British Airways Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

British Airways Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
British Airways CEO Alex Cruz (no image)
Alex Cruz
382 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Skills developed are often quite airline specific so can be difficult to switch jobs outside the(in 40 reviews)

  • "Not the best pay and work/ life balance can be hard when rosters are busy(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer service agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways

    Pros

    Great travel benefits Great union Possibility to do a lot of overtime

    Cons

    Not enough employees Required to be in many places as once

    Advice to Management

    Be kinder to your employees

    British Airways2015-06-27
  2. "Good competitor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Maintenance Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Warm and friendly good team work

    Cons

    In the process of change with new aircraft fleet

    British Airways2019-10-24
  3. "Airport manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Airways

    Pros

    Exciting and interesting. You learn a lot and there is always something new going on. You can easily move between job roles and there are a lot of internal opportunities.

    Cons

    Hard to get a pay raise as levels are restricted and pay goes a lot by seniority. Can be quite political in terms of career progression.

    British Airways2017-06-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "So-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Airways part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Travel Benefits: Very cheap prices for airfare and great deals for hotels. • Great Union: You always have their support! Quite a number of union reps in one station.

    Cons

    • Management could be much better. • Forever Understaffed: No matter how many people are hired, we always struggle to make ends meet. Always had to do more than one job at a time (baggage, check-in and gates all in one day). • Not a Fun Environment: Everyone's always stressed, including the managers. If the managers are stressed, the employees are stressed. Also, we can't even dress up for holidays to make... employees seem more approachable to passengers; ie. Halloween or Christmas. I don't think it'll kill our image if we put on a fun costume for the kids and distribute candy or if we put Santa hats on and decorate our counters. • No More Full-Time Positions: It's all part-time shifts. You can't live off of part-time shifts in this economy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Is there a way to make the stations more fun?

    British Airways2015-11-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "What a dead end job, full of nasty employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Airways part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits, health plan, interesting environment sometimes.

    Cons

    All evening work, managers who cared only about themselves. Back -stabbing culture, filled with inconsistencies,lies,cover-ups, workplace sexual harassment, misleading information, politics, fighting,yelling. It took me a long time after I left this company to feel safe about flying again. Way too many "decision makers", and none of them could agree on anything. Failed promises, etc. etc...I could write a book on... this place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Where do I begin? Look in the mirror and see that you need to change yourselves if you want happy and satisfied employees. Before you yell at them because they are not like you (as if ANYONE would want to be like you!) look at yourself. Seek help with your own personal issues so you can come to work rested and somewhat happy, and teach yourself, and your employees, to leave their personal B.S. at home.

    British Airways2015-01-27
  6. "Cabin crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at British Airways full-time

    Pros

    Great trips as mixed fleet

    Cons

    Low pay. It not terrible

    British Airways2019-11-10
  7. "Team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Zürich
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at British Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    New airline in Brazil. Very interesting job and good future ahead. I have airline experience and speak 5 languages.

    Cons

    Concurrence to other big airlines.

    Advice to Management

    Give me a chance to join tis new airline Virgin Atlantic in Brazil. May be they xpand to rest of Soauth America.

    British Airways2019-11-08
  8. "Nice benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservation Sales Agent in Lyon

    I worked at British Airways full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly coworkers, good team spirit

    Cons

    struggles in this industry lead to our office to close:(

    British Airways2019-11-08
  9. "First time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Trainer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice office and easy parking

    Cons

    Early starts! And not enough resour ce

    Advice to Management

    Fish rots from head down

    British Airways2019-11-07
  10. "Aviation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Aircraft Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice staff and a respectable job

    Cons

    Only work for 5 days a week

    British Airways2019-11-04
Found 1004 reviews