Boots Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Boots Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Boots CEO Sebastian James
Sebastian James
152 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay esp for younger employees(in 241 reviews)

  • "Staff discount & growth opportunities(in 165 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 

    I have been working at Boots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Actually, care about their staff

    Cons

    Mandatory unpaid breaks are annoying

    Boots2019-06-12
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Chatham-Kent, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, discount was good. Felt supported

    Cons

    Expected to memorise products and work in areas not trained in

    Boots2019-09-22
  3. "Great staff, awful management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Boots full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with tend to be great. Pay isn't that bad considering.

    Cons

    Management was all over the place. Some were great; others were awful and had no idea about what was happening on the shop floor.

    Boots2019-09-17
  4. "Customer Assistance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time

    Pros

    - Flexible work schedule - at least in the store I worked in. My managers were all really easy-going, if you couldn't do a specific shift, they were willing to allow you to switch with others once you get their permission. - Very good salary, well above the minimum wage, considering the work you'll be doing is quiet easy

    Cons

    - There isn't much down side at all! The work I did, I personally felt was very easy and exactly what you would expect a customer assistance to be doing. However, it can get a bit mundane sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    - Raise awareness about the pharmacy training which customer assistance can ask to be a part of. I didn't find out about this till i worked there for almost 1 year!

    Boots2016-04-05

    Boots Response

    May 4, 2016HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Boots

    Pros

    Discount is good about 20%

    Cons

    Pay and support by employer

    Boots2016-01-10

    Boots Response

    January 27, 2016

    We very much appreciate you sharing your views.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "I work in a busy airport store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in East Anglia, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    Staff discount is only the only benefit

    Cons

    Often have reprofiling which does not take into consideration individual circumstances. If staff do not agree to proposed change to hours, they are told they will have to leave. Even if they cannot do the change due to child care needs etc. they have no respect for staff, all they care about is the needs of the business.

    Advice to Management

    Management need to be on the shop floor more, maybe then they would see how disgruntled their employees are. Not one member of staff I work with is happy with their job.

    Boots2015-01-01

    Boots Response

    January 8, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback and we will share it further.

  7. "Top heavy, wasteful company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quick progression if you are willing to work hard.

    Cons

    Pharmacy team members can be very clicky and self absorbed. Very wasteful practices regarding show material. Bit slow to embrace change. Not enough staff in medium sized stores.

    Advice to Management

    Need to move on from rows of white shelves. Stop replacing whole cardboard stands when a sticker could update the offers.

    Boots2013-08-29
  8. "Superb team who care and great chances to develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Business Partner in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, embracing agile ways of working, have invested in my development (Agile, MBA), investing in exciting projects and new products to try to change and improve the lives of those we support

    Cons

    Can be a bit slow to get stuff done but this is changing

    Advice to Management

    Keep being brave driving through and supporting new innovation, we’ve been alive for 170 years but we need to keep evolving!

    Boots2019-10-17
  9. "Its great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Charing Cross, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great team to work with also the staff discount.

    Cons

    the number of thieves which the mangers make you feel like it's your fault, but in reality, they need to have better security such as magnetic tags/ labels etc.

    Advice to Management

    A better training system

    Boots2019-10-16
  10. "Great place to build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly culture, opportunities for progression, people are willing to help

    Cons

    Work life balance can be tough to manage at times

    Boots2019-10-17
Found 2169 reviews