Blue Mountain Resort Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Blue Mountain Resort Reviews

Updated Mar 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
47%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Blue Mountain Resort President and COO Dan Skelton
Dan Skelton
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "As well many couples and even entire families work at the resort(in 9 reviews)

  • "Depending on the position the resort life may not be for everyone but overall its a great place to work and create lasting bonds(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "As a result of my experiences I can only believe that Blue Mountain Resort is a hostile work environment(in 7 reviews)

  • "It can be hard for some employees to find a Full-Time position with the company due to the nature of the business and makes it hard for a career(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I'm a very good skier so I like to he'll people ski and have a good time at Blue Mountain."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Skincare Consultant in Calling Lake, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Mountain Resort

    Pros

    It is fun to help people ski

    Cons

    Some people can be very difficult to teach

    Continue reading
    Blue Mountain Resort2020-02-17
  2. "Carpets/ Floors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Blue Mountains, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Mountain Resort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meeting new people and customers

    Cons

    No advancements there that you can grow with the company

    Blue Mountain Resort2020-03-03

    Blue Mountain Resort Response

    March 10, 2020Human Resources

    Hello There, Thank you for your honest feedback, we have an array of different learning and development (internal) programs like our “Stepping Up To Supervisor” course, that tailors to new leaders and those employees that show potential. Blue Mountain also will help pay for external courses that our core employees can take that will help them further their career and help them grow. Our Human Resources department will always be an open door for feedback and new learning opportunities. Thank you again for your honesty, Human Resources

    Continue reading
  3. "Not fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Guest Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Mountain Resort full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As an employee, enjoyed discounts at village stores and discounts on attractions.

    Cons

    Terrible system. Changes need to be made for the resort to be more efficient. Some of the processes are very out dated and could be made so much simpler.

    Blue Mountain Resort2019-12-03

    Blue Mountain Resort Response

    December 17, 2019Human Resources

    Good Afternoon, We would be happy to chat with you more, specifically on these concerns. If you would like to email us please send a message to apply@bluemountain.ca. Thank you,Human Resources

    Continue reading
  4. "Good perks with the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Oublic Spaces Associate 

    I worked at Blue Mountain Resort full-time

    Pros

    good perks with the job

    Cons

    often became a boring work environment

    Blue Mountain Resort2019-09-24
  5. "Little opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lift Operator in Collingwood, ON
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Mountain Resort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good perks easy work, free ski pass, relatively easy going workplace, odd bit of childish drama just steer clear and not a bad job if you want to hit the hill and make some dough

    Cons

    Couldn't move up, short staffed, weather conditions can get to you, occasionally you have to be the bad person and tell someone they cant go on the hill which is typically awkward or they try to bribe you and sometimes the bribe is just disrespectful

    Continue reading
    Blue Mountain Resort2019-08-21

    Blue Mountain Resort Response

    September 24, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your recent feedback on your employee experience here at Blue. We are glad to know that you took advantage of the free skiing privileges and enjoyed them while working here. We always encourage our employees to speak to their leader for any reason they feel necessary if something is not going right or if the employee has questions etc. Or if the employee doesn’t not feel comfortable going to their leader they can always come to Human Resources to speak with an advisor. We strive to make sure our employees are getting the best experience possible in any capacity. Thank you again, Human Resources

    Continue reading
  6. "Management needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Room Attendant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Mountain Resort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Perks , and staff passes , disappointed that we have to pay the taxes on staff passes tho

    Cons

    Over worked , under payed , little respect and little encouragement. Little gratitude for doing a great job .

    Continue reading
    Blue Mountain Resort2019-06-19

    Blue Mountain Resort Response

    July 18, 2019Human Resources

    Hello There, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We want to start by saying thank you for your continued employment and commitment to Blue Mountain. We strive to ensure all of our staff members are treated with respect and feel that their efforts are valued – this organization would not succeed without the positive efforts from our staff, both seasonal and core. Working in a core capacity provides employees with a wide variety of perks and benefits not always applicable to seasonal staff members, and are constantly looking for new ways to ensure all departments are able to participate in staff events resort wide. We try to promote a healthy work life balance and encourage staff members to participate in employee events throughout the year to thank them for their efforts. We value our employees opinions and would love to know what would help make your experience more enjoyable. The Employee Opinion Survey is a great way to provide constructive feedback on your experiences as an employee. We are constantly looking for new ways to open up the lines of communication with all of our employees and please remember that we have an open door policy here at HR – please feel free to come by for a chat or reach out to us with any ideas on room for improvement. Thank you, Blue Mountain Resort

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Worker in Blue Mountains, ON
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Mountain Resort full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay in most departments and good benefits with pension etc if you are a core employee

    Cons

    Can be a challenge working with the constantly changing clientele from all time over the world.

    Continue reading
    Blue Mountain Resort2019-05-24
  8. "Awesome expierence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in Blue Mountains, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Mountain Resort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meeting new people Discounts Free lift pasa

    Cons

    Working every holiday, family day is brutal

    Continue reading
    Blue Mountain Resort2019-04-10

    Blue Mountain Resort Response

    April 26, 2019Human Resources

    Hello There, As a resort destination, our busiest times are holidays so it is all hands on deck. You can always speak to your manager about changing your schedule if the busy times are too hectic for you. We always take our employees needs into consideration when schedules are made. Thank you again for your point of view - we really appreciate it. Blue Mountain Resort

    Continue reading
  9. "Fun Fun Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Room Attendant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Mountain Resort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff benefits with ski hire and ski pass

    Cons

    Sometimes challenging and long hours but worth the benefits

    Blue Mountain Resort2019-01-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Room Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Room Attendant in Blue Mountains, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Mountain Resort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training provided and excellent environment

    Cons

    Not good if you're not okay physical activity - thankfully I was! :D

    Continue reading
    Blue Mountain Resort2018-12-13

    Blue Mountain Resort Response

    December 18, 2018Human Resources

    We are so glad to hear you found our training helpful and enjoyed the physical aspect of the Room Attendant position! You are absolutely right, it is a lot of go go and on your feet and we do try our best to inform all staff about this prior to starting up. We appreciate your feedback regarding team building activities and will take that into consideration. We hope you were able to enjoy some of the many activities we host throughout the year for our staff to help build team spirit and morale while you were with us here at Blue!

    Continue reading
Found 52 reviews