Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4569 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Booz Allen Hamilton CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
930 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing work-life balance with the most flexible schedule in the industry(in 573 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and family life balance when needed(in 203 reviews)

Cons
  • "Significant pressure to stay billable on client work increased throughout my 5(in 202 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance in management(in 200 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, good exposure to technology

    Cons

    They need to spread geographically

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-04-23
  2. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton part-time

    Pros

    Very nice staff and management

    Cons

    Hard to get days off

    Advice to Management

    Set a procedure for getting days off

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-05-06
  3. "General thoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great launch pad for new grads and ex-military

    Cons

    more focus on the consulting practice of getting full time employees in client organizations High requirement for security clearance

    Booz Allen Hamilton2017-07-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Just OK."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton

      Pros

      --Good training ops. --Salary/Benefits/Social activities that are swanky.

      Cons

      --Top-heavy whereby too many managers are doing admin and not the actual work of the "practice" (Booz-speak for the individual tech team or group of teams which serve one client or one sector such as the US Navy). --The company is overally "balkanized." It's harder than expected to move from one practice to another. It's almost like there are several small B-A&Hs instead of one company.

      Advice to Management

      --Lose some of the bureaucracy and operate with more agile teams.

      Booz Allen Hamilton2013-08-14
    • Helpful (405)

      "Great people, terrible business"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Consultant in McLean, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton for less than a year

      Pros

      The people are great. Everyone -- even the difficult types -- are eager to work and excel. There are some senior officers with questionable morality, but most people here are great people to work with.

      Cons

      1. Federal clients. Don't forget that you'll move at their pace, not yours. 2. The nature of the job means that sooner or later you'll be strategizing ways to get more money from the client (i.e. federal government), regardless of whether or not you'll actually add value. BAH runs on government money, a large chunk from DoD, and thus is part of the bigger problem we have in this country with fiscal responsibility....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I'm leaving this job for two reasons, despite being hand-picked and groomed for greater responsibility by senior management. 1. You weren't paying me enough to do the job; especially when you factor in the amount of stress this job puts on a human being, the amount of time I sacrificed with my family, the amount of guilt this job inspired in me as an American. 2. The job is not meaningful to anyone who doesn't lust...

      Show More
      Booz Allen Hamilton2016-09-15
    • "Pays good."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cyber Security Operations Engineer in San Antonio, TX

      I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very independent work schedule; great people.

      Cons

      Can't think of any Cons; i have work in worst places.

      Booz Allen Hamilton2019-06-13
    • "Amazing benefit and family friendly company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

      Pros

      Has amazing benefit, easy interview, they care more about the person they are investing in..

      Cons

      everyone is hired as consultant

      Booz Allen Hamilton2019-06-12
    • "Management Consulting"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Excellent benefits; consistent support from 1st & 2nd line management on the client site, especially during Federal Government budget cuts; flexible work schedule;

      Cons

      Recruitment engagement on referrals - lengthy delays with little to no feedback

      Booz Allen Hamilton2019-06-10
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton

      Pros

      Very professional people and they like to share and help

      Cons

      Sometime they push too hard too meet deadline.

      Booz Allen Hamilton2019-06-08
    • "Great Company to work for and with"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lead Associate in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great pay, good reputation, great and seeking out an obtaining contracts

      Cons

      Getting too big, management forgets what it is like to be a front door provider

      Advice to Management

      Remember the little guys who really are what your company great

      Booz Allen Hamilton2019-06-07
    Found 4569 reviews