Building Educated Leaders for Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Building Educated Leaders for Life Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Building Educated Leaders for Life CEO Lauren Gilbert
Lauren Gilbert
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Cares about employees, good salaries, moving forward to better the lives of scholars(in 9 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Reorganized to better serve our scholars which was needed but some people of course don't respond well to change(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Building Educated Leaders for Life part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to grow in your educational experience. Can use this job to propel into full time teaching. Great pay

    Cons

    no benefits. inconsistent leadership, they always leave. no job security

    Advice to Management

    be transparent with staff. let them know with time about any major changes and inconveniences to them. Staff appreciation.

    Building Educated Leaders for Life2019-04-09
  2. "Great Time Depending On Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrichment Teacher in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Building Educated Leaders for Life part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Staff at Summit Hall site in Gaithersburg Really connected with my older student cluster Unforgettable scholars Life-changing experience

    Cons

    Wish there were year-long positions

    Building Educated Leaders for Life2019-03-13
  3. "Great company making a difference for the communities they serve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Quality Assurance Evaluator in Remote, OR
      Recommends

      I have been working at Building Educated Leaders for Life part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working with faculty and program staff across the country Observing various teaching strategies and curriculum at work Commitment to service under-resourced communities and partner with other orgs doing similar programming Comprehensive training on BELL tools

      Cons

      I wish there were opportunities to visit more sites. I expected to be busy through most of the summer, but there weren't enough program site matches to be truly part time.

      Building Educated Leaders for Life2019-02-06
    • "Overall Great Summer Experience!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Summer Implementation Manager in Baltimore, MD
        Recommends

        I worked at Building Educated Leaders for Life full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        * Great coworkers * Awesome scholars *Great experience

        Cons

        Depending on your geographic location, the interactions with the parents can be a bit aggressive and urban. Did feel like I was being tossed out in the fire with not enough prior preparation. Basically a learn as you go feel.

        Advice to Management

        Help prepare for the summer a little earlier so everyone doesnt have to rush when the program begins

        Building Educated Leaders for Life2018-08-24
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great mission, poor employee culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Building Educated Leaders for Life

        Pros

        Nice co-workers, important mission for education

        Cons

        unnecessary hierarchy, constant strategic reorganization leads to disorganization , and awful benefits, Limited opportunities for growth, lack of staff culture. Lack of cultural competency amongst staff.

        Advice to Management

        Make clear employee pipeline for growth, prioritize diversity in all forms of leadership, improve healthcare plan and PD.

        Building Educated Leaders for Life2018-04-26
      • "Great people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Building Educated Leaders for Life full-time

        Pros

        People are great. Mission driven org.

        Cons

        Unproductive meetings to plan meetings

        Building Educated Leaders for Life2018-01-17
      • "Passion required, best job I have ever had."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Building Educated Leaders for Life full-time

        Pros

        Cares about employees, good salaries, moving forward to better the lives of scholars. If you care about children and have passion, this is the place for you.

        Cons

        Reorganized to better serve our scholars which was needed but some people of course don't respond well to change. We needed to change so I am grateful that we did!

        Advice to Management

        Please keep moving us forward!

        Building Educated Leaders for Life2018-01-04
      • Helpful (1)

        "Ehh"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Building Educated Leaders for Life

          Pros

          pay, nice perks, parking, mission was great

          Cons

          no communication, reorg changed things

          Building Educated Leaders for Life2018-01-02
        • "Great Place"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Assistant Director in Dorchester, MA
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Building Educated Leaders for Life full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Flexible work schedule, and culture

          Cons

          Not a lot of room for growth

          Advice to Management

          None

          Building Educated Leaders for Life2017-12-04
        • "Bell"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Building Educated Leaders for Life for less than a year

          Pros

          had a wonderful time working for bell learned alot

          Cons

          nothing would not change a thing

          Advice to Management

          Thank You

          Building Educated Leaders for Life2017-10-19
        Found 53 reviews