BroadbandTV Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BroadbandTV Reviews

Updated Mar 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
BroadbandTV Founder and CEO 	Shahrzad Rafati (no image)
Shahrzad Rafati
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "BBTV is an exciting company in a fast paced industry(in 12 reviews)

  • "Pay and benefits are pretty good, seem fairly standard for Vancouver(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "BBTV is an extremely dysfunctional and demoralizing place to work(in 11 reviews)

  • "Indecisive upper management requires endless planning and justification for projects(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing culture, amazing people and amazing perks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branding in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Monthly team lunches outside of the office - They also post new jobs internally before opening externally so you can move up in the company very fast or switch departments - Cool events like, summer games, gingerbread making competitions, in-office bull riding, etc - flexible work hours as long as you work an 8 hour day which gives you the most awesome work/life balance - work wherever you'd like in the two floor, open concept office. (couches, pods, offices, etc) - BBTV community groups (Hiking, Book Clubs, etc) - Happy Hours - Healthy snacks/breakfast Monday and Wednesday and Rock Salt Bagels and spreads on Fridays - 5 complimentary personal days a year for when you just need a health break

    Cons

    Meetings - This is a pro and con as meetings are usually short and to the point :)

    BroadbandTV2019-12-13

    BroadbandTV Response

    February 6, 2020

    We really enjoyed reading this review. We are happy that the programs and initiatives we have put in place are creating such a positive office culture. Thanks for being a part of our wonderful BBTVFam!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Vaporware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - YouTube 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good restaurants in the area

    Cons

    - Work gets passed on to other departments without ever getting resolved - Back end is unorganized - Managers and departments have tunnel vision and are indecisive - Company is cheap

    BroadbandTV2020-03-17

    BroadbandTV Response

    March 19, 2020

    Thank-you for taking the time to write this review. We really do appreciate your feedback. BBTV has gone through incredible growth since its inception and we acknowledge that it can cause growing pains and adjustment within the back-end workflows at times. We are constantly developing programs and initiatives across the business to make every employee’s experience a bright one. As you’re a current employee, we hope you can reach out to your leadership or HR so we can discuss your unique situation further.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great social life / poor pay structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Partnerships Representative in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great and young people to work with, lots of fun events.

    Cons

    Pay is poor and the company seems to find a way to pay you the lowest commission possible every month. Little opportunity for upward movement.

    BroadbandTV2020-03-04

    BroadbandTV Response

    March 10, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback! We’re happy to hear that you find BBTV to be a fun workplace, as we take pride in cultivating an inviting and positive culture. However, we’re sorry to hear that some of your expectations aren’t being met. Our commissions structure is designed for our unique business and is built on and calculated with data. On upwards movement, while available opportunities depend on business needs we do have a commitment to the continued development of our team members. We also have a Learning & Development program that provides employees with a budget to apply towards opportunities to further their growth. We’re also very proud of our internal mobility program, which provides employees with the opportunity to transfer to roles in other departments. We do acknowledge this does not mean an opportunity is available for everyone at any given time. However, the program has been very successful at promoting growth and movement within BBTV. While we’re proud of what we have put in place we are always working on the continuous improvement of our programs and policies.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great workplace at growing tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partner Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BroadbandTV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Learning opportunity Terrific culture with a a nurturing environment Management wants you to succeed

    Cons

    Difficult to transition within the organization

    BroadbandTV2020-01-28

    BroadbandTV Response

    February 6, 2020

    We’re happy to hear that you felt nurtured and set up for success while working at BBTV. We are sorry to hear that you found transitioning throughout the company was difficult. BBTV is very proud of the internal mobility program we have put in place where employees have the opportunity to take on new roles and responsibilities in other departments. This program has been very successful at encouraging internal mobility but we do realize it does not mean a desired role is always available for those wanting to transition. It’s important to us that we encourage our team to gain insights and learnings from others in the company through a number of initiatives. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and best of luck in your new role.

    Continue reading
  5. "Was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BroadbandTV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Snacks, People, Events, location, building

    Cons

    Work ethnic, managers, support, HR

    BroadbandTV2020-01-10

    BroadbandTV Response

    February 6, 2020

    We appreciate you sharing your thoughts. We’re sorry to hear that not all your expectations were met, but are glad that you had some positive experiences during your time with BBTV. We have developed a number of manager focused development programs across the business and continue to strive to make each employee’s experience a great one.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A Worthy Place to Build Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    BBTV is an exciting company in a fast paced industry. What really stands out is the passion that each person brings to their work. There are a lot of bright and talented people at this company who are building something very special. Like any company, you can find pockets of challenges but they are few and far between. The culture is energetic, bright, fun and progressive. There are a lot of things the company has done to ensure a great experience for the employees, including ample opportunities to grow and develop through their various programs. It's also encouraging to be a part of a company that inspires us to care about important social issues such as corporate citizenship, environmental impact, equality and many others. Overall, one of the best professional experiences of my career.

