Borden Ladner Gervais LLP Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 87 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
John Murphy
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and people are friendly(in 5 reviews)

  • "Some great people, beautiful office, decent benefits(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lawyers who aren’t even partners are able to treat staff like garbage(in 9 reviews)

  • "BLG is a great firm to launch your career(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lawyer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very collegial. They work in teams and give lawyers a good amount of responsibility.

    Cons

    I really liked the firm and can't think of cons.

    Borden Ladner Gervais LLP2019-07-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Legal Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in New Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lawyers in the group were fair and other assistants were supportive and helpful within the group. Training available; however, something systematic should have been instituted, so everyone would have the same style in letters, memos and accounts, etc

    Cons

    Favourtism, inequality of amount of work among the assistants

    Advice to Management

    Before the implementation of the new system fairness, not favourtism should have been the goal

    Borden Ladner Gervais LLP2019-06-27
  3. "A great firm, with great people, both lawyers and business services."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Administrative Officer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extremely diverse and welcoming, and a highly positive and inclusive culture.

    Cons

    None that I've found to date. We work hard, but we play hard, and support each other.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on. I've been with BLG for 3.5 years now and regrettably will be retiring this year. My time with BLG has been the highlight of a highly diverse and international career. The firm has a strong management team, and excellent and collegiate attorneys. The culture at BLG is the best I've experienced in a long career in legal. Long may it continue.

    Borden Ladner Gervais LLP2019-05-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great people, beautiful office, decent benefits. Some wonderful lawyers.

    Cons

    Long hours. Some not great lawyers.

    Borden Ladner Gervais LLP2019-04-30
  5. "Law Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Law Clerk in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing team of lawyers, clerks and assistants. Interesting and high-profile work. The firm has recently undertaken an initiative to elevate its Law Clerks and Paralegals offering them a multitude of internal and external resources to ensure career growth including mentorship, training, and continued legal education. BLG ensures that Law Clerks and Paralegals have access to innovative technology enabling them to...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons.

    Borden Ladner Gervais LLP2019-05-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Accommodating to employee health needs

    Cons

    Work load not equally divided between employees of the same job title

    Borden Ladner Gervais LLP2019-04-13
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP

    Pros

    Nice people, challenging work and many opportunities to grow. They invest in their people and processes to ensure they are well-positioned for future growth.

    Cons

    Fast-paced and constantly evolving to keep up with rate of industry change.

    Advice to Management

    Focus and execute.

    Borden Ladner Gervais LLP2019-03-30
  8. Helpful (5)

    "worst years of my life - live and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    central location and large firm resources available

    Cons

    mentally abused every day by members of the BD team, significantly overworked, insecurities and power plays run high, HR works for management and not staff, all staff is stressed

    Advice to Management

    a lot of middle management is horrible and upper management is to blame for keeping them there

    Borden Ladner Gervais LLP2019-03-21
  9. "More opportunities because of the size"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP full-time

    Pros

    The company gives motivated employees the chance to advance and learn new skills. It's a big company with recognizable clients and you get to work on interesting matters.

    Cons

    You have to enjoy working in a fast paced environment.

    Borden Ladner Gervais LLP2019-01-29
  10. "A Forward-Thinking Law Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP full-time

    Pros

    BLG is a firm that invests in all of its people; great opportunities for professional development; staff encouraged to think outside the box and to recommend solutions.

    Cons

    Law is a demanding business but the firm does a great job of creating integrated teams and an enjoyable work environment.

    Borden Ladner Gervais LLP2018-12-10
Found 87 reviews