Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Booz Allen Hamilton CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
995 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is hard to maintain(in 205 reviews)

  • "Burns through people by chasing awful work to maintain company revenue after going public(in 100 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, good exposure to technology

    Cons

    They need to spread geographically

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-04-23
  2. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton part-time

    Pros

    Very nice staff and management

    Cons

    Hard to get days off

    Advice to Management

    Set a procedure for getting days off

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-05-06
  3. "General thoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great launch pad for new grads and ex-military

    Cons

    more focus on the consulting practice of getting full time employees in client organizations High requirement for security clearance

    Booz Allen Hamilton2017-07-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Just OK."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton

    Pros

    --Good training ops. --Salary/Benefits/Social activities that are swanky.

    Cons

    --Top-heavy whereby too many managers are doing admin and not the actual work of the "practice" (Booz-speak for the individual tech team or group of teams which serve one client or one sector such as the US Navy). --The company is overally "balkanized." It's harder than expected to move from one practice to another. It's almost like there are several small B-A&Hs instead of one company.

    Advice to Management

    --Lose some of the bureaucracy and operate with more agile teams.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2013-08-14
  5. Helpful (475)

    "Great people, terrible business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great. Everyone -- even the difficult types -- are eager to work and excel. There are some senior officers with questionable morality, but most people here are great people to work with.

    Cons

    1. Federal clients. Don't forget that you'll move at their pace, not yours. 2. The nature of the job means that sooner or later you'll be strategizing ways to get more money from the client (i.e. federal government), regardless of whether or not you'll actually add value. BAH runs on government money, a large chunk from DoD, and thus is part of the bigger problem we have in this country with fiscal responsibility.... 3. Living off the American taxpayer. Much of the money that flies around in DC is at the expense of everyone else everywhere else in the US, BAH is a major player in this system, particularly the defense technology sector. 4. You'll never get paid what you're worth. The three lowest ranks (Consultant, Sr. Consultant, Associate) seldom make what they're worth, while senior management (looking at you, officers) make insane amounts of money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm leaving this job for two reasons, despite being hand-picked and groomed for greater responsibility by senior management. 1. You weren't paying me enough to do the job; especially when you factor in the amount of stress this job puts on a human being, the amount of time I sacrificed with my family, the amount of guilt this job inspired in me as an American. 2. The job is not meaningful to anyone who doesn't... lust for profits. At some point each of us gets a look at how the sausage is made, and then it becomes clear that the government is basically asking (literally sending out solicitations and announcements) to be ripped off. They don't need what we're selling, but they buy it anyways because Congress tells them to. This buys Congress fancy retirement plans at the same businesses that profit. But everyone else loses, and Booz Allen isn't doing enough to be a part of our nation's long-term fiscal stability.

    Show More
    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-09-15
  6. "Working at Booz Allen Hamilton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good company culture. can find your own projects within your account. can work from home

    Cons

    sometimes projects can seem tedious and can get isolating because team members work from home

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-12-03
  7. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Scientist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

    Pros

    Competitive Salary, Flexibility, Org culture, Growth opportunities

    Cons

    You have to search for a job while in the job

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-11-27
  8. "Great company to work doe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sigint Analyst in Odenton, MD

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay Additional training Good boas

    Cons

    Advancing in the company can be a drag.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-11-26
  9. "Internal Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in McLean, VA

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career growth potential is great for lateral movement

    Cons

    Internal culture can be intimidating

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-11-25
  10. "Great company, new CEO makes his employees top priority"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, and parental leave

    Cons

    Can be longer work hours

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-11-22
Found 4740 reviews