British Airways Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
British Airways Chairman and CEO Alex Cruz (no image)
Alex Cruz
438 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff travel at bare minimum rates huge discount travel made easy great leave policy(in 185 reviews)

  • "Great policies and travel benefits(in 67 reviews)

Cons
  • "Skills developed are often quite airline specific so can be difficult to switch jobs outside the(in 41 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be difficult in some roles(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer service agent"

    5.0
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways

    Pros

    Great travel benefits Great union Possibility to do a lot of overtime

    Cons

    Not enough employees Required to be in many places as once

    Continue reading
    British Airways2015-06-27
  2. "Ok"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at British Airways full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits but not sure of good or not

    Cons

    None but filling out form only

    Continue reading
    British Airways2020-05-01
  3. "Good competitor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Maintenance Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Warm and friendly good team work

    Cons

    In the process of change with new aircraft fleet

    British Airways2019-10-24

    British Airways Response

    November 8, 2019Content and Channels Manager

    We’re immensely proud to have passionate people working around the world as part of the BA family and it’s great to receive such positive comments. Our £6.5 billion investment in our customer experience is moving quickly. You will have seen this recently at Toronto with the arrival of our new A350 aircraft, featuring the new Club Suite, and there’s plenty more improvements still to come! Thank you for leaving your review.

  4. "Airport manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Airways

    Pros

    Exciting and interesting. You learn a lot and there is always something new going on. You can easily move between job roles and there are a lot of internal opportunities.

    Cons

    Hard to get a pay raise as levels are restricted and pay goes a lot by seniority. Can be quite political in terms of career progression.

    British Airways2017-06-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "So-so"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Airways part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Travel Benefits: Very cheap prices for airfare and great deals for hotels. • Great Union: You always have their support! Quite a number of union reps in one station.

    Cons

    • Management could be much better. • Forever Understaffed: No matter how many people are hired, we always struggle to make ends meet. Always had to do more than one job at a time (baggage, check-in and gates all in one day). • Not a Fun Environment: Everyone's always stressed, including the managers. If the managers are stressed, the employees are stressed. Also, we can't even dress up for holidays to make employees seem more approachable to passengers; ie. Halloween or Christmas. I don't think it'll kill our image if we put on a fun costume for the kids and distribute candy or if we put Santa hats on and decorate our counters. • No More Full-Time Positions: It's all part-time shifts. You can't live off of part-time shifts in this economy.

    Continue reading
    British Airways2015-11-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "What a dead end job, full of nasty employees."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Airways part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits, health plan, interesting environment sometimes.

    Cons

    All evening work, managers who cared only about themselves. Back -stabbing culture, filled with inconsistencies,lies,cover-ups, workplace sexual harassment, misleading information, politics, fighting,yelling. It took me a long time after I left this company to feel safe about flying again. Way too many "decision makers", and none of them could agree on anything. Failed promises, etc. etc...I could write a book on this place.

    Continue reading
    British Airways2015-01-27
  7. "A good employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Globally focused Fair conditions Leader

    Cons

    Challenging industry in an ever changing world

    Continue reading
    British Airways2020-05-23
  8. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in City of London, England

    I have been working at British Airways full-time

    Pros

    Great way to travel and earn

    Cons

    Takes some adjustments in the beginning

    British Airways2020-05-22
  9. "Good"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Airline Pilot in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Airways full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was good very good man

    Cons

    There was nothing bad to be honest

    British Airways2020-05-21
  10. "Chance of a lifetime - if you like travel"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worldwide extensive network, flexibility of choice of when and where you wish to work. Great team work.

    Cons

    Year round work, 24/7 potential to work,

    Continue reading
    British Airways2020-05-21
Found 1126 reviews