keep ignoring this, the more people will keep leaving and having a pipeline of hiring new people will not solve this. Stop promoting people out of necessity and favoritsm. Hard workers aren’t recognized unless they’re friends with directors or managers. No level of trust between employees and leadership. Also compensation is very poor, for the type of work that is demanded, way below industry average and compared to cost of living in the cities where most offices are.

    Show More
    CJ Affiliate2018-05-04
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good experience in a niche industry, fun quarterly team outings, the social committee puts on great events throughout the year.

    Cons

    Where to even begin? New leadership has caused a shift from CJ being a great place to work for work/life balance - especially if you have responsibilities outside of work like caring for a family. Not anymore! Everyone is overworked and with leadership sending emails at all hours of the night, it seems like the expectation is that all employees should dedicate themselves 110% to CJ and have no outside life. The workload is overwhelming and we're now expected to be managing a ridiculous number of accounts at any given time. There is no headcount to added much-needed team members to help offload some of the work, so instead, most people are doing the work of 2-3 people on each account. This is in addition to the hours of training, stakeholder groups and special projects that everyone is expected to participate in. The culture of this company used to be so much better until this new leadership took over and pushed out the previous directors/managers, then back-filled those roles with people who only live to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix the issues and realize that many of the people who have been here for 5+ years enjoyed working here for the family-friendliness and work/life balance that CJ was known for. Don't expect us to adapt to this new workaholic mentality or you're going to just continue to see extremely high rates of employee turnover.

    CJ Affiliate2018-03-15
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Associate Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate

    Pros

    Your colleagues - you will work with some of the smartest and personable people in your career at CJ. I can say I made life-long friends.

    Cons

    CJ was once a company that embraced work/life balance but now it's nothing but a sweatshop. The salary is not competitive at all and you will work 10-12 hours a day with no regard from leadership about your health, wellness or work/life balance. They just keep piling more and more on you until you break and micromanage you if you crack a joke with others. Please beware of this company because it's not worth the stress and the required time spent working on holidays for niche affiliate marketing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more aware of burn out and overworking your people. Realize you get more productivity when you care about health and wellness. Don't reprimand employees because they mess up due to the fact that they are burned out and purely unhappy.

    CJ Affiliate2018-04-03
Found 15 reviews