CGI "career growth" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

CGI Employee Reviews about "career growth"

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
CGI President and Chief Executive Officer George D. Schindler
George D. Schindler
1,838 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career growth"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance , Good salary

    Cons

    Career growth especially when you work at client side

    CGI2018-04-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good enough but way long to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Markham, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at CGI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment and people. Open company culture. lots of events and groups and easy to approach people

    Cons

    Poor project operations and management. they did lost alot business. Don't care much about learning and employees career growth

    Continue reading
    CGI2019-07-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Bad experience - Avoid this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CGI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Food after 3 months Company paid partial benefits More managers than ground staff Good for retirement, 50% staff is +50.

    Cons

    No career growth Eye wash member surveys Big body shop for Govt Projects Fast hiring and firing Follows no ethics for employees Preference to white people only Hidden racism

    Continue reading
    CGI2019-08-02
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Stuck in the 2000s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Honestly, I can’t think of any.

    Cons

    If you’re an over-50 white male who has no interest in innovation or diversity, this is the place for you...the place where employees need to use Internet Explorer to access/use archaic, barely functioning internal applications; where you’re required to wear suits and ties or business suits circa Working Girl; and where coworkers choose to stare at their computers all day rather than interact or collaborate with others. Honestly, it’s one of the weirdest workplaces I’ve ever known. There’s no interest in pushing technology or processes forward; rather, Senior management’s sole concern is to make sure their team is working on billable projects. That said, management expects team members to somehow find these assignments themselves, using what even the Resource Manager team member describes as a broken and out of date system. Management is seldom even in the same office as their team and the only time you’ll hear from them is after you submit your weekly hours (if they’re non-billable, that is.) Don’t expect career growth or learning opportunities here, either. Management will throw any team member available into a role that they’re not qualified for if they can’t find someone more suitable - and don’t expect any support or check-ins, either. It’s sink or swim here.

    CGI2019-03-17
  5. "Up and Coming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Coordinator in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI

    Pros

    Profit sharing plan Well compensated great culture

    Cons

    Bilingual positions Slow Career Growth ( somehwere where you need to put the work in to move up)

    CGI2016-09-20
  6. "Executive Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Executive Secretary in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CGI for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Best Compensation and benefits Friendly work environment

    Cons

    No Career Growth and new opportunities

    Continue reading
    CGI2015-12-28
  7. "Associate Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Software Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CGI for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment. work culture is great. Hike Very less Variable Component in package

    Cons

    Very slow career growth. Not so strong management team.

    Continue reading
    CGI2015-10-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Decent stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative and Deskside Support 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CGI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good stepping stone to get IT experience Not much required of you

    Cons

    -Majority of people that have worked there for a long time hate their jobs and complain Montreal has taken away much of the processes to streamline things but makes working complicated No raises or a 50 cent raise a year No career growth, you are a number they are ready to replace for cheaper because they can Poor sick day/vacation policy Long time staff are very unhealthy and depressed because they are trapped in their jobs

    Continue reading
    CGI2015-04-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good if you are new graduate or newbie in IT field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CGI full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Lots of opportunities to learn/explore new technologies Friendly working environment and nice colleagues

    Cons

    Poor project planning, management and execution Unstable without career growth No difference between employee and contractor

    Continue reading
    CGI2014-11-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "No Belonging just exist to create profit: Bring Body, Connect with RJ45, make $$$ for CGI, get some crumbs$"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CGI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hey they send a $30 gift if a child is born

    Cons

    I did work for one consultant organisation before CGI. But CGI is more stingier. Hey Btw, even though they make money from english clients/countries, you can feel the underlying discrimination against those who do not know french fluently (in Montreal). Keep in mind the founders put in more "french requirement on employees" than the Quebec language police. - They won't know what you are working on for the client. - They won't bother about you/training/salary etc as long as you make money for them. They didn't hire me straight and train. A bank wanted someone to work for cheap, so they connected me for the interview call, and the rest is you work for the bank, whereas CGI does not invest in your career growth. You are the remote resource for the bank/client. CGI had a sentence "We will fund for your training, however if you quit within 2 years after getting the certification, you have to reimburse" - I never took the training, cause I'm not sure I would want to stay. I think the whole industry is moving in the direction of "I want pre-trained people that I don't want to care for, I'll pay pittance and overwork them".

    Continue reading
    CGI2014-08-10
Found 145 reviews
</>Embed