Brookfield Properties Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Brookfield Properties Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Ric Clark
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and commission structure(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great pay and benefits and senior management is not horrible(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Employees often work long hours on weekdays and weekends(in 4 reviews)

  • "Not a great place to be a full time employee(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great atmosphere and team dynamics - Canada Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Brookfield Properties full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Definitely goes against the conventional thinking of working for a large company. Being in my current team made me feel like working at a small company within a large company in terms of being close and connected to my peers. I definitely don't feel like "just a number" and that my opinions matter and personal growth is encouraged and supported.

    Cons

    Salary is low compared to market for similar roles. Employee retention within the department is being held together by the connections built and the working environment.

    Advice to Management

    Turnovers are mainly due to the company's non-competitive compensation packages. Annual merit increases does not keep up with market. Regular review should be done for high-performing employees and appropriately addressed.

    Brookfield Properties2019-05-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Midtown Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookfield Properties full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    diversity in work, good benefits

    Cons

    bureaucratic, dead end, no recognition, little autonomy, cliques

    Advice to Management

    aim for better communication, delegate to staff

    Brookfield Properties2019-03-04
  3. "Property Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brookfield Properties full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people to work with

    Cons

    No mentorship or development program

    Brookfield Properties2018-10-07
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Brookfield Properties

      Pros

      Impressive portfolio Good hours - don’t need to stay too late Strong management

      Cons

      Outdated office Early start time Many different offices

      Brookfield Properties2018-09-21
    • "Dead end"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Brookfield Properties full-time

      Pros

      Free parking. Easy going company

      Cons

      No room for advancement. People are looked at as numbers

      Brookfield Properties2018-03-14
    • "Excellent Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Brookfield Properties

      Pros

      Very positive work environment and great team spirit. They foster growth and promote from within whenever possible. Relocations are also possible should an opening be available.

      Cons

      If you can't work with protocols (being a public company) this isn't for you.

      Brookfield Properties2018-01-25
    • "Love my job!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Brookfield Properties full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great work environment & strong collaboration amongst the property team; Support & opportunities for growth; HR is proactive & supportive in helping me deal with staffing; Have lots of autonomy once trust is built; Supports my professional development with honest constructive feedback from my manager.

      Cons

      Open office environment can be very distracting; Computer networks are terrible and IT call centre is terrible; Could do a better job of communicating regional staff changes.

      Advice to Management

      Formally announce staff changes and encourage more consistency amongst all of the properties.

      Brookfield Properties2017-02-25
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Coordinator in Calgary, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Brookfield Properties full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - Friendly staff who are team orientated. - HR has a great presence and are always available - Lots of opportunities for growth - Corporate always communicates with staff ensuring you are part of the bigger picture - Great benefits and work/ life balance

      Cons

      - Technology is really bad. Computers are slow and programs don’t work well. - Difficult to change/ improve any processes as long term staff prefer old ways and aren't flexible.

      Advice to Management

      Some new programs and improvements to processes could really help make us run more effectively and efficiently.

      Brookfield Properties2017-02-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Worth the super extra effort"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Brookfield Properties full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Intelligent, hard-working, shrewd co-workers. Very little politics and everyone is open about what they're working on; everyone has a common goal. Kitchen is stocked with soup and excellent coffee and fridge has juice/pop. Office supplies aplenty. Excellent place to learn because you will be doing the job of four people at other organizations.

      Cons

      Open concept - there are no offices for anyone (even the CEO). Meeting rooms are in short supply. Not a good company for someone who wants to coast through their career - the job will be demanding and the environment is constantly changing. Top management runs the company and HR hasn't changed in 20 years. Compensation is low compared to other real estate companies.

      Advice to Management

      Try and retain your high performers by paying them a little more money. Otherwise, people will take their experience and go to the competitor.

      Brookfield Properties2016-03-06
    • "Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant in Toronto, ON

      I worked at Brookfield Properties for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Co-workers were really great caring people.

      Cons

      Little room for advancement within the company.

      Brookfield Properties2016-02-25
    Found 70 reviews