Bond Brand Loyalty "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Bond Brand Loyalty Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
55%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Bond Brand Loyalty President & CEO Bob Macdonald
Bob Macdonald
93 Ratings
Pros
  • "great people, strong leadership that's approachable, transparent and open to feedback(in 13 reviews)

  • "Lots of opportunities to get involved in a wide-range of projects(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "FORCED Overtime that eats up your work/life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "It's great to see how Bond is so quickly committing to resolving these issues(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Truly great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture & benefits (the culture truly cannot be replicated and is in the heart of everything we do) An organization that promotes performance based recognition (yes we work hard.. we're an extremely high output (high energy :) ) organization) Ambitious, engaging and rewarding agency culture (work hard, play hard) Places significant emphasis on people

    Cons

    Work life balance (not saying it's a negative necessarily but more so those who truly thrive in and embrace the culture likely have a different definition of work life balance :) ) Too many meetings (best intentions and I have confidence that we're continuing to work through best/most effective way to work/deliver while balancing optimal productivity and efficient communication)

    Bond Brand Loyalty2017-12-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Member Advocate in Mississauga, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, gym and meditation rooms, cafeteria and occasional snacks and treats.

    Cons

    FORCED Overtime that eats up your work/life balance. No opportunities to work from home.

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2019-10-21
  3. "Management does not care !!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, friendly CEO, nice office

    Cons

    NO WORK LIFE BALANCE No on-boarding

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2019-06-06

    Bond Brand Loyalty Response

    July 4, 2019

    Hi there - I think for anyone joining who expects a rigid 9-5 daily routine, it won't happen here -as you can read in other reviews Bond is a place where we work hard, but take the time (and often!) to play hard too. We're passionate about doing great work but definitely take many opportunities to celebrate each other and our amazing successes. Onboarding is currently experiencing an exciting evolution to ensure we always support our people to do their best work with the support they need - we will continue to grow and evolve this offering over time. Thanks for your feedback. VP, People & Values

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Britney Spears - Toxic - "Don't you know that you're toxic?""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1) Entrance is very nice 2) There is a gym 3) Nice Corporate Events 4) Booze at events 5) Ice Cream Truck from time to time 6) Some great and talented people (most of whom leave)

    Cons

    From my experience working here, behind the facade of the pro's to lure you in, I've found: 1) There's a bad atmosphere - it would seem narcissistic behaviour is present 2) It's a stressful environment - profits come before people with a very unstable work-life balance 3) There is a high staff turnover - entrance is nice but it should have a revolving door 4) People don't trust each other - lack of integrity 5) There's a lot of backstabbing - would appear bullying or mob-like environment is present along with blatant favoritism at times (popular people promoted vs true talent and qualified) 6) Staff aren't necessarily friendly or nice to each other - authoritarian management style 7) People gossip about their colleagues 8) There's a lot of moaning and groaning 9) Lot's of people don't like coming to work

    Bond Brand Loyalty2019-04-04

    Bond Brand Loyalty Response

    June 10, 2019

    Thank you for your post. Your experience doesn’t sound typical, but I’m certainly sorry to hear of yours. The agency environment isn’t for everyone – it’s challenging work and often at a very fast-pace. A work hard, play hard culture. We pride ourselves on the experiences we create for our employees - ones that bring people together to create bonds – whether it be spirit events like those you mentioned ice cream trucks and corporate events, reducing our carbon footprint through green initiatives, mind, body and soul experiences through wellness initiatives such as onsite massage therapy, an in house gym and wellness centre, partnering with a local fitness club to provide personal training, and caregiving events that bring us together to give back to the community – both locally and globally. We have experienced some exciting growth recently in several areas of the business and found ourselves working through some growth-related adjustments, which is all part of normal business. Awarded Best Managed Companies for a second year in a row, we are putting a lot of focus on growing our leaders and project management/operational excellence. Our learning partnership with a leading external organization allows employees to learn and grow online at no cost to them, any time. We have a company filled with talented, hard-working thought leaders with a fun environment that keeps people engaged and connected at Bond. - VP, People & Values at Bond

    Continue reading
  5. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time

    Pros

    Good culture within immediate team; lots of opportunity for professional development

