Building Educated Leaders for Life Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
71%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Building Educated Leaders for Life Chief Executive Officer Lauren Gilbert
Lauren Gilbert
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "You are working with underrepresented scholars from various backgrounds (ie(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great, mission driven organization and dedicated staff(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "no benefits(in 3 reviews)

  • "Senior Leadership is disconnected from other staff, also LAZY in many aspects(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      GREAT COMPANY! GREAT CAUSE!

      Aug 24, 2020 - Assistant Teacher in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoyed working for BELL. The work is very rewarding, but it isn't easy to get to the reward. You are working with underrepresented scholars from various backgrounds (ie. broken homes, poverty, substance abuse, etc.). You have to be prepared to work under such circumstances. You have to have a sense of understanding with the type of academic work that you will be doing along with the social and emotional work as well.

      Cons

      The program is pretty underfunded, so access to working internet, fast computers, books are not always available when needed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      The company's model didn't scale

      Feb 18, 2021 - Substitute Teacher in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great mission but Poorly executed company

      Cons

      Didn't care about its people.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great organization

      Jan 23, 2020 - Director in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved working here. Amazing team.

      Cons

      I can not really think of any.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company making a difference for the communities they serve

      Feb 6, 2019 - Quality Assurance Evaluator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with faculty and program staff across the country Observing various teaching strategies and curriculum at work Commitment to service under-resourced communities and partner with other orgs doing similar programming Comprehensive training on BELL tools

      Cons

      I wish there were opportunities to visit more sites. I expected to be busy through most of the summer, but there weren't enough program site matches to be truly part time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Time Depending On Location

      Mar 12, 2019 - Enrichment Teacher in Gaithersburg, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing Staff at Summit Hall site in Gaithersburg Really connected with my older student cluster Unforgettable scholars Life-changing experience

      Cons

      Wish there were year-long positions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good experience

      Apr 8, 2019 - Teaching Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to grow in your educational experience. Can use this job to propel into full time teaching. Great pay

      Cons

      no benefits. inconsistent leadership, they always leave. no job security

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall Great Summer Experience!

      Aug 23, 2018 - Summer Implementation Manager in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Great coworkers * Awesome scholars *Great experience

      Cons

      Depending on your geographic location, the interactions with the parents can be a bit aggressive and urban. Did feel like I was being tossed out in the fire with not enough prior preparation. Basically a learn as you go feel.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Great Values; Not a Great Experience

      Jul 10, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a strong mission and values, and it seems like many of the staff care about the children they work with. Most people I interacted with were passionate about their job, and really enjoyed working with the children.

      Cons

      They hire teachers with little to no experience for positions like "Group Leader" or "Teacher's Assistant," and expect them to know how to manage a classroom. Training is impractical- it focuses on the company and their mission/ values, rather than giving teachers practical tools to use. Even the "retraining" which was supposed to help us, again focused on the same things. Teachers are wholly unprepared in many cases and then are looked down on and told "this isn't the job for you" when they struggle with classroom management. Also, the rules tend to be based on the school that you are in, which makes transitioning very hard. I went from a school that didn't allow talking during homework time to a school where the "scholars" ran around, and yelled and screamed the whole time, and no one cared. There are little to no consequences when it comes to negative behavior, so scholars repeat the same behavior and there is nothing you can do about it. Leadership also varies by site. Some schools have program leaders you can speak to and open up to and some do not.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Rewarding and Gratifying Experience

      Jan 27, 2015 - Teacher in Dorchester, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -BELL's core values are straight forward and clearly enforced each and everyday of instruction. -BELL provides employees with extensive training as well as opportunities for professional development. -BELL allows for promotions when there are openings and when an employee displays their hard work and determination for the organization. -Upon being hired, I was given options as to which school location would be most convenient for me. -During my time at BELL, I was always supported by colleagues as well as received constant feedback and assistance from my cite manager as needed. -BELL's mission to help scholars in a free after school program is one that is had not to support. I found that BELL was always looking for ways to improve upon the teaching methods, behavioral management systems, and various other aspects of the organization. I cannot express enough how rewarding and gratifying my experience at BELL has been. I plan to continue working for BELL in my future.

      Cons

      -Cite location made using and having a classroom difficult. In my case, my class was subjected to use a small gymnasium. Luckily, the supplies given to us as teachers helped to adapt the gym into a classroom compatible for my students.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Good Mission/Vision, Ineffective Management

      Apr 15, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good life/work balance. A few good people who are passionate about the mission. *Seems* promising, but will they deliver?

      Cons

      Where do I begin? Senior Leadership is disconnected from other staff, also LAZY in many aspects. Would rather turn a blind eye or pass it on and then point the finger rather than take ownership - or even more novel - BE LEADERS! #irony Low morale is the result. Many are discontent or disillusioned so they skate by or "get comfortable" collecting a check without making a true impact -- all while Leadership knows this. No real staff development, no open-door policy, no real sense of culture or "family" as they claim. Teams do not work cohesively.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews

    Work at Building Educated Leaders for Life? Share Your Experiences

    Building Educated Leaders for Life logo
    or