Boston Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Boston Consulting Group Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2192 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Boston Consulting Group CEO Rich Lesser
Rich Lesser
990 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with Wonderful, smart people(in 140 reviews)

  • "very supportive culture with great people that want to help you grow and succeed(in 133 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - PTA 

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group part-time

    Pros

    Really fast learning experience. Fancy work environment

    Cons

    The office does not provide security card to pta

    Boston Consulting Group2019-10-10
  2. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant 

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great work exposure, learning with best and brightest. Besti n class compensation and perks

    Cons

    Long hours, high pressure environment. Maintaining client relation most significant.

    Boston Consulting Group2019-08-28
  3. "Great benefits and culture, hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Recruiter in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits package Culture and some of the people you meet Social events for staff Staff appreciation Potential for career growth and promotions Feedback culture Have access to great tools and resources Global firm means global exposure and a lot of travel Overtime for Canadian Business Support team

    Cons

    Salary for a recruiter as compared to workload and to consultants' salaries Pressure to cutback on overtime even when you have a lot to do Some of the management not looking out for their team members - individualistic mindset vs real team mindset Office bullying

    Advice to Management

    Make sure your team members are being heard and work well together

    Boston Consulting Group2019-08-20
  4. "Good pay bad hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good

    Cons

    Long hours and more competion than cooperation

    Advice to Management

    Think of multiple ways people can progress not only up or out

    Boston Consulting Group2019-08-17
  5. "Great company, great experience, tough work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Staff in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to management. Travel around the world if you want to. Accelerated career path.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance at times. Travel can get overwhelming. Easy to get into either vicious cycles or positive spirals if not mentally prepared.

    Advice to Management

    Understand there are various different profiles to consultants on the job. Industry hires generally need a bit more runway to get the hang of the job - which is very different from the traditional associate path. One key for success for BCG going forward is to ensure we tailor different paths for various backgrounds in order to truly have the diverse backgrounds & experiences that make us better as a whole.

    Boston Consulting Group2019-07-18
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, Great pay and Good culture

    Cons

    Work life balance is poor

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-13
  7. "Decent. Good place to spend some time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers, variety and quick skill development

    Cons

    Treadmill of never ending demands

    Boston Consulting Group2019-04-14
  8. "Incredible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Learning, global opportunities, network, development, friendships, scope of work

    Cons

    unpredictable nature of work and hours

    Boston Consulting Group2019-03-08
  9. "Couldn't ask for a better place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    I am consistently blown away with BCG's incredible focus on mentorship and people development. Aside from the interesting work and amazing level of responsibility you're given from the get-go, my favourite thing about the firm (as cliche as it sounds) is the amazing culture that's been built. The organization's mentality that is set at the top with the Partner level and trickles down is that BCG's assets are... their people, and as such they need to make sure they are supporting their people properly and doing everything they possibly can to keep them happy. I've felt this personally throughout my time at the firm where they have immense respect for people's time, there's a strong focus on supporting others, and most people have genuinely made some of their best friends at the firm, creating an incredibly tight-knit environment.

    Show More

    Cons

    With BCG's insanely fast growth, it's resulted in far less time on the beach for staff between projects due to our supply constraint. While it's a good problem to have from a business perspective, it does make things busier and required a bit more stamina!

    Advice to Management

    Don't let the strong mentorship culture and focus on people fade. It's why I chose BCG over other firms and why most of my peers did, too, so make sure to maintain that even in these times of incredible growth.

    Boston Consulting Group2019-01-23
  10. "Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Work life balance is challenging

    Boston Consulting Group2018-12-11
Found 2192 reviews