Brookfield Renewable Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Brookfield Renewable Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 161 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Brookfield Renewable CEO Sachin Shah
Sachin Shah
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "rea de Recursos Humanos e Administrativa muito focadas em melhorar o ambiente de trabalho(in 13 reviews)

  • "cios, ambiente de trabalho, rela(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are currently no cons of working at Brookfield(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at Brookfield Renewable full-time

    Pros

    The work is challenging and rewarding

    Cons

    The office location could be better

    Brookfield Renewable2019-07-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Gatineau, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookfield Renewable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits packages. Good consistent bonus.

    Cons

    No good long term strategy on technology directions, and generally reactive. Disorganized and reactive.

    Advice to Management

    Foster an environment where initiative is rewarded, not discouraged

    Brookfield Renewable2019-08-29
  3. "62% of my pension cost me $1200 per month less on my pension"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fraser Papers In Edmundston Nb in Edmundston, NB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brookfield Renewable full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    none they take your life away from your family

    Cons

    they take your pension plans

    Advice to Management

    beware of them

    Brookfield Renewable2019-08-24
  4. "Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brookfield Renewable full-time

    Pros

    -lovely building to work in

    Cons

    -Underpaid & Overworked -No way to progress in the organization

    Brookfield Renewable2019-04-29
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great company ***"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brookfield Renewable full-time

    Pros

    Excellent compensation and benefits package Lots of career opportunities Dynamic Lots of very smart and hard working people

    Cons

    Can be chaotic Frequent organizational changes - people based reorganizations are a constant fact of life Not a learning organization -there's no time or mandate Manager and supervisors are not the best people managers

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers and supervisors to manage people better

    Brookfield Renewable2019-03-30
  6. "supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookfield Renewable full-time

    Pros

    great people, good building environment

    Cons

    corp vision, number 1 goal is ROR

    Brookfield Renewable2019-03-13
  7. "Solid career starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookfield Renewable full-time

    Pros

    Provides opportunity to learn and develop as a young professional

    Cons

    Hard to bring change as senior management could be too risk-averse

    Brookfield Renewable2019-01-14
  8. "system analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookfield Renewable

    Pros

    They pay above market rates.

    Cons

    The hours are long and no room to move up.

    Brookfield Renewable2018-08-24
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Heartbroken"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Brookfield Renewable full-time

    Pros

    I loved to work there. Great people, and I mean everyone in BEMI, in the Ops, in Gatineau, Boston, LA, Marlborough, they are all amazing smart people, all super dedicated! I had challenging work and I learned a ton.

    Cons

    Always stay on your toes because management will change their mind on a dime, one day you're the star and the next, you're trash.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorite with younger people, great talent exists in all ages!

    Brookfield Renewable2018-07-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work with challenging experiences in a very fast paced environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Gatineau, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookfield Renewable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging Fast paced, you’ll never get bored Autonomy Caring and friendly co-workers Benefits including gym and free workouts classes during summer Dinner provided during quarter-ends

    Cons

    Can be overwhelming if direct management isn’t supportive Lots of work hours, it’s not for everyone

    Advice to Management

    There is a disconnect between upper management and management running the accounting team. This disconnect is largely due to sugar coating from middle management and lack of intentional interaction by VP with the accounting staff and the management team in NA platform. If management wants team to sweat blood for them, they need to feel like they are part of the organization and not another number. I think the VP... needs to make presence felt through conscious personable interactions with her accounting staff on the floor. Direct management in accounting team has improved immensely and has realized that it needs improving constantly, but I think they need to stop sugar coating to their VP about internal staff dissatisfaction of workplace stress. Be open to taking risks on your staff. You work for a great cause and it is easier to get your staff behind you 100% of the way.

    Show More
    Brookfield Renewable2018-07-08
Found 161 reviews