BlueCat Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
BlueCat CEO Michael Harris
Michael Harris
98 Ratings
  1. "Software Engineer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Nice new office - Great culture - Company give you opportunity for personal growth - Friendly people

    Cons

    - Depends on the team, sometimes I cannot really have a choice/ preference of my work, it means working style or project suggestions. some POs and Scrum Masters are pretty hard to negotiate.

    BlueCat Response

    November 22, 2017Talent Acquisition

    Pleased to hear that you feel you can grow here. Feel free to stop by and chat with the people team if you want some suggestions on how your skills can be better utilized. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Recruitment Operations Coordinator"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time

    Pros

    Awesome culture, wonderful people and lots of growth.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of at the moment.

  3. Helpful (10)

    "Just another software company - with a bad reputation"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture is important to leadership

    Cons

    People are easily disposable.

    Continue reading

    BlueCat Response

    September 2, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Sorry to see such negative feelings. Our employees are the reason we continue to to accomplish as much as we have as a team. They are who got us awarded Best Places to Work and the reason we have so many employee appreciation initiatives. Feel free to reach out to our People Team directly so we can further clarify your feedback.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Business Development Intern"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development Intern in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat for more than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone values curiosity, learning is a very important part of working for a software company. BlueCat has an environment were questions are seen as a sign of initiative to want to learn, rather than a lack of knowledge - People are very kind and considerate and are willing to help where they can - Great place to connect with technology that is changing every single day; you will never stop learning - Accommodations such as: coffee-tea-and-pop, discounted gym memberships, team dinners to celebrate accomplishments, subsided meals ($4 main, side, and salad)

    Cons

    - If you aren't willing to be curious, it will definitely be difficult. The technology has a steep learning curve, however, if you get through that hurdle everything will be fine

    Continue reading
  5. "Amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture - love the work hard/play hard mentality Growing fast = career growth opportunities Care for employees - they have a great People (HR) Team Senior Management is exceptionally talented, approachable, and always open to new ideas/ways of doing things Positioned well in a vital market Very interesting, cutting-edge work being done Coworkers - working with so many smart, talented people Location - on subway line at York Mills Station

    Cons

    Subsidized meals are a great offering but the food could be better

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (18)

    "Big egos, revolving door"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time

    Pros

    Like to spend money on employees - t-shirts for every event, lots of social events, use a cool tool for "shout-outs" to give kudos to team.

    Cons

    Very negative work culture, particularly among the engineering team. Can't keep good employees - turnover rate is sky-high. I think Marketing hasn't been able to keep anyone for more than 2 years. For a small company, silos are huge. Senior management is out of touch with employees.

    Continue reading

    BlueCat Response

    June 14, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. The Leadership Team at BlueCat in partnership with our People Team works very hard to ensure that we are accessible to our employee base across all levels, all functions, and all continents. We take our values of Clarity, Collaboration and Transparency very seriously which is why we host an “Ask the Leaders” session open to all employees who have questions about the organization. We also host Fireside Chats and a CEO lunch with small groups of employees so that there are multiple ways to ensure we are listening and acting on employee feedback. The goal is to ensure that we are aligned, the employees feel connected to the executive team and that we can remove any barriers to success. We are aware that as a company grows communication across the entire organization needs to evolve. As such we are taking every effort to ensure that our employees collaborate over work initiatives, celebrate their success with each other, and interact with all levels of the business. You mentioned our Shout Out tool as a way that we continually encourage sharing across all teams. We also have invested in various communications tools (Slack, Quarterly Leadership Check-Ins, our Intranet), company celebrations and training initiatives to encourage our employees to be accountable for their part in growing the business and making BlueCat a better place to work every day. While attrition is something that any growing company should be concerned with, our team is working hard to attract and keep top talent because we know it’s our employees that make BlueCat so successful! Since you are a current employee, please know that the Leadership Team and the People Team would happily work with you to address any concerns you have and would welcome your feedback.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time

    Pros

    Engaged management. Relaxed but professional environment. Growth opportunities. Nice perks - breakfast and lunches. Good location. Interesting products.

    Cons

    Nothing in particular. Salaries may be on the lower end.

    BlueCat Response

    May 12, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review! We value how approachable and passionate our executive team is and how disruptive are product is in the marketplace too. Regarding salaries, we are fairly objective in that we consult market rate data and offer competitive benefits such as RRSP matching. Hope you have found great success in your new role!

  8. "Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat

    Pros

    Nice and friendly atmosphere makes Bluecat an amazing place to work and socialize at the same time. Very well thought benefits and random but regular employee appreciation events add to a great mix. Fair wages and a trusting, listening management makes this company one of the best places to work at. The renaming of the "HR" department to "People" is not just a formality, but reflects the true company attitude towards seeing the employees as people and not just as easy to replace resources

    Cons

    Communication across department borders is not always easy - but it is not worse than in most other places. As an advice to anyone who is considering coming to Bluecat, this is not a place to idle around, you have to do your share of the work - but that's a reasonable ask of any professional.

    Continue reading

    BlueCat Response

    May 4, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you so much for the positive feedback on our initiatives and outlook. Our amazing people are what set us apart! It's employees like yourself who continue to give us feedback that drove us to roll out our new internal communications platform and do whatever we can to keep our best asset (people!) engaged, informed and happy.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Writer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1) subsidized meals: breakfast ($2) Lunch: ($4) 2) Corporate gym membership to GoodLife Fitness ($18.75 bi-weekly) this gives you access to all GoodLife facilities 3) Free drinks: pop / tea / water / coffee / expresso etc. 4) Company events and social hours 5) Amazing Staff 6) From York Mills Station you can take the escalator that will bring you directly into the building. As you can see, I can go on and on and on.

    Cons

    I haven't come across any cons at the moment.

    BlueCat Response

    February 22, 2017Sr. Manager Global Recruitment & People

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. The list of perks and benefits for employees at BlueCat keeps growing and growing!

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Enterprise Support Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Support Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work: . Lots of benefits . Lovely environment . Many parties and events . Comfortable manager

    Cons

    . Risk of sudden growth

    BlueCat Response

    February 22, 2017Sr. Manager Global Recruitment & People

    It's great to read that you're enjoying your role on our Customer Care team. We love your team and so do our customers!

Found 146 reviews