Bupa Anonymous Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
18%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bupa Group CEO Evelyn Bourke
Evelyn Bourke
3 Ratings
  1. "Poor leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice colleagues who are really passionate about what they do

    Cons

    Lack of leadership accountability, no transparency around pay, ambiguous structure for career progression / get pay rise. Benefits aren't particularly good.

    Continue reading
    Bupa2019-10-19

    Bupa Response

    October 21, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I really do appreciate it. It's lovely to read you are working with nice colleagues who are really passionate about what they do, me too. We take all feedback very seriously, and I would encourage you to talk to your manager or People team about your cons and advice, or contact myself, Natalie Ward-Smith on 0113 3816100. Alternatively, you can provide more detailed feedback anonymously on Bupa’s “Speak Up” website www.bupa.com/speakup.

  2. "Hard to get work done"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work flexibility Met some great people

    Cons

    Poor leadership A lot of politics Too much ambiguity, constant restructures Very immature organisation, lack of structure and processes Lack of direction from leadership No accountability High turnover

    Continue reading
    Bupa2019-10-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "What will the future hold?"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some lovely people Convenient location Decent office Big name brand My job itself is interesting and varied

    Cons

    Very political, particularly where some senior managers are concerned Not enough is done to manage poor performance Reactive, rather than proactive attitudes Lack of appreciation that we offer high cost, high value products- some of the services we offer do not match this Lack of investment into technology Very silo’d working environment Unfair pay structure HR are very unhelpful

    Continue reading
    Bupa2019-07-31

    Bupa Response

    September 9, 2019Head of Resourcing, Bupa Global

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for expressing your concerns. We recognise that we have had some historic challenges i.e with legacy IT platforms, however please be assured that we are constantly working in the background on improving these and the leadership team is pro-actively encouraging much more collaborative working across our functions, geographies and hierarchy. Given your tenure with Bupa, it sounds like you have some really valuable insight and ideas that could support future changes so I would encourage you to share your feedback on Bupa’s “Speak Up” website www.bupa.com/speakup – this can be done anonymously if you wish.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great work life balance."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salford, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home 2 days a week. Amazing new building with great technology. Free drinks. Flexible holidays. Great career progression and opportunities. Support from colleagues and team/manager. Great variety of colleagues from all different walks of life. Good salary. PMI included as benefit with small fee. Great location of office in Salford Quays.

    Cons

    Call centre rules need a shake up as staff their aren't as happy as other areas of the business. There needs to be better incentives and better work life balance for front line teams.

    Bupa2018-10-17

    Bupa Response

    October 18, 2018OD Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really appreciate it. It's wonderful to hear you are having a positive experience working at Bupa and a great work life balance, and we agree there are many pros! Thank you for sharing your feedback on the call centre we will feed this back to the business line.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Loved working here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, where all employees are encouraged to learn, participate and make decisions. Bupa invests in their employee's development and wellness, they also have great benefit packages. Bupa's leaders are great mentors. Bupa is a place where you not only make a salary, is a company that cares about employees life balance, happiness and development. Love working here!

    Cons

    No cons, happy place to work!

    Continue reading
    Bupa2018-09-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Annonymous"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Wilmslow, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There definitely isn't any pros to working there.

    Cons

    Bupa is a company that really doesn't care about its staff and unless you like working with a manager who screams at staff - stay well clear!

    Continue reading
    Bupa2018-08-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Rare to come across an employer that places great emphasis on work life balance - Supportive management. - Opportunity for growth - Genuine team who collectively want to make a difference

    Cons

    - Salary not comparative in market - Performance Review Bonus is hard to get in front line positions. - Unequal spread of workload amongst team, not reimbursed for difference in load.

    Continue reading
    Bupa2017-11-01

    Bupa Response

    December 11, 2017Resourcing Partner

    Hi there, We appreciate this terrific review and also, appreciate the detail you have gone in to. Our people (and customers!) are at the centre of everything we do. Work life balance is incredibly important and it is pleasing to hear that this has had such a positive impact for you. Thanks for sharing. It looks like you have some great insights and potentially, could offer some suggestions which we would be interested in hearing. We are always open to suggestions around ways we can continually strive and improve to be an even better place to work. Do feel free to reach out and share your suggestions. We can be contracted by emailing employeefeedback@bupa.com.au. Merry Christmas! Thank you, Nhi & Ryan - Bupa People Team ANZ.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Having hard times work"

    1.0
    Anonymous 

    I have been working at Bupa

    Pros

    Its a big company thats all

    Cons

    Salary is low and work load is heavy

    Continue reading
    Bupa2014-11-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "People are great, work is interesting, shame about the pay and endless restructuring"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance and fun culture - great people and interesting work - giving organisation - focus on being healthy and happy

    Cons

    lacks robust internal operating structures causing endless restructures - performance and reward approach archaic and can be unfair (if not packaged stuck with small percentage increases in salary and forced to start at midline of range, old school government attitude - longer you're employed the more you earn) - as a manager, not empowered to reward and recognise

    Continue reading
    Bupa2014-05-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews