Booz Allen Hamilton Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Booz Allen Hamilton President and CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
1,149 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance depending on project can be very inconsistent(in 213 reviews)

  • "Since going public the culture became no different than any other publicly traded company(in 102 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, good exposure to technology

    Cons

    They need to spread geographically

    Continue reading
    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-04-23
  2. "Booz Allen Hamilton Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CyberSecurity Engineer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, interesting projects, experts in every field

    Cons

    Difficulty with communication between leadership and junior-level employees

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-05-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A bunch of people who are totally incompetent."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - ability to telework - lots of young people - skill development opportunities - autonomy Booz is a great place to get your career started but they take advantage of young people and will work you to the bone. Be prepared to stand up for yourself. Everyone needs a work life balance.

    Cons

    I worked with some very incompetent people, especially the ones who had been there for many years. They're the ones that are unable to get jobs elsewhere. They're good at putting on a show and making it look like they know what they're doing. The young people are very smart and talented and they are worked to the bone for pennies. There was also some very unscrupulous behavior on my admin team.

    Continue reading
    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-05-19
  4. "I enjoy working at Booz"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Designer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, they take care of their people. Even after losing a contract the company supported my team while we worked to find something new.

    Cons

    I worked as part of one of the immersive teams which was led by people who didn't know anything about our kind of development which led to many headaches and short sighted decisions by our leadership. I think as the companies immersive teams develop that will change but its going to take some time

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-05-01
  5. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

    Pros

    Work/Life balance is great for employees

    Cons

    Large company, takes some adjusting

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-04-27
  6. "Great place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    excellent opportunities to further growth

    Cons

    sometimes difficult work life balance

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-04-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Consultant"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in McLean, VA

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

    Pros

    Provides good work-life balance, health care

    Cons

    the compensation is low compared to other firms

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-05-04
  8. "Cult-like Culture, High Turnover, Avoid!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent, which is why the firm attracts some top talent.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is non-existent; "never say no" when asked for help is drilled into you from orientation as a necessary part of the "collaboration culture." But in reality, it is a way to get maximum work out of employees, who are often understaffed on projects. Those who remain for years are, as a rule, workaholics. The company offers lots of options for counseling (financial, psychological) for a good reason: it works people to the point of exhaustion. Turnover is high, newly hired outsiders in management are viewed with suspicion. Competition for the good assignments/contracts is tough and political. I've been at HQ for eight months and I'm looking for the first opportunity to escape. Avoid!

    Continue reading
    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-05-28
  9. "Great place to work but not for the faint of heart!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

    Pros

    Booz Allen offers competitive salaries with opportunities for growth and takes care if their people.

    Cons

    Work life balance depending on project can be very inconsistent

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-04-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Be careful"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

    Pros

    Reasonable pay and benefits Lots of smart people and some interesting technology. It seems like the CEO wants to make it a better company.

    Cons

    More about appearances than actual substance. Managers are not trained. Many are very poor leaders. Not a great environment for more experienced individuals. (They hire a lot of college students who don't know any better.) If you're ex-military, you're likely to fit in, but if not...very frustrating, authoritarian place to contend with. Not all leaders value or even understand collaboration. Lots of scapegoating and fingerpointing. Can be toxic. Be careful. There is no work/life balance. You just have to do the work unbillable, on your own time.

    Continue reading
    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-04-24
Found 815 reviews