    Cons

    Poor work life balance expectations

    Bond Brand Loyalty2018-11-09

    Bond Brand Loyalty Response

    December 11, 2018

    Hi there! We are so proud of the unique culture we have here at Bond and the special connections within our teams here. We believe in providing challenging and fulfilling work and supporting employees who wish to explore roles within other departments- the opportunities are endless under our roof, so thanks for noticing! In an agency environment, it’s not always 9-5 and encourage employees to have an open dialog with their leaders on work life blend expectations. Flexible vacation has really helped with this. Thanks for your review, Your People & Values team

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Highs and Lows are TOO high and TOO low"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic place to start your career and learn what working at an agency is like - work hard and play harder. Lots of opportunities to get involved in a wide-range of projects. Fantastic people - smart, caring, energetic, and collaborative.

    Cons

    The problem is the highs are complemented by lows that are not easy to bounce back from. - Extremely long days with no work life balance are NOT counteracted by parties or events - Bringing this/problems to the attention of your manager (regardless of your team) gets you a "we will look into this and try and help you manage your workload" - you never get followed up with unless you threaten to leave - Promotions: LOL. Raises: EVEN FUNNIER! You do not get taken seriously until you threaten to leave. Performance doesn't dictate whether or not you deserve a raise or promotion. Who you know dictates that. There used to be performance plans with goal setting in place, but they got rid of that a few years ago and begun the "manager's discretion policy" - disgruntled managers who cannot get raises/promotions themselves will not fight for employees. - Too many extremely smart people leave as soon as they get past the smoke and mirrors - an indication that the company does not treat them how they deserve to be treated

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2018-05-04
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Nice place. No raises.. ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of parties and free booze. Fun people. Work hard party hard culture.

    Cons

    Long hours. No work life balance. No raises in last few years. Can't keep up with cost of living. Work from home frowned upon.

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2018-05-07

    Bond Brand Loyalty Response

    May 23, 2018

    Hi there. Thanks for your comments on our culture and events, our volunteers work hard to put on events that allow us to Bond outside of the office. What makes our culture so great is the human to human interaction, hallway conversations and the buzz that creates in the building. We fully support flexible work arrangements, which include working remotely at times based on individuals needs. We’ll never be a place where we have a “work from home policy”, its just not our style. I would encourage you to come speak to a member of our People & Values team for support on how you can find more balance.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON

    I worked at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great fun great people gym on site great culture good location

    Cons

    no work life balance no encouragement to grow not all had open door policy some people were not welcoming hard to get answers sometimes

    Bond Brand Loyalty2018-04-25
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Don't fall for the sales pitch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the people are great

    Cons

    This is where things get a bit sketchy. They got rid of annual raises, if you want an increase you have to beg your manager for it. This doesn't sit well on the already extremely low salary. They claim they want to bring people in line with industry standards...I have yet to hear someone even coming close. They have moved to "flex vacation" which will mean no vacation as we are all too busy for our managers to approve vacation. From one end we hear they want us to have a work life balance, but the other end we hear that we have to put in longer than the "9-5" hours if we want to get ahead. My question to Bond would be, why should I want to get ahead at Bond? It feels as if Bond doesn't actually care about their employees and that we are all expendable.

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2018-05-08
  10. Helpful (6)

    "willing to sell your soul for a subpar salary?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some cool people prime location parties subsidized caf

    Cons

    long, excess work hours no work-life balance lots expected of you in a little amount of time - you WILL be stretched extremely thin people walk all over you NO overtime and you will likely be expected to work outside your regular "9-5" being on call but they don't provide a cell phone so you need to use your own travel back and forth between events, and customers - expect to use your own car stressful, sleepless nights when working on big projects

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2018-05-01

    Bond Brand Loyalty Response

    May 4, 2018

    Hi there. We’re very sorry that your experience at Bond hasn’t lived up to what was promised. Given that we are a client-based business, sometimes we do need to work outside of our regular hours so that we can continue to deliver great work on time. We recently implemented flexible vacation which allows people to take what time they need to rest, rejuvenate and come back to work productive. We recommend speaking with your manager on how you can find the right balance for you. We thank you for taking the time to write a review.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews