CEMEX (USA) Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

CEMEX (USA) Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
CEMEX (USA) President Ignacio Madridejos (no image)
Ignacio Madridejos
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company in a Tough Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CEMEX (USA) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Highly talented people Good brand name

    Cons

    Pay can be on the low-side Few pto days Flexibility can be low

    Advice to Management

    In order to attract and retain more talent Cemex needs to adopt some of the best practices that other companies are doing. More flexible work times, more benefits that don’t necessarily have to be monetary, and overall a work environment that has more upward mobility and opportunities for growth

    CEMEX (USA)2020-01-05
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TDP in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CEMEX (USA) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good, work life balance, friendly, decent pay, nice people

    Cons

    Too early to go to work

    Advice to Management

    Good

    CEMEX (USA)2019-09-24
  3. "Takes a while to settle in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CEMEX (USA) full-time

    Pros

    Support from manager, salary ok if you stick around and work hard.

    Cons

    Starting salary can be quite low.

    CEMEX (USA)2019-04-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Millwright in Thomasville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CEMEX (USA) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is good but they will lie to you and will tell you thing that is not true

    Cons

    I took all the test and pass the drug test and was give a offer and took a physical and was give a start up date and when that day came I call to see where I had to go and what time I had to be there so I called hr and he told me I forgot to tell you and I been out for a week with sinus but you didn't pass the physical and we can't move forward had me to call the doctor all cause I had a hip replacement years ago but I have been doing this work for 20 years but thankful my old boss understand and give me my old job back as millwright at grief papermill at moblie

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not give ppl start up date till you sure of job .don't have ppl leave job for nothing

    CEMEX (USA)2019-04-19
  5. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CEMEX (USA) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Uncertainty about job

    Cons

    No sick days. You have to use PTO

    CEMEX (USA)2019-03-08
  6. "good company long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CEMEX (USA) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good training program, health care benefits

    Cons

    Always on call, no flex hours

    Advice to Management

    Make better acquisition decisions

    CEMEX (USA)2019-02-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Out of touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plant Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CEMEX (USA) full-time

    Pros

    Comprehensive benefit package. Co-workers are great!

    Cons

    Too many new policies rolling out. Not sufficient enough time to get intoned with the old policies and they roll out new stuff, it's too much. Don't expect to have any relief. If the plant is running you'll be expected to be there.

    Advice to Management

    Hire one more guy to float around and cover so it's a bit more flexible. Try and create a work- life balance for the management positions which should create sustainability.

    CEMEX (USA)2019-02-05
  8. "Watch out for snakes with Cemex"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Driver in Enterprise, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CEMEX (USA) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The other guys and people I work with are awesome but management thinks they're better than you and always threaten you

    Cons

    batch man,I plant manager

    Advice to Management

    Keep your good drivers happy instead of always threaten to take money out of your check

    CEMEX (USA)2019-02-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at CEMEX (USA)

    Pros

    Great pay. Management was nice

    Cons

    Tough hours if you live far from the plant

    CEMEX (USA)2018-12-03
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great company Bad Managerial decisions affects employees and their families."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mixer Driver in Escondido, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CEMEX (USA) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay per hour people and managers are nice treat everyone well

    Cons

    The managers in charge of spending do not want to spend money on fixing old trucks, do not want to spend money on new trucks needed now. Because of this there are not enough trucks to provide excellent customer service and if you dont have a truck or your truck breaks down, because of this they expect you to drive to other plants and float on trucks not being used that day by their regular driver and on your dime.

    Advice to Management

    Buy new trucks and or fix old trucks now! Not doing so is costing the company, drivers, and their families. You shouldn't make decision that affect the drivers salary and families because you dont want to forfeit your bonuses. Give employees a Christmas party and buy us at the very least little Cesar's pizza once a month to say thank you. You'd be surprised the positive impact such a small act would make within your employees outlook on the company.

    Show More
    CEMEX (USA)2018-11-29
Found 157 reviews