BuroHappold Reviews

Updated Jun 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
BuroHappold Chief Executive Officer Neil Squibbs (no image)
Neil Squibbs
42 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The desire to exceed expectations can eat into work life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Workplace bullying from senior management affects the culture negatively(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work and a good work environment

    Cons

    Long working hours in senior roles

    BuroHappold Response

    July 9, 2020HR Insights and Reporting Analyst

    Thanks for a 'fantastic' review! Pleased to see that you're enjoying working with Buro Happold and getting stuck into interesting projects. We appreciate that working hours can spill over the standard hours sometimes, particularly during the last few weeks of working from home. We remain keen to work with project leaders to appropriately manage time commitments but if this becomes a struggle please speak to your line manager or local HR contact for support.

  2. "Graduate Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and inclusive environment, amazing projects

    Cons

    Lack of support in the first months

    BuroHappold Response

    July 9, 2020HR Insights and Reporting Analyst

    Thank you for your comments, it's great to know that you're finding Buro Happold a friendly and inclusive place to be. Sorry to hear that you felt you didn't get enough support during the first few months. We're always keen to improve so I would like to have an entirely confidential discussion - please get in touch with me on Teams or via email if you would like to discuss more.

  3. "An inclusive and diverse community of experts offering a wide range of engineering and design services"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Learning and professional development is encouraged and prompted by a variety of courses available to the employees - Cross-discipline collaboration on large scale exciting projects offers the opportunity to broaden professional views and perspectives - Friendly people and a nice ambience for a working environment

    Cons

    - Tendency for working late regime - Cascading hierarchies may give the feeling of reduced employee importance

    BuroHappold Response

    July 9, 2020Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

    Hello Thank you for taking time out to provide your feedback, it is really helpful.It was great to see 'inclusive and diverse' in your subject header, these are really important to us. Learning and Development is a critical part of our employee experience, especially during these current times, so it was pleasing to see this in your review. We are always interested to learn more about ourselves, so I would be keen to explore your comment about hierarchies in more detail if you can spare the time, please feel free to reach out to me internally. Many Thanks Lucy

  4. "Amazing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Intellectual stimulation, flexibility, collaboration, innovation

    Cons

    Still too focused on classic engineering

    BuroHappold Response

    July 9, 2020Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

    Hi There Really great to hear you are enjoying your time with us, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I've no doubt you will get to experience a diverse range of projects and engineering challenges as your career develops with us. Many Thanks Lucy

  5. "Positive"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Structural Engineer in Warsaw
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuroHappold full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great , smart people, interesting projects.

    Cons

    Low salary, long working hours, work/life balance

    BuroHappold Response

    June 2, 2020Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

    Hi There Thank you for taking time out to leave this review, it's much appreciated. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments about working hours and work life balance have been noted. We are currently undertaking research of our employees' experiences of our transition to home working during the pandemic , which includes questions on working hours/work life balance. This information will be used to help inform any necessary changes. All the best with your future endeavours. Kind Regards Lucy

  6. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Graduate Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, projects, social life and activities

    Cons

    Pay, long hours, lack of training and support

    BuroHappold Response

    May 19, 2020Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

    Hi There Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Great to hear you are enjoying life with Buro Happold. I note your point about training and support and would encourage you to reach out to your line manager, our Learning & Development team or your local HR Representative to discuss. There is so much available, especially our new virtual offerings right now. We're always ready to listen and offer support where needed. All the best Lucy

  7. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and positive members of staff, excellent recruitment and onboarding

    Cons

    Generally all good, it's a well run company

    BuroHappold Response

    May 19, 2020Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

    Hello A big thank you for taking time out to write a review, it is much appreciated. It's always helpful to get as much employee feedback as possible, be it in our internal surveys or external sites such as Glassdoor. Great to see you are enjoying your time with us! All the best Lucy

  8. "Chaos trickles down. Clients notice."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Proud brand and innovative work

    Cons

    Bipolar management structure, poor support systems

    Continue reading

    BuroHappold Response

    May 4, 2020HR Insights and Reporting Analyst

    Hi There Thank you for taking the time to provide such useful feedback. It’s obviously disappointing to hear this is your experience at Buro Happold but your insights will allow us to learn and grow as an organization. Our leadership is always open to hearing constructive feedback from staff at all levels within the firm and we encourage you to speak directly with your leadership team about your concerns. In addition, we will take your comments back to leadership to encourage positive change making us a stronger firm. Our HR colleagues in the US have read your review and have commented that they would be happy to discuss these with you in more detail (maintaining your anonymity) if you feel that would be helpful - if so please get in touch with John to have a confidential discussion. Thanks again for your time.

  9. "Data analysis based on acquisition from large building such as stadia and other venues for crowd simulation"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Data Scientist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Social inclusive work space with a wide variety of departments.

    Cons

    Working too many hours after regular program

    BuroHappold Response

    June 2, 2020Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

    Hello Many thanks for leaving this review, your feedback is very helpful. I hope you have used the opportunity to feed your thoughts about working hours into our current internal New Ways of Working Survey as it all helps inform how we move forward as a business. I hope things have settled down for you now but please reach out to your line manager or HR Representative if this is not the case, or I'm available for a chat if that helps. Perhaps post a question on our Rungway platform to start a discussion thread on this topic, the experiences of others may prove helpful. Thanks again for posting your comments. Kind Regards Lucy

  10. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lighting Designer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to develop skills and capabilities

    Cons

    Communication within the different teams is a mess. Not enough holiday allowance

Found 224 reviews