BlueCat Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BlueCat Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 135 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
BlueCat CEO Michael Harris
Michael Harris
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Extremely convenient location, especially if one is living on a subway line(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good location (right above York Mills subway station)(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company with ability to pivot and take action quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Things are always changing which makes work interesting and challenging. The company is very innovative; with the tools and ways they support us as well as the office itself. Its comfortable and very modern; standing desks and tons of collaboration spaces. The company is always evolving and the leadership is always looking for ways to engage employees and action feedback. All coworkers like having fun together;... charity events, office socials, soccer clubs, company days at Canada's wonder land, Pride events - the people here are fun

    Show More

    Cons

    If your uncomfortable with change this might not be the company for you. Our customers drive innovation in our product and there is a high expectation on people to elevate how we support our clients and the business. I thrive in this environment but some people are challenged by it.

    Advice to Management

    keep engaging your teams and communicating our goals and initiatives - we really like to hear where we are going and how we can help support the strategy.

    BlueCat2019-06-26
  2. "Forward looking place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time

    Pros

    Smart people to work with, friendly culture Growing business Great perks and benefits, investment in employees Great internal tools and technology Beautiful office!

    Cons

    Not very clear career path for some roles More company-wide flexibility in work arrangement would be beneficial to suit different styles and personalities

    BlueCat2019-08-01
  3. "Part Time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BlueCat part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Ability to work on a number of different projects- relatively flat structure allows you to collaborate with many other employees ! - Wonderful culture and social support :)

    Cons

    - Sometimes difficult to get to know the product and the business ecosystem of the company

    BlueCat2019-07-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time

    Pros

    1) Great people; 2) Social events.

    Cons

    1) A middle sized company with the attitude of an enterprise: So many red tapes that every single decision requires several meetings with different teams and employees; 2) Ancient software development processes and mindset; 3) Extremely convoluted software solutions to the point the engineers avoid making significant changes afraid of breaking the software; 4) No career opportunities; 5) No long term... planning, the path forward constantly changes based on feature requests from clients; 6) The company leadership has goals, but doesn't commit to any plan to make them happen. Their presentations are completely hypocritical; 7) The company values are meaningless words written on their office and website; 8) The company is a revolving door due to all the stated above.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dismiss every one from manager position and up, including the CEO, and start over.

    BlueCat2019-06-30
  5. Helpful (25)

    "Good culture, poor engineering, byzantine software processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    BlueCat has two main products -- I'm writing from the perspective of an engineer on the newer, security-centric product. - Good for interns or new grad engineers because there's lots of opportunities for any engineer to play with new technologies. Company seems to be able to afford a lot of cloud services, so you can get exposure to those. - Good for veteran engineers who don't really care about improving their... skills and just want a cushy job to collect a pay cheque because it's so easy to fly under the radar producing no useful work. - Culture is positive and I got the feel that most people were trying their honest best to engineer well and treat each other with respect. - Decent perks like discounted food, free beer on tap, cool office, fancy corporate events. - Sales team seems to be excellent as they keep closing on deals despite the not-so-great software.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Their newer product (security focused; meant to become the future of the company) is pretty poor from the features perspective. I've gone to multiple info sec conferences and never once heard this company mentioned. - It's also poor from the engineering perspective. It is a ridiculous over-engineered mess of nano-services. The complexity is staggering considering how little the product actually does. Most... of the complex problems that engineers have to solve is not because the actual computer science / security problem is hard to solve, it's because poor planning/architecting makes everything complicated. - Features/roadmap is heavily influenced by marketing/sales, rather than being engineering/infosec-driven. We actually spent time implementing a feature that was essentially useless just so that we could add a bullet point to our product spec claiming that we use certain technologies. - Poor choice for engineers who want to improve their skills and step up to mid- or senior-level engineers. Work is constantly moving around, preventing you from actually seeing through a complex problem from start to finish. The dev process requires verbose discussion of every little decision, which kills your sense of autonomy as an engineer because anything you want to do has to appeal to the lowest common denominator - Although the culture is positive, it is so much so that people (in all divisions) seem more occupied with patting themselves on the back about anything they can spin as a 'win,' rather than actually reflecting on the product critically and making meaningful improvements.

