Boots Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Boots Reviews

Updated 10 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Boots CEO Sebastian James
Sebastian James
179 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay esp for younger employees(in 260 reviews)

  • "Staff discount & growth opportunities(in 172 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 

    I have been working at Boots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Actually, care about their staff

    Cons

    Mandatory unpaid breaks are annoying

    Boots2019-06-12
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Chatham-Kent, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, discount was good. Felt supported

    Cons

    Expected to memorise products and work in areas not trained in

    Boots2019-09-22
  3. "Great staff, awful management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Boots full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with tend to be great. Pay isn't that bad considering.

    Cons

    Management was all over the place. Some were great; others were awful and had no idea about what was happening on the shop floor.

    Boots2019-09-17
  4. "Customer Assistance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time

    Pros

    - Flexible work schedule - at least in the store I worked in. My managers were all really easy-going, if you couldn't do a specific shift, they were willing to allow you to switch with others once you get their permission. - Very good salary, well above the minimum wage, considering the work you'll be doing is quiet easy

    Cons

    - There isn't much down side at all! The work I did, I personally felt was very easy and exactly what you would expect a customer assistance to be doing. However, it can get a bit mundane sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    - Raise awareness about the pharmacy training which customer assistance can ask to be a part of. I didn't find out about this till i worked there for almost 1 year!

    Boots2016-04-05
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Boots

    Pros

    Discount is good about 20%

    Cons

    Pay and support by employer

    Boots2016-01-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I work in a busy airport store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in East Anglia, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    Staff discount is only the only benefit

    Cons

    Often have reprofiling which does not take into consideration individual circumstances. If staff do not agree to proposed change to hours, they are told they will have to leave. Even if they cannot do the change due to child care needs etc. they have no respect for staff, all they care about is the needs of the business.

    Advice to Management

    Management need to be on the shop floor more, maybe then they would see how disgruntled their employees are. Not one member of staff I work with is happy with their job.

    Boots2015-01-01
  7. "Top heavy, wasteful company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quick progression if you are willing to work hard.

    Cons

    Pharmacy team members can be very clicky and self absorbed. Very wasteful practices regarding show material. Bit slow to embrace change. Not enough staff in medium sized stores.

    Advice to Management

    Need to move on from rows of white shelves. Stop replacing whole cardboard stands when a sticker could update the offers.

    Boots2013-08-29
  8. "Can’t fault"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Brigg, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Boots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great job with good pay

    Cons

    Epayslips wasn’t aware of, didnt receive at first

    Boots2019-12-10
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discount Good hours Good pay

    Cons

    Some customers attitudes No time and a half or extra pay for bank holidays

    Advice to Management

    Holiday entitlement should increase if part time stuff work full time for a long period of time

    Boots2019-12-03
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Pharmacist Manager 

    I have been working at Boots full-time

    Pros

    Amazing training and nice team

    Cons

    Little opportunities to work from hom

    Boots2019-12-03
Found 2270 reviews