CJ Affiliate "cj" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

CJ Affiliate Employee Reviews about "cj"

Updated Sep 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
CJ Affiliate President Mayuresh Kshetramade
Mayuresh Kshetramade
0 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "CJ tends to do this thing where we push and sell a certain "hot topic" but literally have zero means from a product level to support it(in 14 reviews)

  • "Please beware of this company because it's not worth the stress and the required time spent working on holidays for niche affiliate marketing(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cj"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Running out of steam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate full-time

    Pros

    Great place to start your career and build a foundation in digital marketing. -Overall great people to work with -Good benefits -Great training and learning opportunities

    Cons

    -Management. Upper management has been at the helm for a few years but still has little grasp of the dynamics of the business. Decisions are issued and retracted quickly. Aggressive personalities make it difficult to have a constructive discussion about the path forward. You essentially need to get in everyone's face to advance your ideas. This in turn leads to similar personalities getting promoted and the cycle continues. Meanwhile, talented employees leave. Cronyism is also an issue. -Technology. Great engineers, but tech is dated with the pace of innovation slow. Likewise, much of the work is focused on catching up to the industry rather than creating modern solutions. This creates a lack of faith in the products employees are asked to sell, using some very creative descriptions of services that the company has no ability to provide. -Turnover. High turnover among longtime employees, who were either forced out by management, or got fed up and left. Top talent does not stick around long. Turnover also high among clients, though sales has been good about filling in the hole. -Culture. Culture has become more corporate since the acquisition. The company still tries to sell the Silicon Valley startup image but falls short. For example, you get flex time off, if you're taking the allowed amount of time off. Old traditions died with longtime employees leaving and the company culture is essentially forced from the top down via HR initiatives in line with management goals. Rank and file employees come in for a paycheck and are not particularly passionate about the work. Part of it goes back to the tech piece and knowing that no matter how inefficient something is, there is no way to change it in any meaningful way. -Bottom of the ladder. Being part of ADS has benefits, but being at the bottom of ADS > Epsilon > Conversant > CJ, seriously hamstrings the company.

    Show More
    CJ Affiliate2018-09-15
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Amazing Career Development Opps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate

    Pros

    This industry is demanding, competitive and always changing. If you are a hard worker who is open minded, you will begin to use the adaptability and flexibility this job teaches you as a strength, rather than seeing it as weakness. The work, is no doubt, challenging. You need to be motivated, proactive and downright assertive at times. But learning to navigate the company and difficult clients has been one of the greatest skills CJ has given me in terms of professional development. Management has gone through a ton of changes recently - I personally don't think this is that abnormal, given past companies I've worked at. It's part of the gig working in digital. As such, most people don't like change nor do they like being pushed out of their comfort zones. Frankly, there has been a much needed change in accountability and pushing people to critically think instead of sticking to the status quo. There was a long period of complacency and nice managers who didn't push their teams. But CJ doesn't want people to work longer and harder, they want you to work smarter. Culture is great. Employees become best friends. This isn't a startup with the proclivity to cater lunch every day but they try to make up for it. You will be hard pressed to find a company this size with the WFH policy we have, the flexible vacation package, insurance (which BTW, our parent company decides, not the CJ President) , a full 401k match, stock options and plenty of early release days. Work/life balance is like any place. We have busy seasons, we lose team members. We have light seasons and less work. Neither lasts forever.

    Show More

    Cons

    While I agree with the messages new management is driving, often times they are delivered in a way that is not effective. Fear will never be a great motivator. Product development has been interesting. CJ tends to do this thing where we push and sell a certain "hot topic" but literally have zero means from a product level to support it. Or the tools we do have are totally outdated and upper management is clueless. This always comes back to the account teams who are left scrambling to fill in the blanks and pushed to sell the client on why we are the best (even if you know that's not true in this particular area).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen. Listen. Listen. Literally just stop talking so much. The best leaders listen and then take action. If you show people you are truly invested in their growth and professional development, rather than trying to stump them in a team meeting, people will respect you and the work they are doing so much more. Face the retention issue head-on. Little perks matter and keep people around. Can we get an ice cream truck again this summer?

    Show More
    CJ Affiliate2018-05-22
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good experience in a niche industry, fun quarterly team outings, the social committee puts on great events throughout the year.

    Cons

    Where to even begin? New leadership has caused a shift from CJ being a great place to work for work/life balance - especially if you have responsibilities outside of work like caring for a family. Not anymore! Everyone is overworked and with leadership sending emails at all hours of the night, it seems like the expectation is that all employees should dedicate themselves 110% to CJ and have no outside life. The workload is overwhelming and we're now expected to be managing a ridiculous number of accounts at any given time. There is no headcount to added much-needed team members to help offload some of the work, so instead, most people are doing the work of 2-3 people on each account. This is in addition to the hours of training, stakeholder groups and special projects that everyone is expected to participate in. The culture of this company used to be so much better until this new leadership took over and pushed out the previous directors/managers, then back-filled those roles with people who only live to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix the issues and realize that many of the people who have been here for 5+ years enjoyed working here for the family-friendliness and work/life balance that CJ was known for. Don't expect us to adapt to this new workaholic mentality or you're going to just continue to see extremely high rates of employee turnover.

    CJ Affiliate2018-03-15
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Associate Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate

    Pros

    Your colleagues - you will work with some of the smartest and personable people in your career at CJ. I can say I made life-long friends.

    Cons

    CJ was once a company that embraced work/life balance but now it's nothing but a sweatshop. The salary is not competitive at all and you will work 10-12 hours a day with no regard from leadership about your health, wellness or work/life balance. They just keep piling more and more on you until you break and micromanage you if you crack a joke with others. Please beware of this company because it's not worth the stress and the required time spent working on holidays for niche affiliate marketing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more aware of burn out and overworking your people. Realize you get more productivity when you care about health and wellness. Don't reprimand employees because they mess up due to the fact that they are burned out and purely unhappy.