    Show More
    BlueCat2018-11-19
  6. "Always Moving Forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time

    Pros

    BlueCat has a solid base of over 1,000 customers, which is consistently growing. We have a relevant product to our market and differentiate ourselves with our outstanding customer support and the addition of our Edge product. I had an amazing recruitment experience with Bluecat. I had the opportunity to meet my future team members, get a tour of the office and ask questions throughout the process. Onboarding... sessions held on day 1 allowed me to meet members of various teams from across the business and get all my technology set up right away! All of our team support each other, and everyone is willing to lend a hand.

    Show More

    Cons

    BlueCat is moving forward, and there have been many changes recently and this can feel confusing.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure communications with employees is clear and consistent

    BlueCat2018-11-01

    BlueCat Response

    November 2, 2018Head of Global Recruiting

    We are so happy to have you as part of our growing team! Thank you for sharing your experience.

  7. "Transparent and Driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time

    Pros

    BlueCat is focused on providing great value and service to their 1000+ customers. It's clear that the company is relevant and continues to bring on large enterprise customers. Employees are asked for their feedback frequently and have opportunity to influence and drive the culture forward. People are willing to help out and provide support to eachother.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change over the last 6 months and employees feel a bit confused about where to focus.

    Advice to Management

    Give us clear direction and we will definitely jump in where needed. Keep being transparent about where the company is going. We are excited to help!

    BlueCat2018-10-29

    BlueCat Response

    November 1, 2018Head of Global Recruiting

    Thank you for your dedication and positive outlook! We are so lucky to have this kind of team camaraderie! I hope you realize the value of your impact.

  8. Helpful (12)

    "Outward focus on culture hides internal problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time

    Pros

    Great new office space, subsidized lunches, good pay and benefits. The people there are great (until they fired) ithink this can be a good workplace, but know what you're getting into!!

    Cons

    -They boast a lot about cultre everywhere, but its pretty clear that it hides a lot of issues. They talk a lot about their co-op/internship programs, and often extend internships, mostly for cost-effective reasons... cheap labour and naive students. everyone wins. -they love talking about transparency and honesty and i dunno about other department) but as soon as you do not agree with a VP or someone in a senior or... management role, you are marked. they do not want talented individuals, they want people who will say yes and agree with them. -exit interviews and are purely symbolic and they dont actually care about anything you say. they just try make employees stay with perks and swag.... -they hire individuals for a certain role, expect them to do jobs (and i dont mean challenging, beneficial tasks) they were never hired for and have no experience in, and then they fire them. lookin forward to HR responding to this, talking about how many awards they've "won" for best places to work for millennials and women...........

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    practice what you preach. your values are on the office walls but they dont mean anything

    BlueCat2018-10-24

    BlueCat Response

    October 26, 2018Head of Global Recruiting

    Thank you very much for the feedback. I can’t say this is an experience we want any of our employees feeling or leaving because of. I hope you had an opportunity to share your thoughts with your manager prior to your departure, as BlueCat is a culture truly built on employee feedback. ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Share the values that respect people Good location Care employees

    Cons

    Little too over-processed that lower the productivity.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more and make adjustment.

    BlueCat2018-08-31

    BlueCat Response

    October 26, 2018Head of Global Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback! We are lucky to have you as part of this organization. Here's to another 3 years (or more!) on our team!

  10. Helpful (3)

    "You will feel that you are home when you are working at Bluecat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Support Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Training ($1000 allowance to spend yourself to buy training) Approachable managers Friendly environment Lost of support Subsidized meals Oncall and overtime payments 8 days paid personal leave per year + 15 days vacation Best doctors insurance 90% coverage on anything OHIP doesn't pay Annual bonus

    Cons

    Smaller wages schema than other vendors

    BlueCat2018-08-24

    BlueCat Response

    October 26, 2018Head of Global Recruiting

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on working at BlueCat!

Found 135 reviews