CGI Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

CGI Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6820 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
CGI CEO George D. Schindler
George D. Schindler
1519 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Profit Sharing - Share Purchase Plan - Onsite Gym at HQ

    Cons

    Long days Those with a mobile phone are attached to emails

    CGI2019-08-09
  2. "Supportive work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CGI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to ask questions to higher-ups, company is supportive of employee growth and continuous learning. Good social events and employee recognition.

    Cons

    Large company could be seen as a con to some. Work was sometimes slow to come during slower summer months.

    CGI2019-08-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Regular huge software company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior .NET Developer in Sherbrooke, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CGI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Flexibility to work from home from time to time

    Cons

    Yearly salary reviews were ridiculous (in 2015, they offered 1-2%) No company culture to speak of, very corporate Very strict processes that come with the business' size

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to promote software developers who have no people skills whatsoever to team leads or project managers just because they have more than X years of experience... That never ends well for their team or the client.

    CGI2019-08-06
  4. "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at CGI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extremely supportive about career training and growth.

    Cons

    I've been at my client location for my entire time at CGI so I know little about the company itself.

    CGI2019-08-08
  5. "If truly and honestly driven, CGI will help you grow your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, many opportunities for personal development, the ability to find change when interested and constantly evolving models to help clients, employees, and the company build value.

    Cons

    As a highly competitive outsourcer handling both low-cost and high-services areas, it can be an environment that constantly pushes all of efficiency, deadlines, downloading of work to subordinates without compensation, or implicit potential future compensation. It's not a place for those who want to have someone evaluate and provide formal training, or a place for those who aren't driven to better themselves and the...

    Show More
    CGI2019-08-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "expect to be used and dropped"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    relatively good benefits

    Cons

    expect to be used and abused they will try to convince you to work for low pay, promise you stability and opportunity for career and as soon as the job is done they will fire you do not trust anything they promise you horrible administration especially their HR department technically incompetent managers

    CGI2019-08-20
  7. "General review on CGI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, salary above average

    Cons

    career development path in technical skills

    CGI2019-08-06
  8. "Above average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at CGI part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work Environment Flexible schedules Big corporation

    Cons

    Average salaries with minimal hikes

    Advice to Management

    Do salary hikes more often

    CGI2019-08-04
  9. "Average Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator 

    I worked at CGI full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are fine for the field

    Cons

    Long hours make things difficult at home

    CGI2019-08-16
  10. "They're great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PCO 

    I worked at CGI

    Pros

    Everybody was so nice and so helpful!

    Cons

    nothing much really they're great!

    CGI2019-08-01
Found 6820 reviews