Boots Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Boots Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2044 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Boots CEO Sebastian James
Sebastian James
123 Ratings
Pros
  • "At Boots UK you receive good pay;(in 216 reviews)

  • "Staff discount & growth opportunities(in 150 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 

    I have been working at Boots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Actually, care about their staff

    Cons

    Mandatory unpaid breaks are annoying

    Boots2019-06-12
  2. "Customer Assistance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time

    Pros

    - Flexible work schedule - at least in the store I worked in. My managers were all really easy-going, if you couldn't do a specific shift, they were willing to allow you to switch with others once you get their permission. - Very good salary, well above the minimum wage, considering the work you'll be doing is quiet easy

    Cons

    - There isn't much down side at all! The work I did, I personally felt was very easy and exactly what you would expect a customer assistance to be doing. However, it can get a bit mundane sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    - Raise awareness about the pharmacy training which customer assistance can ask to be a part of. I didn't find out about this till i worked there for almost 1 year!

    Boots2016-04-05

    Boots Response

    May 4, 2016HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Boots

    Pros

    Discount is good about 20%

    Cons

    Pay and support by employer

    Boots2016-01-10

    Boots Response

    January 27, 2016

    We very much appreciate you sharing your views.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "I work in a busy airport store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in East Anglia, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    Staff discount is only the only benefit

    Cons

    Often have reprofiling which does not take into consideration individual circumstances. If staff do not agree to proposed change to hours, they are told they will have to leave. Even if they cannot do the change due to child care needs etc. they have no respect for staff, all they care about is the needs of the business.

    Advice to Management

    Management need to be on the shop floor more, maybe then they would see how disgruntled their employees are. Not one member of staff I work with is happy with their job.

    Boots2015-01-01

    Boots Response

    January 8, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback and we will share it further.

  5. "Top heavy, wasteful company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quick progression if you are willing to work hard.

    Cons

    Pharmacy team members can be very clicky and self absorbed. Very wasteful practices regarding show material. Bit slow to embrace change. Not enough staff in medium sized stores.

    Advice to Management

    Need to move on from rows of white shelves. Stop replacing whole cardboard stands when a sticker could update the offers.

    Boots2013-08-29
  6. "Excellent Saturday job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Boots part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive and organised management team. Varied day-to-day work. Good hourly rate, better than many other retail companies. Good staff discount.

    Cons

    Pressure to sell No7 products and other Boots brands. Very busy at Christmas time.

    Boots2019-08-19
  7. "top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    brill place to attend and work

    Cons

    discount should be better imo

    Boots2019-08-18
  8. "Lead Gen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Generator in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boots full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exelent bonus structure and time off

    Cons

    It's hard selling with loads of competition

    Boots2019-08-15
  9. "Fantastic training for pre registration pharmacist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pre-registration Pharmacist in Dingwall, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get time off for study time for pre reg exam Intuitive e-learning based training

    Cons

    not that i could think of

    Boots2019-08-15
  10. "Okay company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Knaresborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Set shifts and tasks every shift

    Cons

    Unsociable hours due to midnight pharmacy

    Boots2019-08-15
Found 2044 reviews