    Cons

    Operational inefficiencies can be frustrating - long approval times, and tight approval processes can feel disempowering and discouraging.

    Continue reading
    BroadbandTV2019-11-21

    BroadbandTV Response

    December 12, 2019

    This was great overall feedback to read. We thrive, we have a passionate team and we are proud to create a positive culture throughout the company. We%E2%80%99re happy to have you be part. We hear you when it comes to some of the challenges you experienced, and thank you for your advice. We agree that the team here is incredible and full of potential!

    Continue reading
  7. "Really depends on your department..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BroadbandTV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great office - Central location - Great clients

    Cons

    - Restrictive Management - Lack of Progression - No Career Progression - Micro-Management - Lack of Clear Strategic Company Sision

    Continue reading
    BroadbandTV2019-11-18

    BroadbandTV Response

    December 12, 2019

    Thank you for the feedback. It%E2%80%99s good to hear that you had some positive experiences and we are sorry that overall some of your expectations were not met. We constantly strive to take our culture to the next level through our numerous employee development and employee connection programs, and we really value the feedback of our people. We're extremely proud to have a female founding CEO that has built a global leading business, and want to ensure there are ongoing opportunities for people across all areas of the business to collaborate, develop personally, and take the business forward.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company shows loyalty and listens to you when you have something to say. The company is growing and is an exciting place to work with new projects coming on board. The CEO is inspiring and the company is always putting on fun events that help bring all the teams together.

    Cons

    Maybe better selection in the vending machine

    BroadbandTV2019-09-12

    BroadbandTV Response

    September 12, 2019

    Care is one of our core values, so we're happy to hear that you have felt heard and that you've experienced genuine response to your thoughts and ideas. We have an inspiring team (CEO and yourself included) so we are intentional in working to create a safe and diverse environment where everyone's ideas and experiences can be openly shared and discussed. It's the best way for us to learn and grow as a business, and as a team. Thank you for sharing your experience here! Cons, we hear you. We ran out of rice krispies today and it was touch and go... ;)

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (11)

    "BroadbandTV provides a great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PR and Corporate Communications Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been at BroadbandTV for 3 months now and it's been a long time since I've been as happy as I currently am at a place of employment. Here are a few reasons why: * Chance to work for a very smart female CEO * Equality not only in the work force but within the pay structure * Collaborative and supportive work environment * Opportunities to lead work on very exciting company announcements * Wonderful co-workers who I am lucky enough to work with every day * Opportunity to grow and learn * Good salary * Amazing staff events to keep employees engaged and having fun * Positive work culture * Balance between work and home life

    Cons

    At this point I don't have any cons.

    BroadbandTV2019-08-27

    BroadbandTV Response

    August 28, 2019

    Awesome, we love this feedback! While we recognize we're on a learning journey with our team members and are committed to continued growth, we are so happy to hear that the programs and initiatives already launched are making a positive impact - equality, balance and growth are all words we love to hear. We've also had a record number of team members engage with both internal and external learning opportunities this year, so we're excited to see how you use both your learning and experience budgets! Thanks for being a part of our community :)

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Professional, Supportive & Hardworking Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive HR team - Flexible hours to accommodate employees. - Working with driven and passionate people. - Many cross functioning projects available if people have interest in gaining experience in other departments within the workplace. - BBTV encourages employees to utilize the space we have and offers many lounge areas and stand up desks to better the working conditions which a fantastic pro so you are not restricted to your desk all day. - Equality in the workspace. - Opportunity for consistent growth. - Great support from managers. - Genuinely feel like you have a purpose and are recognized for your commitment to the company by not only your manager but by colleagues also. - Unique office with great perks and happy atmosphere. - Bonuses for your milestones hit with the company. - No your usual work environment. The company offers seasonal events and happy hours every month. Great opportunity to mingle!

    Cons

    - Politics in the workspace that can be off setting at times. - Little time off during holiday season.

    BroadbandTV2019-08-20

    BroadbandTV Response

    August 22, 2019

    We love this feedback. Thank you for sharing - equality and opportunity are two words we love to see in a review! We appreciate you adding to our community and look forward to hearing how you spend your Employee Experience (milestone) funds! As for office politics, we're glad they don't seem to be actively impacting your experience but also hear this feedback and don't support those types of behaviours in the office. If you're comfortable sharing with your manager or HRBP we would like to learn from your experience.

    Continue reading
Found 107 reviews