Brink's, Incorporated Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Brink's, Incorporated Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Brink's, Incorporated CEO Douglas A. Pertz
Douglas A. Pertz
122 Ratings
Pros
  • "Plenty of Overtime, get to experience the whole county, good people(in 34 reviews)

  • "There are some really great people that work there(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brink's, Incorporated part-time

    Pros

    Friendly receptionist Professional and welcoming supervisors and hiring staff Friendly work staff

    Cons

    In my short time there I saw none

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Brink's, Incorporated2018-08-14
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Driver/ Vault worker/ Guard/ Messanger/ Crew chief"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brink's, Incorporated part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Brinks is a resume booster it shows that you can be trusted with money and firearms. - pays better than other armoured car companies - as a part timer you get to pick and choose your days - the average employees are decent people to work with It is a good stepping stone for policing border services, military and other law enforcement

    Cons

    -There is little to no advancement it is next to impossible to get full-time with benefits. -the company breaks the law all the time and they don't even care. I have seen them break firearms laws, transportation laws and environmental laws - don't even think about asking for a day off because management are super unreasonable -opportunities for advancement are very rare -the Union doesn't adequately represented... members -the company only cares about corporate greed - advancements are given based on seniority not who is the best candidate

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Start treating your people better and they will go the extra mile for you. - I quit because of how poorly I was treated. I saw a new face on the wall every single week and that tells you something about your retention. People quit their bosses not their jobs

    Brink's, Incorporated2019-04-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Garbage management likes to cut corners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver, Then Messenger in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brink's, Incorporated full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good start out pay, supply all the gear, pretty easy to get the hang of.

    Cons

    Everyone will throw you under the bus if it gets them out of trouble. Management is salary so if they have to do any extra work they get pissed. When a specific manager I worked with would get forced on the truck (short drivers) he would cut corners, rush through and could turn a 12 hour run into 10, then management would wonder why none of the regular staff could! I actually ended up getting fired because the one... night I worked with him, a bunch of things got messed up and he blamed the entire night on me, and I wrote him up on 2 massive violations that he made but was still under probation. They actually didnt fire me til 2 months after the incident because they couldnt afford to lose me at the time, since I was someone that could be on call and could show up in 20 minutes for a shift. I was fired about 4 weeks before probation was up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no advice to give. Management doesnt actually exist at brinks. Its just a group of people who get paid more then the others to make stupid, and usually wrong decisions. My advice, get real leaders.

    Brink's, Incorporated2018-01-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Armed Guard / Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brink's, Incorporated part-time

    Pros

    the job is easy and pay is okay, you choose the days your available to work

    Cons

    unsteady work, no guaranteed hours , unsafe practices , unfair management, lengthy wait to get full time.

    Advice to Management

    if they weren't so focused on corporate greed they would actually have people go the extra mile for them

    Brink's, Incorporated2017-12-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "If you're looking for full time, look somewhere else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver/Messenger in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brink's, Incorporated part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a good stepping stone to police if that's where you want to be. As a part timer, you can pick and choose your hours.

    Cons

    If you want a full time job look elsewhere because you'll never make full time. There's just not enough work.

    Advice to Management

    Need to secure more contracts. Not enough full time opportunities

    Brink's, Incorporated2017-10-30
  6. "Brinks crew chief"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Brink's, Incorporated

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits interesting work and lots of good people

    Cons

    Can take a long time to get full-time status and if you do will be night shifts.

    Brink's, Incorporated2017-06-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Little positives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver/Messenger in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Brink's, Incorporated full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling if you're part-time Lots of great co-workers

    Cons

    Paid $5 an hour less as part-timer, even though you do the same tasks/jobs You don't matter to management Management will tell you anything they want to get what they need Unfulfilled promises by management Very very little room for advancement Company is going downhill fast. A sinking ship.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your staff. They do matter. They can help you succeed.

    Brink's, Incorporated2016-09-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "One of the worst jobs I've ever had. I woudn't recommend Brinks to anyone for employment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Armored Vehicle Driver in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Brink's, Incorporated part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Access to firearms and an on-site shooting range to practice. -Driving around in an armored truck, wearing a good-looking uniform with a gun on your belt. -That's all.

    Cons

    -Completely inadequate pay for the type of work you do, and a risk associated with it (part-timers are getting just over a minimum wage). -No work-life balance AT ALL. -Very long working hours. It is not unusual for a Brinks driver to pull 13-14 hours shift behind the wheel of a company's vehicle, if the business requires, with only one 30-minute break (which is technically against the law, but the company... doesn't care). I should have became an AZ truck driver instead. At least, those guys make good money. -Many company's vehicles are so old and are in such poor condition, that wouldn't look out of place in a scrapyard, and sure wouldn't pass any safety inspection. The company seems to be exempt from provincial and federal laws regarding commercial vehicles safety, otherwise half of it's fleet would be impounded by MTO. -Front-line staff are completely at management's and dispatchers' mercy. Dispatch can change any vehicle's route without asking it's crew's consent, even if it completely messes up their route schedule. -Full-time employees are unionized, and are treating part-timers like garbage. -Management provides no feedback to employers' about their performance. I was terminated without ANY prior warnings just because I was late once by 5 minutes! Needless to say, I was quite happy to leave that job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Get back to reality and start appreciating a little bit your employees' work. -Try providing some kind of feedback to your employees about their performance BEFORE taking a disciplinary action against them! -Consider replacing those of the company's vehicles that fail to meet basic safety requirements, as opposed to continuing to keep them on the road, waiting for an accident to occur.

    Brink's, Incorporated2016-08-31
  9. Helpful (4)

    "TOXIC WORKPLACE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brink's, Incorporated full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard to say when there are so many negatives.....

    Cons

    Brink’s perfectly defines a toxic workplace. I’m not one to write negative reviews but this one is a must. The management are motivated by personal gain (power, money, special status), they use unethical, mean-spirited means to manipulate employees or divert attention away from their performance shortfalls and misdeeds. They do not recognize a duty to the organization for which they work or their co-workers in... terms of ethics or professional conduct toward others. They define relationships with co-workers, not by the organizational structure but by co-workers they favour and those they do not like or trust. I have never seen anything illegal but definitely unethical and immoral. Then they wonder why they have a huge list of employee absences and medical leave. Hmmm….maybe because you treat your employees like shit?!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean up your act. Start with upper management and work your way down. You have great employees working for you but you are only promoting those that don't perform. This company is not competitive and are stuck in the dark ages. I won't be surprised if they cease to exist in the next 5 years.

    Brink's, Incorporated2015-11-20
  10. "part time driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brink's, Incorporated for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, good people, lots of fun times. interesting to see the process firsthand of how your money gets transported and delivered

    Cons

    hours can be good but also can be bad. work all hours from mornings to evenings to midnights with no consistency

    Advice to Management

    better training. a lot of the job is learn as you go type stuff. sometimes they ask a lot of you and dont particularly give you an end time

    Brink's, Incorporated2015-09-15
Found 767 reviews