Burns & Wilcox Associate Underwriter Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Burns & Wilcox Associate Underwriter Reviews

Updated May 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Burns & Wilcox CEO Alan Jay Kaufman (no image)
Alan Jay Kaufman
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "The KC branch has great people, a fun environment, and many opportunities to grow your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Underwriter in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun and knowledgeable coworkers Opportunities for growth Interesting work Good work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind. I would work here again.

    Continue reading
    Burns & Wilcox2019-05-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, great experience, not so great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Exposure to many areas of Surplus Lines. Underwriting, brokerage, marketing

    Cons

    Difficult to move up in small markets, competing against other offices for the same business, normally expected to work from out of office putting in 40+ hours on most weeks (from home)

    Continue reading
    Burns & Wilcox2019-01-21
  3. Helpful (8)

    "NC Associate Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Commercial Lines Associate Underwriter in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burns & Wilcox

    Pros

    This company was a great place to start out fresh out of college and helped me get my foot in the door in the Insurance industry. People in the Morehead City office were lovely. Office is in a small town and most people grew up together. Great place to learn about the guidelines and requirements in the excess and surplus lines market. Growth is possible. Training is difficult to describe in my case because in 2013 when I started there was no formal training program in place, but they have improved the training procedures and learned to move employees a bit faster in 2014 and 2015. The Morehead City office and Wilmington office do business with mainly NC and SC agents which makes learning state requirements and specific guidelines a bit easier. Theses offices have exclusive access to certain contracts making them capable of writing business that other companies can not. Great team atmosphere that has a good system in place to assist others while people are out on vacation/sick leave. Great benefits with 401k match and health/dental/vision.

    Cons

    Management is focused on personal growth and office growth, but seems to overlook the actual act of helping their employees grow. They tend to assume that if an employee is asking for help then you they have too much to do, but really they should focus on teaching these employees better time management and better organizational skills to prevent pushing the work off on others. Because of this many employees end up have to help out other teams when there could be a different solution. If you do not speak up you will be overlooked (out of site out of mind is a real thing). Moving horizontally in the company is easier than vertically. If you want to move up into a new position you have to constantly be bugging your boss about it, almost to the point you are complaining. Every year they talk about setting up a schedule to have multiple reviews with the employees each year about their positions and goals, but I think in the 3 years I was there only 1 time was my review actually scheduled and any other time I talked to my boss or supervisors about my goals it was initiated by myself. After 1.5 years in a position (about 2.5 years with the company) I asked for a review and my boss did not know what my day to day job was or all of my capabilities. This was when I decided it was time to look elsewhere for a new job. I tried to handle leaving the company in the most professional way possible and all I have to say is management did not reciprocate this and handled my leaving rather inappropriately. Lastly the pay is mediocre unless you are an underwriter. Even an associate is not making enough salary and bonus wise to support themselves in Morehead City and Wilmington. The cost of living is not justified and I brought this up multiple times to management and it was brushed off.

    Continue reading
    Burns & Wilcox2016-08-22
  4. "Associate Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Broker/Underwriter in Morehead City, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & Wilcox

    Pros

    - Amazing office culture. - Elite training program for new hires. - Work-life balance is flexible.

    Cons

    - Terribly cold building so bring a jacket.

    Burns & Wilcox2016-08-04
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good company, bad office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Underwriter in Morehead City, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is moving into current times matching technology.

    Cons

    Very low advancement potential in the particular office I worked in. The higher ups played favorites and moved along their buddies.

    Continue reading
    Burns & Wilcox2015-06-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Who's who"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Broker/Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company has amazing relationships with its carriers and agents . B&W has exceptional financial and international strength as a Kaufman Financial Group subsidiary. KFG pays for all continuing education, which is a great plus for a recent graduate looking to further invest in their career and intellectual development.

    Cons

    As a new hire, expect to receive very little training and expected to do complicated underwriting tasks quickly. There is not a training and development department at the branch level. Therefore, the individuals involved in the training process also have to maintain the responsibilities of their workload while being responsible for the career development of new employees. Essentially this is a misappropriation of human resources and ineffective time management for everyone involved. It also makes the new person feel like an inconvenience. Don't expect to receive significant raises or praises for your efforts. This company makes you feel like they are doing you a favor by giving a job instead of rewarding hard work.

    Continue reading
    Burns & Wilcox2013-11-09
  7. "I love going to work every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Broker/Underwriter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & Wilcox

    Pros

    GREAT people, lots of freedom to build your own success, easy access to and interaction with senior management, a high level of employee support, encouragement and freedom to "be entrepreneurial", good reputation, an opportunity to be very successful in a short period of time

    Cons

    Not so much a con, but a caveat: the company invests a lot in its employees, and as such, there are high expectations placed on you. Also, time off is very limited, especially the first couple of years.

    Continue reading
    Burns & Wilcox2011-10-23
Found 7 reviews