CD PROJEKT RED Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

CD PROJEKT RED Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
CD PROJEKT RED CEO Adam Badowski
Adam Badowski
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "very friendly and talented people(in 11 reviews)

  • "Social events are valued highly here, there are plenty of studio parties and the studio don't hold back on the expenses to give us all a good time :)(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Living in Poland is not exactly easy, language, weather, etc(in 14 reviews)

  • "Low salaries, even compared to what other gamedev companies in Warsaw pay(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place with great creative people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Video Editor 

    I have been working at CD PROJEKT RED full-time

    Pros

    Creative people and enviroment to work

    Cons

    Living in Poland is not exactly easy, language, weather, etc

    CD PROJEKT RED2019-10-24
  2. "I had a good time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environment Artist in Kraków
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CD PROJEKT RED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible talented and fun team to work with!

    Cons

    Salary and work life balance

    CD PROJEKT RED2019-10-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "3.6 roentgen, not great, not terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CD PROJEKT RED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Projects, coworkers, learning opportunity, facilities,

    Cons

    Pay, management, rating system, progression , bonus allocation

    CD PROJEKT RED2019-09-18
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Arguably THE BEST AAA Game Dev Studio atm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer in Warsaw
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CD PROJEKT RED full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined CDP few months before E3 2019, before I worked at a several AAA game development studios in North America and Europe. I was there for a crunch period before the show, getting the demo ready. Anyways, the pros: -You got to work on the most anticipated game -There is some really advanced tech under the hood to work on -People are MUCH more motivated than at my previous jobs -26 days of paid vacations +... paid sick leave -Paid overtimes: 150% during weekdays, 200% on weekends. I've never seen anything like that in North America - you get 100%, in best case, or it's "but you're getting bonus/some random time-off". Here you get a fair pay AND a bonus. -Overtimes are optional: we had a meeting with a producer, who reiterated, that though they'd appreciate if we help, they don't want us to get tired and overworked. Few people of the team (including me) did some overtime, few didn't, I felt no peer-pressure. And again - I don't mind at all doing a few hours during a weekend for a DOUBLE money -Salaries are HUGE in the local purchase power (even without a bonus). If I were to live in UK, I'd need 6 figures yearly salary in pounds, so I could afford the same life quality. I am not sure you can get this at any other gamedev studio working on a AAA single-player title -The onsite gym and canteen are REALLY good and save a lot of time on commute - I was working out regularly even during crunch periods -The feedback system is very transparent and you get feedback every month -Last but not least - I really enjoy working with people which mean what they say, and which really need the work you do

    Show More

    Cons

    There hasn't been many for me so far, despite I've been very concerned reading the Glassdoor reviews :) But apparently, it's either they are too emotional, or the company has changed A LOT. Anyway, if I were to nitpick something to try to be objective: There were a few hiccups during the recruitment process: particularly, there were some delays in the interview process and a confusion for the starting date. Also,... the immigration process for the spouse was not very clearly explained, but it worked out well in the end.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Some people would love to work on CDP titles, but are afraid of moving to Poland. Consider opening a studio in North America (Montreal/LA could be good places to consider) to be able to attract international talent unwilling to relocate. Always, despite benefits are already fair, they can always be improved, especially compared to outside of gamedev (Google, Facebook etc). 1 hour of Polish lessons per week is... not enough for most of the people - having, at least, 3 hours/week would make it easier to learn it without taking classes elsewhere. Data science is currently underappreciated in the company - while this could work for AAA games, I don't think this is sustainable for products like Gwent and services like GOG.

    Show More
    CD PROJEKT RED2019-07-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Very talented and great people. Active self-growth. Production quality on very high level."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environment Artist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at CD PROJEKT RED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Studio, projects, people, feedback between team members, team - structure.

    Cons

    Salary, work time, trust to your employees.

    CD PROJEKT RED2019-04-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "No that bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CD PROJEKT RED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work ethic Good people Good equipment

    Cons

    rumours and lies fill the office

    Advice to Management

    Need to stop office rumours on discord servers

    CD PROJEKT RED2019-03-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great people and atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CD PROJEKT RED full-time

    Pros

    Talented people in every department Great atmosphere, you can really feel like friends and family there Frequent social events Dogs in the office! Tasty coffee and a wide variety of non-dairy milk

    Cons

    HR should have more time for the employees Low salaries and difficult promotion path

    CD PROJEKT RED2019-03-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good compaany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CD PROJEKT RED full-time

    Pros

    Salary and so on so on

    Cons

    no any cons its like that

    CD PROJEKT RED2019-03-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CD PROJEKT RED full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -challenging projects.. There is true passion behind the company. -Everyone is very friendly and outgoing. -the studio learns on its mistakes more often than not -great corporate culture. Frequent social events

    Cons

    Too much pressure and no life

    CD PROJEKT RED2019-02-28
  10. Helpful (23)

    "Terribly mismanaged company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Warsaw
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CD PROJEKT RED full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many great developers to work with Flexible work hours

    Cons

    Many teams are lead and/or directed by incompetent people who focus more on advancing their own career than shipping a good product. Developers are being fired if they speak up about their leads' incompetency. HR processes fail to solve any mismanagement issues, often leading to developers quitting their jobs. The upper management is rotten to the core and full of people skilled only in sucking up to the... directors. Complete mess in terms of production leading to crunch all the time. Many leads and directors lie constantly, both to their teams and their leads. People exposing those lies are often forced to leave or are straight out fired. Many developers have been asked to put up positive reviews here to hide how things really are. Low salaries, even compared to what other gamedev companies in Warsaw pay. Your career can be frozen by your lead based on lies he spreads about you and there will be no one to help you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Survey your developers to get an idea on the scale of mismanagement that's going on on a daily basis and get rid of all the producers and/or directors indicated by the results.

    CD PROJEKT RED2018-10-03
Found 73 reviews