Boston Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Boston Consulting Group Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2131 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Boston Consulting Group CEO Rich Lesser
Rich Lesser
966 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with Wonderful, smart people(in 140 reviews)

  • "very supportive culture with great people that want to help you grow and succeed(in 129 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance still has space for improvement(in 443 reviews)

  • "Long hours - same as any top tier consulting firm(in 372 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company, great experience, tough work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Staff in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to management. Travel around the world if you want to. Accelerated career path.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance at times. Travel can get overwhelming. Easy to get into either vicious cycles or positive spirals if not mentally prepared.

    Advice to Management

    Understand there are various different profiles to consultants on the job. Industry hires generally need a bit more runway to get the hang of the job - which is very different from the traditional associate path. One key for success for BCG going forward is to ensure we tailor different paths for various backgrounds in order to truly have the diverse backgrounds & experiences that make us better as a whole.

    Boston Consulting Group2019-07-18
  2. "Good pay bad hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good

    Cons

    Long hours and more competion than cooperation

    Advice to Management

    Think of multiple ways people can progress not only up or out

    Boston Consulting Group2019-08-17
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, Great pay and Good culture

    Cons

    Work life balance is poor

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-13
  4. "Decent. Good place to spend some time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers, variety and quick skill development

    Cons

    Treadmill of never ending demands

    Boston Consulting Group2019-04-14
  5. "Incredible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Learning, global opportunities, network, development, friendships, scope of work

    Cons

    unpredictable nature of work and hours

    Boston Consulting Group2019-03-08
  6. "Couldn't ask for a better place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    I am consistently blown away with BCG's incredible focus on mentorship and people development. Aside from the interesting work and amazing level of responsibility you're given from the get-go, my favourite thing about the firm (as cliche as it sounds) is the amazing culture that's been built. The organization's mentality that is set at the top with the Partner level and trickles down is that BCG's assets are their...

    Show More

    Cons

    With BCG's insanely fast growth, it's resulted in far less time on the beach for staff between projects due to our supply constraint. While it's a good problem to have from a business perspective, it does make things busier and required a bit more stamina!

    Advice to Management

    Don't let the strong mentorship culture and focus on people fade. It's why I chose BCG over other firms and why most of my peers did, too, so make sure to maintain that even in these times of incredible growth.

    Boston Consulting Group2019-01-23
  7. "Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Work life balance is challenging

    Boston Consulting Group2018-12-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great work/life balance and respect for the individual as compared to other regions in which BCG was active

    Cons

    Lots of travel which is difficult to escape

    Boston Consulting Group2018-12-18
  9. "Strong growth opporunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Lot of learning, challenging work

    Cons

    Hours, but it's part of the consulting game

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Boston Consulting Group2018-09-02
  10. "Amazing place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group

    Pros

    Focus on development, great coworkers, variety in work, chance to make an impact, flexible career options

    Cons

    Long and often unpredictable hours, can be high pressure

    Boston Consulting Group2018-08-02
Found 2131 reviews