BofI Federal Bank "fast paced" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BofI Federal Bank Employee Reviews about "fast paced"

Updated May 17, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
41%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
BofI Federal Bank President and CEO Gregory Garrabrants
Gregory Garrabrants
97 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast-paced, great place to build technical skills and come across different problems(in 12 reviews)

  • "The coffee machine and free pretzels(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "No training program whatsoever, and no HR department(in 9 reviews)

  • "Also, those 5 star positive reviews by upper management are there to mislead you(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fast paced"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BofI Federal Bank full-time

    Pros

    Fast-paced, great place to build technical skills and come across different problems

    Cons

    Little to no company culture, very individualistic

    BofI Federal Bank2018-05-18

    BofI Federal Bank Response

    June 16, 2018VP, Office of the CEO

    Thank you for your comments. While we do strive to be a place where talented people can succeed in ways (and at a pace) unlikely at other companies, teamwork is no less important. You may know that we recently made some big organizational changes intended to improve internal communication and collaboration to improve the customer experience, and we hope you will see that our new organizational structure tears down silos and promotes teamwork in a whole new way. We also have regular events: get-togethers/happy hours, the annual holiday party, as well as frequent opportunities to get involved in athletic or volunteer events. If you are interested in helping organize activities, please say so to your manager and/or reach out to HR or the Office of the CEO. Thanks!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BofI Federal Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The IT department is growing at an exponential rate. The progress that they are making as a whole is beyond words. The management team is really great and flexible. The work environment is fast paced and there is always something new being developed. The goals and advancements of the IT/ development teams surpass any financial institution out there. Great things are happening.

    Cons

    None that I can currently think of. Maybe the bonus structure.

    Continue reading
    BofI Federal Bank2017-09-16

    BofI Federal Bank Response

    October 4, 2017VP, Office of the CEO

    Thank you for your review and your prior service at BofI. You’re right on the money that the IT team has grown rapidly over the past few years and, today, is working on some pretty incredible stuff. Indeed, most members of the IT team are working on—or leading—a diverse range of projects, which are both interesting to them and will drive our future success. Your comments have also been shared with our IT and HR leadership. Thank you again.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Great for those who want a challenge and will work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BofI Federal Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for hard-workers and problem-solvers, very smart CEO, growing company, innovative and fast-paced compared to other bank competitors, great location. You will learn SO MUCH in a short amount of time due to being exposed to various areas out of need. Smart people, and tons of work that needs to get done.

    Cons

    Competitive and demanding. Pace of change is quick and can be stressful if that is not the environment one does well in. As the bank has grown, some unnecessary bureaucracy is popping up that needs to be streamlined.

    BofI Federal Bank2017-08-17

    BofI Federal Bank Response

    August 17, 2017VP, Office of the CEO

    Thank you for your review and the thoughtful points you have raised. And as you note, maintaining the right balance of process and procedures is a daily challenge because we not only operate within the myriad regulations that govern banks, but in fact try to operate in an even more conservative manner reflecting where we believe regulations will be in the future. Unfortunately some process is also required to ensure we preserve our competitive edge of having lower costs (and therefore offering a better value to the customer) than our competitors but finding and maintaining the right balance is something we are very conscious of, as you suggest. Thank you again for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  4. "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BofI Federal Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced meritocracy, semi-annual bonuses, performance representative career path, promotions from within

    Cons

    The same things that are pros for some are cons to non self-starters and those looking for cushy or monotonous roles

    BofI Federal Bank2017-08-25

    BofI Federal Bank Response

    August 31, 2017VP, Office of the CEO

    Thank you for the thoughtful review!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BofI Federal Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, challenging culture, innovative ideas are welcome, great bonus, flexible work hours depending on your boss, 3 week vacation your first year.

    Cons

    A few high level employees that make everyone miserable, extreme micromanaging by "hr", no casual Friday's, overtime is not really an option, it's a must.

    Continue reading
    BofI Federal Bank2017-01-02
  6. Helpful (20)

    "Future Employes beware!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in La Jolla, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BofI Federal Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    Not your typical bank...Everything is online so this more a bank for future generations. - Fast paced environment, opportunity for growth (supposely) - Nice campus - Good snacks on Wednesdays

    Cons

    Where should I begin!! Having a AVP, SVP, VP, EVP title doesn't mean jack crap if you work here... If you're not the CEO or Chief of Staff you have zero and I mean zero power. I was hired with a letter stating that the I would receive and I quote "Your first incentive compensation award shall be payable on the date the Bank pays bonuses for the period ended June 2016, and will be based upon your performance." The week ending of July 23rd we come to find out that this is not true because I was hired after March 1st. This is not right!!!

    Continue reading
    BofI Federal Bank2016-07-23
  7. Helpful (12)

    "good for workaholics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BofI Federal Bank full-time

    Pros

    - Fast paced environment, opportunity for growth - Decent bonus (assuming you're still around to collect it) - Nice campus - Good snacks on Wednesdays

    Cons

    - Growing too fast for its own good - Focus on the bottom line, against all common sense - Terrible tone at the top - Toxic environment. People feel that they can be rude to others just because they are "higher" - Negative press - Paranoia among management - Promotions in lieu of raises, leads to a lot of underqualified persons in way above their heads

    Continue reading
    BofI Federal Bank2016-05-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BofI Federal Bank full-time

    Pros

    Terrific for people who have an entrepreneurial spirit - excellent environment to introduce new ideas and make a contribution. Fast-paced, never a dull moment! Everyone in the company is moving in the same direction so there is no "stepping on toes" - just a culture of getting things done. Great CEO.

    Cons

    limited options to work from home

    BofI Federal Bank2016-05-10
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Hard Work; Very Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BofI Federal Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The bank is growing very quickly; so by nature, the environment is fast-paced. Your ideas will be heard by senior management if they are cost-efficient and ultimately increase production. Very seldom will you be bored – or at least it won’t be due to a lack of work. You work very closely with senior management and will likely have several interactions with the CEO if you are located at HQ. Overall I would consider BofI to be a very encouraging, supportive and challenging employer that rewards you for your hard work. I have recommended BofI to many of my friends who are interested in transitioning away from a brick-and-mortar institution.

    Cons

    You may find that in various departments people have a “that’s not my job” attitude; this may hinder your workflow, but you can build relationships with colleagues in other departments to avoid this. In some ways, BofI still operates with a “small-bank” mentality (tons of manual processes, excel-based monitoring and limited infrastructure/resources). The technology that you are provided with to perform your duties is subpar – for an internet-based bank, I would expect technological infrastructure to be much more efficient and reliable.

    Continue reading
    BofI Federal Bank2016-03-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BofI Federal Bank

    Pros

    I have been working at BOFI for one year and love it. I even referred a friend to work here who always loves the company. BOFI is not your typical bank-it doesn't just do things because "that is how it's always been done." Management consistently encourages employees to question the status quo if it means implementing better processes. Unlike other banks I have worked for, I feel heard at BOFI. There are always way to advance and opportunities to grasp. I feel challenged-like I am becoming a better banker/employee/supervisor. I would recommend this employer to anyone who is serious about working in a challenging, fast-paced, stimulating environment.

    Cons

    I had to complete several interviews and tests including a written essay before being offered a position. I will say, however that everyone was very accommodating with scheduling interviews and tests especially since I was out of state at the time.

    BofI Federal Bank2015-10-21
Found 12 reviews