Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4627 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Booz Allen Hamilton CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
948 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is hard to maintain(in 202 reviews)

  • "Burns through people by chasing awful work to maintain company revenue after going public(in 101 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, good exposure to technology

    Cons

    They need to spread geographically

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-04-23
  2. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton part-time

    Pros

    Very nice staff and management

    Cons

    Hard to get days off

    Advice to Management

    Set a procedure for getting days off

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-05-06
  3. "General thoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great launch pad for new grads and ex-military

    Cons

    more focus on the consulting practice of getting full time employees in client organizations High requirement for security clearance

    Booz Allen Hamilton2017-07-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Just OK."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton

    Pros

    --Good training ops. --Salary/Benefits/Social activities that are swanky.

    Cons

    --Top-heavy whereby too many managers are doing admin and not the actual work of the "practice" (Booz-speak for the individual tech team or group of teams which serve one client or one sector such as the US Navy). --The company is overally "balkanized." It's harder than expected to move from one practice to another. It's almost like there are several small B-A&Hs instead of one company.

    Advice to Management

    --Lose some of the bureaucracy and operate with more agile teams.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2013-08-14
  5. Helpful (435)

    "Great people, terrible business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great. Everyone -- even the difficult types -- are eager to work and excel. There are some senior officers with questionable morality, but most people here are great people to work with.

    Cons

    1. Federal clients. Don't forget that you'll move at their pace, not yours. 2. The nature of the job means that sooner or later you'll be strategizing ways to get more money from the client (i.e. federal government), regardless of whether or not you'll actually add value. BAH runs on government money, a large chunk from DoD, and thus is part of the bigger problem we have in this country with fiscal responsibility....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm leaving this job for two reasons, despite being hand-picked and groomed for greater responsibility by senior management. 1. You weren't paying me enough to do the job; especially when you factor in the amount of stress this job puts on a human being, the amount of time I sacrificed with my family, the amount of guilt this job inspired in me as an American. 2. The job is not meaningful to anyone who doesn't lust...

    Show More
    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-09-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, career growth, management support

    Cons

    Stacked with ineffective middle management

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-08-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "struggling to pivot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Associate in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity. Great training ground for self-motivated, self starters who know how to work on their weaknesses.

    Cons

    Directionless leadership; transition from private ownership to PE to public has fundamentally changed the employee experience. Danger of turning into a pure beltway bandit body shop.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-08-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people and great work life balance. Semi-interesting and valuable work.

    Cons

    Pretty hard to get different project experiences like a typical management consulting firm. Pretty easy to feel "stuck" on a current project.

    Advice to Management

    Management is overall supportive and wants you to succeed. Could do a better job giving constructive criticism.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-08-13
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton

    Pros

    Interesting place to be in

    Cons

    Nothing challenging in this place

    Advice to Management

    Awesome

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-08-14
  10. "Great Place to Work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything...Pay, Vacation, 401k, Stock Options, Education Assistance, Flexibility. What's not to like?

    Cons

    Nothing Company related. Traffic and travel time.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-08-09
Found 4627 reviews