CIBC "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

CIBC Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
CIBC President & CEO Victor Dodig
Victor Dodig
1,396 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It was challenging sometime to find work life balance(in 89 reviews)

  • "Low base salary, which is not very competitive for the sales targets(in 78 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "CIBC Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at CIBC full-time

    Pros

    Great Management Good Work Life Balance

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    CIBC2019-10-22
  2. "Good place to work, Lot of things to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Commissioning Engineer in Victoria, BC

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work, Lot of things to learn

    Cons

    Compensation was less. It was challenging sometime to find work life balance

    CIBC2020-01-18
  3. "Great work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I find the atmosphere to be easy going and very welcoming. The work/life balance is great.

    Cons

    Work can be slow and boring at times

    CIBC2020-01-08
  4. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance and excellent teamwork

    Cons

    Can't think of any as such

    CIBC2020-01-03
  5. "Excellent program to learn and grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging and rewarding work environment.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance at times.

    CIBC2019-12-24
  6. "Insights"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly workplace; flexible work-life balance; banking employee perks (although not great overall value, just nice feeless aspects like credit card annual fees, prime rates, etc.)

    Cons

    Very behind in modern day tech and upper management doesn't seem to fully embrace moving fully towards becoming a technology company when at the end of the day that's what the entire banking infrastructure is built on. They appear to be trying but are severely lagging behind.

    CIBC2020-01-02
  7. "good career start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work-life balance, good team member

    Cons

    low pay rate, some employees do not work hard.

    CIBC2019-12-30
  8. "Manager Client Advice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MCA 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career growth opportunities. Great team. Awesomeculture and environment.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be better for management. Internal software applications/Technology needs significant improvements. Pay should be restructured and more closely aligned with competition.

    CIBC2019-12-09
  9. "Not sure what to put here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant, Communications & Engagement in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Living in the past. Some employees are promoted into roles they shouldn't be given. A lot of unqualified candidates climbing the corporate ladder.

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of who is capable, and don't overwork them. There are so many incapable employees hiding at CIBC and they're not expected to do as much, so capable and hardworking employees are given more work with greater expectation.

    CIBC2019-12-09
  10. "Company is OK to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company pays its employees well

    Cons

    No work life balance with this organization

    CIBC2019-12-23
Found 294 reviews
</>Embed