CIBC Mellon Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

CIBC Mellon Reviews

Updated 28 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
CIBC Mellon CEO Steven R. Wolff
Steven R. Wolff
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "not much growth, low pay, terrible hours(in 21 reviews)

  • "Long hours that and insufficient pay, extremely large workload for the size of the department with little to no reward(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful place to work with a lot of opportunities to get involved & grow your career. Great employee engagement, and a place that you feel welcome everyday.

    Cons

    Workload can be a little heavy at times, but always feel supported by my manager & team!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!

    CIBC Mellon2019-05-06
  2. "Proven Leader in Client Service Delivery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture and Value People

    Cons

    None, great experience and great learning

    Advice to Management

    Great Job and evolution management

    CIBC Mellon2019-07-11
  3. "Sr FA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Fund Accountant 

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance is good

    Cons

    experience is dependant on supervisor

    CIBC Mellon2019-10-17
  4. "The Opportunities Are There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accounting Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of room for growth and development, you just need to show initiative to learn.

    Cons

    The entry level positions can be a bit dry and boring at times, but then again, that's how it is for almost any job

    CIBC Mellon2019-10-16
  5. "Senior Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in Toronto with a really large team can get your cpa hours if you're lucky

    Cons

    - low wage - horrible culture - no real career growth opportunities

    CIBC Mellon2019-10-28
  6. "Company with great work life balance and flexible work schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great work life balance and flexible work hours -Dress for your day policy (casual) -Annual education assistance program -Competitive pay

    Cons

    -Lack of team work atmosphere due to independent roles -Little growth potential

    CIBC Mellon2019-09-30
  7. "life at Mellon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time

    Pros

    relaxed environment, good supervisor

    Cons

    hours - late night, and pay

    CIBC Mellon2019-10-03
  8. "Cheap company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of free time to study towards CPA/CFA

    Cons

    Lowest pay in the industry, no vacations allowed in december, mundane things, no room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more so we have less FA turn over, I spent most of my time training all the new people who would leave in a year.

    CIBC Mellon2019-09-26
  9. "Position Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A job that is a combination of accounting and finance, know the accounting perspective tradings, corporate action and can have a deep understanding of market movement

    Cons

    Lots of repetitive work and tasks on a daily basis

    CIBC Mellon2019-08-18
  10. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits - 3 weeks vacation - 3 personal day - Health , dental etc

    Cons

    - company has no intention to replace resigned staffs - projects have very tight deadline - behind IT technology used. - micro management environment - salary is 10% below market

    Advice to Management

    Need to value your employees

    CIBC Mellon2019-09-13
Found 199 reviews