Bol.com Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bol.com CEO Huub Vermeulen
Huub Vermeulen
30 Ratings
  1. "Awesome Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bol.com full-time

    Pros

    Awesome environment, colleagues are friendly and sound professionals.

    Cons

    The company is big and it takes some weeks before being able to contribute as a manager.

    Bol.com2020-02-15
  2. "Vibrant company with very motivated employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Utrecht
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bol.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working on interesting projects at the market leader

    Cons

    Relatively low pay, location not close to central station

    Bol.com2020-02-09
  3. "Nice place where you can grow and choose how you can impact"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medior Software Engineer 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bol.com full-time

    Pros

    Stimulating environment and flat organization

    Cons

    Internationals are not perfectly integrated yet and many events are still in Dutch but I can see it is improvise

    Bol.com2020-02-09
  4. "Great work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partner Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bol.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, plenty of opportunities

    Cons

    You have to create your own path.

    Bol.com2019-09-24
  5. "Great company culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Utrecht
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bol.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + Good management initiatives + Great company culture + Teams are given a lot of autonomy + Fast moving environment + Very many opportunities for self-development

    Cons

    - Salary could be more in line with market rate - Progression path in the company is not clear

    Continue reading
    Bol.com2019-09-10
  6. Helpful (28)

    "Low salaries and quickly deteriorating environment (Definite no-go for expats)"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Utrecht
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bol.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Used to be technically interesting company before it started to become chaotic (not-well managed growth) so still there are some traces of technically challenging work in some groups

    Cons

    - From software engineering practices not as solid as advertised - Low salaries and management is in denial of it. Comes up with their analysis which is, of course, does not reflect the realities of the market - Friction (though became less by time) about the use of English in communication. - Highly political environment (lots of gossip, exclusion in decision making). Basically talkers' heaven and hackers' hell... - Indifference to the violation of work ethics (such as accusing people but not able to back it up) if it is done by Dutch colleagues. On the contrary putting a magnifying glass for minor reactions, the resistance of expats. - In conflict situations, using "accept feedback" as a tool of harassment. E.g. if you think you are right and making it clear, what you hear will be "please reflect this situation on yourself and accept the feedback" translates as we do not hear you, please shut up and do what we say. - Witnessed several situations where expats (particularly non-EU) harassed with "we will not extends your contract unless you do this and that" where mostly this and that are non-actionable vague comments - There are groups in company which excludes everyone else from the decisions and go re-invent the wheel (writing message broker, poor wrappers around cloud tools etc etc) then force you to use them - Finally poor location

    Continue reading
    Bol.com2019-04-01

    Bol.com Response

    April 11, 2019Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to review your time at bol.com. All our people are important to us and that is why we are constantly improving things at bol.com. Though we don’t recognize everything in your review, we appreciate your feedback and it triggers us to learn and make things better at bol.com. Again, thank you for your review and good luck in your career.

  7. "Nice company and culture. Overal, highly recommended"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Bol.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice culture Freedom Ability to learn and grow

    Cons

    Not very international Compensation could be better

    Bol.com2019-02-18
  8. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bol.com part-time

    Pros

    Several cafeteria options, good food, It has an open office. An enterprise with startup culture. Nice colleagues.

    Cons

    It is a big company. You need to pick your colleagues and manager. You need to attend lots of meetings.

    Bol.com2018-11-10
  9. "Great company, mid-low salary"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Utrecht
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bol.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great company for a software engineer. Sky is the limit of you want to do something useful. Very Flat hierarchy for a big company. Teams have autonomy. Company follows latest improvements in tech industry, therefore very nice tech stack. Management is open for feedback and ideas. People are kind and most of them are knowledgeable. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Salaries are a little bit lower than similar size companies.

    Continue reading
    Bol.com2018-10-21
  10. "The Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Security Engineer in Karāchi Lines
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Bol.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cooperative people to work with. Professional environment to gain experience

    Cons

    Employees dont get their wages on time. Official policies keep changing for no reason

    Continue reading
    Bol.com2018-09-20
Found 27 reviews