    CJ Affiliate2018-04-03
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Time for a Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people. You will work with some of the brightest, kindest people you could ever imagine, who really do want to help their clients and the company be better. Portfolios are interesting and diverse, many top brands are a part of CJ so you get exposure to working with large, recognizable companies.

    Cons

    It's been brutal to watch CJ continue on this downward spiral. There is absolutely no regard to the well-being of the employees - the new health insurance is only the latest in a slew of cost-saving measures that only serve to make stocks go up and employee happiness decrease substantially. The salaries are not competitive for the amount of work you are given - BEWARE! There are much more lucrative opportunities out there - CJ will hire you, pay you the bare minimum, reduce head count on teams, and burn you out until you leave. The favoritism and conflicts of interest that occur inside the walls of CJ are unreal, with promotions and accolades being handed to people close with top management. Reduced head count, slow hiring practices, and larger work loads/expectations have all lead to a mass exodus from CJ, because people with great work ethic get burnt out and leave for better-paying, well-balanced companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All the things that were great about this company - benefits, work/life balance, and fair treatment - are now gone. Stop caring only about money and start caring about the employees who service your clients. The only reason many clients stick with CJ is because of your employees who build those relationships with them. It's too obvious that the executive staff couldn't care less, and clients as well as talent, will leave. Make a change, CJ.

    Show More
    CJ Affiliate2018-02-23
  6. "Average Affiliate Marketing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Search Marketing Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CJ has a lot of different companies that you can work with, more that most Affiliate companies.

    Cons

    Usually takes a long time to be approved for each offer. Much more than most companies that I've worked with. Also I've sent a lot of traffic to CJ without receiving conversions, so I'm not sure if it's just me, or their tracking is not always working correctly.

    Advice to Management

    Shorten the time it takes to be approved for an offer. I know you'll say that it's up to the advertiser, but you're one of the few companies that takes as long as you do to be approved for offers.

    CJ Affiliate2016-04-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great teams, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -social office -good work hours -Summer Fridays -strong new-hires

    Cons

    While I think CJ as a whole is doing great things and heading in the right direction, the New York office is a disaster. New hires have been great, but unfortunately with such a small office decisions are made by 2 or 3 people who have no idea what they're doing. Accounts and structures are changed on a whim, there is no continuity and minds are changed about important items daily. They don't seek any input about workloads, and then send an email "surprise" like teams are supposed to be excited about the constant change in direction. Clients are privy to the lack of organization and direction for this office, and there accounts suffer because of it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire new management? But seriously, this list could take hours to write. Most importantly, seek input of staff at all levels, don't make rash decision, and don't constantly change your mind once you've made changes.

    CJ Affiliate2016-01-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Webmasters get the worst end of the stick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Marketing Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Auto payment - Huge list of companies - Multiple types of promotion

    Cons

    - If an advertiser revokes the amount make, CJ won't interfere and dodge the questioning of the advertiser. "I lost $4,500 when an advertiser pulled the earnings" - CJ will dodge the questions because they don't want to be held responsible with legality issues with advertisers - Lost leads due to adblockers

    Advice to Management

    Be straight forward and don't prolong the issue when legal issues are present

    CJ Affiliate2015-11-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering: Best of both worlds (startup vs stable company)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer, Team Lead in Westlake Village, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I came to CJ on the heels of a very small startup experience, where I had absolute freedom to choose the best tools for the job. So, I was worried that moving to a stable company would mean a dramatic loss of freedom to choose my own tools & approaches. Thankfully, life at CJ Engineering has been largely the opposite: I have the benefits of a larger company (stable employment, lots of other talent to push/challenge me), but also a large degree of self-determination in how I go about building solutions to customer problems.

    Show More

    Cons

    CJ is part of a much broader ecosystem of wholly-owned companies; occasionally this comes down in the form of goofy HR policies and drab office environments, although the latter is poised to change soon.

    Advice to Management

    Keep building and nurturing the spirit of innovation in CJ Engineering, stop the HR goofiness, and make the physical office environments more sexy, dynamic, and innovative.

    CJ Affiliate2015-08-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Organization in flux"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very talented personnel, good learning opportunities. Smaller offices make for easier communication. Communication is relaxed and straightforward; leadership is mostly very approachable. Work is across a variety of industries giving unique professional exposure. Most clients are agreeable to work with, although the difficult ones tend to absorb most of your time. Legitimate interest from CJ leadership to engage employees although they are effectively neutered in the ability to do more for them. The annual client networking event (CJU) is at an incredible location and generally does well to stoke interest in participation from clients.

    Show More

    Cons

    CJ leadership does not call the shots so their hands are tied for being able to offer solutions to alleviate employee concerns. The strongest issue is the overworked staff as current Conversant/Epsilon leadership will not allow for additional hiring. As such workloads are untenable and frustrating employees at all levels and many clients are perceiving this as well. Even backfill positions are slow to be approved for re-hire. There is a very high turnover rate at most offices. Tenure is stronger in the legacy offices of SB and Westborough and even these offices are losing more of their higher tenured employees. Speculation from the ADS/Epsilon acquisition of parent company Conversant is that CJ was not a big factor in the decision so CJ is more marginalized than the other Conversant divisions. Aside from this, CJ has rode a reputation for being the industry leader without a significant investment in innovating their platform/services and other competitors are catching up. Most of the innovations in the works are patchwork or do not have enough industry buy-in to be of significant impact.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with clients about the inability for staff to keep up with their demands or hire enough staff to cover the overwhelming client workload.

    CJ Affiliate2015-06-18
Found 14 reviews