Boots Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Boots Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1927 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Boots CEO Sebastian James
Sebastian James
97 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, friendly team members,(in 208 reviews)

  • "Staff discount & growth opportunities(in 145 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 

    I have been working at Boots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Actually, care about their staff

    Cons

    Mandatory unpaid breaks are annoying

    Boots2019-06-12
  2. "Customer Assistance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time

    Pros

    - Flexible work schedule - at least in the store I worked in. My managers were all really easy-going, if you couldn't do a specific shift, they were willing to allow you to switch with others once you get their permission. - Very good salary, well above the minimum wage, considering the work you'll be doing is quiet easy

    Cons

    - There isn't much down side at all! The work I did, I personally felt was very easy and exactly what you would expect a customer assistance to be doing. However, it can get a bit mundane sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    - Raise awareness about the pharmacy training which customer assistance can ask to be a part of. I didn't find out about this till i worked there for almost 1 year!

    Boots2016-04-05

    Boots Response

    May 4, 2016HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Boots

      Pros

      Discount is good about 20%

      Cons

      Pay and support by employer

      Boots2016-01-10

      Boots Response

      January 27, 2016

      We very much appreciate you sharing your views.

    • Helpful (1)

      "I work in a busy airport store"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant in East Anglia, SK
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Boots

      Pros

      Staff discount is only the only benefit

      Cons

      Often have reprofiling which does not take into consideration individual circumstances. If staff do not agree to proposed change to hours, they are told they will have to leave. Even if they cannot do the change due to child care needs etc. they have no respect for staff, all they care about is the needs of the business.

      Advice to Management

      Management need to be on the shop floor more, maybe then they would see how disgruntled their employees are. Not one member of staff I work with is happy with their job.

      Boots2015-01-01

      Boots Response

      January 8, 2015

      Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback and we will share it further.

    • "Top heavy, wasteful company."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Boots full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Quick progression if you are willing to work hard.

      Cons

      Pharmacy team members can be very clicky and self absorbed. Very wasteful practices regarding show material. Bit slow to embrace change. Not enough staff in medium sized stores.

      Advice to Management

      Need to move on from rows of white shelves. Stop replacing whole cardboard stands when a sticker could update the offers.

      Boots2013-08-29
    • "Tough gig"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Area Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Boots full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great impact on health of customers

      Cons

      Ever decreasing budgets led to decline in service and increase in stress

      Advice to Management

      Be Human

      Boots2019-06-17
    • "Ok but payroll not great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Assistant 

      I have been working at Boots part-time

      Pros

      Good discount, doubles in October for a week Can be flexible with hours

      Cons

      Bad payroll, count your hours

      Boots2019-06-17
    • "Great people to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Dispenser 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Boots full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Amazing staff, fair pay excellent benefits package

      Cons

      Training and career development can be a bit slow

      Boots2019-06-16
    • "Good pre-reg scheme"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pre-registration Pharmacist 

      I have been working at Boots full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      regular training days, and best training pre-reg program with regards to other community placements.

      Cons

      Staffing issues, this seems to be across the company as a whole.

      Boots2019-06-14
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technical Advisor in Nottingham, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Boots full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Lots of room for development.

      Cons

      Training can be improved

      Boots2019-06-13
    Found 1927 reviews