Boots Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Boots Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1829 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Boots CEO Sebastian James
Sebastian James
71 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer Assistance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time

    Pros

    - Flexible work schedule - at least in the store I worked in. My managers were all really easy-going, if you couldn't do a specific shift, they were willing to allow you to switch with others once you get their permission. - Very good salary, well above the minimum wage, considering the work you'll be doing is quiet easy

    Cons

    - There isn't much down side at all! The work I did, I personally felt was very easy and exactly what you would expect a customer assistance to be doing. However, it can get a bit mundane sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    - Raise awareness about the pharmacy training which customer assistance can ask to be a part of. I didn't find out about this till i worked there for almost 1 year!

    Boots2016-04-05

    Boots Response

    May 4, 2016HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Boots

      Pros

      Discount is good about 20%

      Cons

      Pay and support by employer

      Boots2016-01-10

      Boots Response

      January 27, 2016

      We very much appreciate you sharing your views.

    • Helpful (1)

      "I work in a busy airport store"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant in East Anglia, SK
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Boots

      Pros

      Staff discount is only the only benefit

      Cons

      Often have reprofiling which does not take into consideration individual circumstances. If staff do not agree to proposed change to hours, they are told they will have to leave. Even if they cannot do the change due to child care needs etc. they have no respect for staff, all they care about is the needs of the business.

      Advice to Management

      Management need to be on the shop floor more, maybe then they would see how disgruntled their employees are. Not one member of staff I work with is happy with their job.

      Boots2015-01-01

      Boots Response

      January 8, 2015

      Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback and we will share it further.

    • "Top heavy, wasteful company."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Boots full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Quick progression if you are willing to work hard.

      Cons

      Pharmacy team members can be very clicky and self absorbed. Very wasteful practices regarding show material. Bit slow to embrace change. Not enough staff in medium sized stores.

      Advice to Management

      Need to move on from rows of white shelves. Stop replacing whole cardboard stands when a sticker could update the offers.

      Boots2013-08-29
    • "Good for students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Customer Advisor in Leeds, England

        I have been working at Boots part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Flexible, nice people to work with, work independently often.

        Cons

        Not many extra perks, management changes often so communication isn't always great

        Boots2019-04-18
      • "Good!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Boots part-time

        Pros

        - Good benefits - Good management - Good work life hours - Lots of training available - Good money - Achievable targets set - Clever employees in the pharmacies - Kind and friendly attitude from nearly all employees

        Cons

        - Older staff (age wise) get treated a lot better to younger staff - New procedures take a long time to be implemented - Boots doesn’t yet make products for all cultures and colours in regards to skin care/ makeup which isn’t fair - No 7 only has foundations for lighter skin tones - please change this

        Advice to Management

        - Start making products that are inclusive of everyone - If you want to implement changes, plan it and do it within a time frame - unfair to keep people waiting - Ask from the start if employees want to progress through the company

        Boots2019-04-15
      • "Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager in London, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Boots full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Staff benefits discount people perks

        Cons

        Lot of standing about bored

        Boots2019-04-14
      • "Good pay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Boots Customer Assistant 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Boots full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good pay above minimum wage

        Cons

        Expect too much of you but that’s the way retail is going

        Boots2019-04-10
      • "Good Company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Boots full-time for more than 8 years

          Pros

          Support development, many different career paths to choose

          Cons

          Can be stressful as there aren't as many staff as there used to be but the amount of work has increased.

          Boots2019-04-11
        • Helpful (2)

          "Good, but not perfect"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Nottingham, England
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Boots full-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          - get to work on big projects targeting millions of customers - large marketing budgets to work within and the opportunity to work collaboratively with other marketing teams - great office environment - flexitime (sort of)

          Cons

          - the scale of the office (3000+ employees) means getting off site at peak times creates traffic jams. - Pay is below average - a lot of the work is outsourced to agencies, often marketing employees simply co-ordinate.

          Advice to Management

          - offer better pay - offer true flexitime (getting the hours back in lui) - better site parking and traffic management - dont deligte as much to agencies, marketing at boots becomes a bit of an organising task and strips the role creativity, a massive part of any marketing enthusiast.

          Boots2019-04-02
        Found 1829 reviews