Building Educated Leaders for Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Building Educated Leaders for Life Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Building Educated Leaders for Life Chief Executive Officer Lauren Gilbert
Lauren Gilbert
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Cares about employees, good salaries, moving forward to better the lives of scholars(in 9 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Senior Leadership is disconnected from other staff, also LAZY in many aspects(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Building Educated Leaders for Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved working here. Amazing team.

    Cons

    I can not really think of any.

    Continue reading
    Building Educated Leaders for Life2020-01-23
  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Building Educated Leaders for Life part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to grow in your educational experience. Can use this job to propel into full time teaching. Great pay

    Cons

    no benefits. inconsistent leadership, they always leave. no job security

    Continue reading
    Building Educated Leaders for Life2019-04-09
  3. "Great Time Depending On Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrichment Teacher in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Building Educated Leaders for Life part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Staff at Summit Hall site in Gaithersburg Really connected with my older student cluster Unforgettable scholars Life-changing experience

    Cons

    Wish there were year-long positions

    Building Educated Leaders for Life2019-03-13
  4. "Great company making a difference for the communities they serve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Evaluator in Remote, OR
    Recommends

    I have been working at Building Educated Leaders for Life part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with faculty and program staff across the country Observing various teaching strategies and curriculum at work Commitment to service under-resourced communities and partner with other orgs doing similar programming Comprehensive training on BELL tools

    Cons

    I wish there were opportunities to visit more sites. I expected to be busy through most of the summer, but there weren't enough program site matches to be truly part time.

    Building Educated Leaders for Life2019-02-06
  5. "Overall Great Summer Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Summer Implementation Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends

    I worked at Building Educated Leaders for Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Great coworkers * Awesome scholars *Great experience

    Cons

    Depending on your geographic location, the interactions with the parents can be a bit aggressive and urban. Did feel like I was being tossed out in the fire with not enough prior preparation. Basically a learn as you go feel.

    Continue reading
    Building Educated Leaders for Life2018-08-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great mission, poor employee culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Building Educated Leaders for Life

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, important mission for education

    Cons

    unnecessary hierarchy, constant strategic reorganization leads to disorganization , and awful benefits, Limited opportunities for growth, lack of staff culture. Lack of cultural competency amongst staff.

    Continue reading
    Building Educated Leaders for Life2018-04-26
  7. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Building Educated Leaders for Life full-time

    Pros

    People are great. Mission driven org.

    Cons

    Unproductive meetings to plan meetings

    Building Educated Leaders for Life2018-01-17
  8. "Passion required, best job I have ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Building Educated Leaders for Life full-time

    Pros

    Cares about employees, good salaries, moving forward to better the lives of scholars. If you care about children and have passion, this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Reorganized to better serve our scholars which was needed but some people of course don't respond well to change. We needed to change so I am grateful that we did!

    Continue reading
    Building Educated Leaders for Life2018-01-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Ehh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Building Educated Leaders for Life

    Pros

    pay, nice perks, parking, mission was great

    Cons

    no communication, reorg changed things

    Building Educated Leaders for Life2018-01-02
  10. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director in Dorchester, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Building Educated Leaders for Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, and culture

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth

    Continue reading
    Building Educated Leaders for Life2017-12-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 54 reviews